We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander Fulton Hotel & Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Alexander Fulton Hotel & Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alexander Fulton Hotel & Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   701 4th Street, Alexandria, LA 71301 (Formerly Holiday Inn )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 20 hotels in Alexandria
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“OK for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Alexandria was a stopping place on the way to Austin, Texas. The price was great. The room was clean and comfortable. HOWEVER, the website stated that there was an on site restaurant: serves a lunch buffet only. The bar and pool are also closed. There is one bar and one (high priced restaurant) within walking distance. The downtown area was deserted!! I noticed that various parts of the building showed a lot of wear and tear: door frames, elevator interior, ceilings. I would not stay here in the future. Choose a location closer to the interstate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    13
    6
    10
    21
See reviews for
14
3
8
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DeQuincy, Louisiana, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hotel is an older hotel, but they are very friendly. The rooms were clean and comfortable. If you don't mind an older place with charm then this is the perfect place to stay. It is very quiet. It is in an area of Alexandria that is old but it has some very nice places to visit or see.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Calif
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Although this hotel is going thru renovations the service was great! can only imagine this hotel when it 's up and going in full speed again. Yes the facility is a little old. ( built in the the 1980's) but the rooms were clean and I did not smell any musk as noted on other reviews. The price is low for a hotel of this sought which I know will be much higher when the 8 million dollar renovation is complete. The hotel has deferred maintenance yes which being addressed with the new owners. We had our wedding reception in one of the ball rooms ( 150 people) the food was Great! so was the service. You may want to do your own decorating ( as we did) if you want "fancy" Jacqueline Robertson-Earthly

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are in need of new carpet. Just ask the desk and they will kindly change your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Great staff. The historic neighborhood was quiet over the weekend. Perfect base of operations. I travel two to three weekends per month and Alexandria is generally a bleak spot. This hotel really brightened the trip.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We came into town mid july cause family were in the hospital next door. And we had family pick us up from airport. And bring us to hotel we checked in and the was asking the two white girls at front about closes rent a car place to us. and they were not to sure but the tall white girl pull out her laptop and helped me find a budget and helped make reservation so we could go pick up the car the next morning. That is great service in my opinion. and yes the hotel is an old place but the rooms are cleaned and very friendly.. And this hotel dose offer a hospital rate to help the familys out. which is a blessing. if i were to have to come back to alexandria i would stay here only cause of the two girls at front desk.... they were great and i will be back because of the staff this hotel has...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

My daughter & friends stayed at this hotel, and someone put a fire extinguisher hose underneath the door to their room, and turned it on. They were awaken by the smell and the room was filled with what they thought was smoke. They ran out of the room, and someone went in the room after they ran out and stole their property. I called and spoke with hotel management and the owner of the hotel, and I was told they have cameras but the camera did not cover their room. They also told me what happened was not the hotel responsibility. So beware when you decide to stay here. Don't bring any valuables, and stay at your own risk.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I traveled with a group on a business convention staying at the Fulton for 4 days. While you could tell that it was grand in its day, that day is gone. On a good note, the staff was friendly and helpful. There is a well equipped fitness room and there is a small pool. The pool did look fairly clean but there were no chairs, I could see dirt on the bottom, and I couldnt smell any chlorine at all so I didnt chance it. The elevators are very old and a little scary. Housekeeping was constantly working but I think it was an overwhelming task. There is a serious mildew problem in the entire hotel. You can smell it a little in the lobby but upstairs it is alot stronger. The entire hotel (lobby, hallways, and rooms) are dark and mildew smelling. Some of the rooms were so foul smelling that some of our group had to be moved to other rooms. Housekeeping did clean the rooms daily but towels were not always left, the bathrooms werent cleaned well, and you could see black mildew on the window edges and in corners. The carpets were filthy and left your socks or bottom of your shoes black. Some of our group found that they had bedbugs the first night. One member of our group was bit on the face by something in his sleep and had to be treated at a medical facility the next morning. The hotel is not close to any food establishments (other then a small not so clean grill a few blocks away that serves breakfast & lunch). The $10 lunch buffet the hotel offers is definately not worth it. And once we realized the lack of cleanliness in the hotel we didnt want to eat from there anyway. There is no continental breakfast as advertised on the website. Even in the convention room, you could smell mildew, the walls were dirty, and you could see caked up dust & grime on the air conditioner vents. I was glad to leave and hope I dont get sick from the place. If I travel to Alexandria again I'll be staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexander Fulton Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Fulton Hotel & Convention Center

Address: 701 4th Street, Alexandria, LA 71301 (Formerly Holiday Inn )
Location: United States > Louisiana > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander Fulton Hotel & Convention Center 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Alexander Fulton Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Fulton Hotel And Convention Center
Alexander Fulton Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Alexandria Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander Fulton Hotel & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.