We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wasn't bad, but wasn't great either” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Auburn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Auburn to your Saves list
Residence Inn Auburn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   670 Turner Street, Auburn, ME 04210   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Auburn
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Wasn't bad, but wasn't great either”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I was on a trip to Halifax and stopped here on my first night after flying into Manchester, NH. The actually hotel is OK. It appears to be a newer type RI and everything seemed to work ok in the room. The bed seemed a little cheap but I slept OK. The television had some really poor reception and no high definition channels so that was something I was very aware of and disappointed in. When I checked out in the AM, the breakfast was not that good. I have stayed at some really great RIs around the country and the breakfast at this one was below average. The eggs were horrible but they did have boiled eggs so at least there was something they couldn't screw up. There was also no meat. I don't think I would stay here again if I happen to be in there area. I would probably push up north a bit to Augusta Maine and stay at Fairfield Inn or Hampton Inn.

Room Tip: Yea, stay at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    43
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
64
32
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Waterville, Maine
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This hotel is the best in the Auburn Maine area. There are many chain restaurants within walking distance, including Buffalo Wild Wings, Ruby Tuesday TGIFridays, and Longhorns. Also close by are Starbucks and Wal-Mart. This is within a half hour drive from the newly opened Oxford Casino, Maine's 2nd casino. The Hotel is calm and quiet. All rooms are suites and they all have kitchenettes. There are nightly manager's activities planned during the week, such as BBQ or nacho night. I am impressed with the quietness of the rooms. I am always surprised when we go to breakfast to see the number of people that stayed overnight as we usually don't hear much noise in our suite. The pool is clean and the hot tub is very relaxing.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We returned to this Hotel after our excellent stay in 2010. We enjoyed hospitality for 6 nights. Very friendly welcome by desk staff . We got a very spacious feather free and clean 2 bedroom suite on the 4th floor at the back of the Hotel well protected from street noise. The kids enjoyed the indoor pool a lot, although the floor was a little ruff that caused some toes and noses to be bruises a little. Warm breakfast buffet was greatly enjoyed. Conveniently located and only 3 miles from Bates College where i attend a conference. A 10 min drive up turner street was a small beach ideal for afternoon picnic. A 30 min drive north to pleasant pond and the great outdoors gave us a beautiful afternoon of kayaking, volley ball and swimming. Walking trails can be found at the thorn bird sanctuary and the poland spring park. 30 min drive to the south is main wild life zoo in gray with many american animals (mountain lion, bear, moose etc)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houlton, Maine
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We just love staying at this hotel. It is perfect for staying there with our 2 and 5 yr old sons. We always request 1st floor, by pool and most importantly a corner room. We have found these to be bigger and the set up of them is a lot better for us. As a bonus, we only have 1 room next door to worry about when the kids get loud. Our room had a stainless steal fridge, microwave, dishwasher, stove and oven. Plus love the granite counter tops. Plenty of room for the kids to sleep in the living room while we are in the bedroom. Makes it easier for us to get away from the kids for a little break instead of being cramped in one small room. Always get a great night sleep and wake up refreshed. Rooms are always spotless. Pool was nice and refreshing. I like how it has a bigger shallow area so our 5 yr old can touch for a longer time. Was cool, but was refreshing and felt nice. Hot tub was hot.....the perfect temp. Breakfast was very good. We got there just before they were going to shut down, but was able to get everything we wanted. And nothing got cleaned up or taken away until we were done which was very nice. While there we saw Chris who used to work at the front desk but was dressed more like a manager now. He said hi to us and welcomed us back. Was nice to be remembered. We've stayed here numerous times and will def be back.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Appears to be a relatively new property. Hotel is next to a roundabout on a somewhat busy street. Take care of room selection if you are a light sleeper. Even though our room was a nice suite, it had no closet or anywhere else where clothes were intended to be hung. It has been a long time since I was in that situation and when it has occurred, it has been in much more of dive than a Marriott property.

Room Tip: See comments re noise and asking about a room with a closet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanhope, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Comfortable clean room. Lots of Room. Good Breakfast. Certainly no Complaints. I like that is is very close to a Super Walmart so you can get everything you need. We tried to get a place in Portland which would have cost an arm and a leg. This was much cheaper and a quick drive into Portland the next morning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

For a Residence Inn, this hotel is surprisingly good. This is the third time I've stayed here and it still looks as clean and as new as when it first openend. It is no Ritz Carlton - but it provides a very nice clean room, and a good free breakfast. The people at the front desk are cheerful and helpful. It is about 1/2 an hour from Freeport Maine, and 5 minutes from Bates College. Consistently good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Auburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Auburn

Address: 670 Turner Street, Auburn, ME 04210
Location: United States > Maine > Auburn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Auburn 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Auburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Auburn Hotel Auburn
Residence Inn Auburn Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Auburn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.