We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best food in the area, and a great atmosphere!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Red Hen Diner

Little Red Hen Diner
14 S Main St., Andover, ME
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Andover
Cuisines: Diner
Restaurant details
Astoria, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best food in the area, and a great atmosphere!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is a great spot to stop at if you're ever driving through Andover. If not passing through, it is worth it to drive here just for a bite to eat. Everything has been very good on all occasions visiting this restaurant. The sandwiches are made with homemade bread that is exceptionally good.

Highly recommended: Homemade english muffins and Homemade raspberry pie

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    2
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashua,N.H.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A Hidden Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stopped here on our way back from Rangeley for a quick treat---and got more !!! An absolutely charming place with hometown friendly people and delicious food. We were able to chat with a locals as well as watch the lovely young owner make handmade english muffins,watch 3 homemade ,berry pies brought out . A very hard decision to make when one looked at the menu for "goodies". No molasses cookies that day because the supplier had brought syrup instead of molasses !! Looking at their reasonable menu I think I could eat there daily for a long time without getting tired of the homemade food. I guess we will have to go back !!! It was great experience and you can't beat the homemade food and friendly staff--and the charm of the local customers. They are closed on Mondays.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Staying at camp on Ellis Pond and heard about good food at LRH. We were a party of three and we all cleaned our plates. We will definitely be going back for more.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great food at the end of the road.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Andover is not on the way to anywhere so it is really fun to find such a pleasant place to eat. There is a new owner since my previous review of about two years ago. She's a friendly woman who is an excellent cook and baker. I had the cheese and spinach omelette special and asked that it not be overdone and it wasn't. The homemade whole-wheat toast that came with it was the perfect finishing touch. They restaurant has a bunch of tables and some counter seating. It is closed on Monday and serves breakfast and lunch every other day. We came back for lunch and had a very nice wrap and sandwich. The bread is so good that my wife had the better idea but getting hers as a sandwich rather than a wrap. We had generous pieces of raspberry/rhubarb pie for desert.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great lunch/breakfast spot in Andover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Located at main intersection in small town on Andover, this is a great little lunch/breakfast spot. Restaurant is in an old house-don't be put off by unassuming exterior. Inside you will find a small counter space as well as booths. Offers great homemade soups and pastries as well as usual breakfast/lunch fare

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Little Red Hen Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Red Hen Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.