We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is this the staff you hired to greet guests? SERIOUSLY?????” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander Fulton Hotel & Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Alexander Fulton Hotel & Convention Center to your Saves list
Alexander Fulton Hotel & Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   701 4th Street, Alexandria, LA 71301 (Formerly Holiday Inn )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Alexandria
Alexandria, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Is this the staff you hired to greet guests? SERIOUSLY?????”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I recently stayed at the Alexander Fulton and was appalled at service we received by a couple of your staff. First, I've never been treated so rudely or disrectful in all my travels, as I was with the lady on the front desk. She acted like we were a bother to her and said so in so many words. We asked for a microwave and she told us rudely that if we wanted one, then give her $ 10.00. We also had a group of children and she told us she wasn't babysitting our kids, that they couldn't sit in the lobby and watch tv, altho there was an adult with them. I wished I had gotten her name but she was a very large white woman.
The second staff was the woman sitting at the register at the buffet. She was very loud and unprofessional. She seemed very racial, as she would ignore the white persons while she visited with her black friends at the register. She also gave the impression that we all were a nuisance and was interferring with her visit with friends.
I understand this hotel is going to be renovated in the near future and I can see a great potential but until you have professional and courteous staff, no amount of money will create the hotel you hope for.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    13
    7
    10
    21
See reviews for
15
3
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Monroe, Louisiana, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Carpets stained and torn. Wall paper peeling off walls. No refrigerators or microwaves. U can request them for $10 extra a night. Rooms smell moldy. Highly outdated televisions. Was with a group. One room's air conditioner stopped working. Toilet stopped working in another room. Elevators sound and shake like they're about to break down. No breakfast offered on weekends. The continental breakfast advertised does not exist. Not a kid friendly hotel. The lady at the front desk is rude and told me that these are not her kids and she will not put up with them. They were doing nothing but sitting in the lobby chatting. She had a bad experience with another group in the past and was holding a grudge, apparently, with all other kids. They have pool tables in the lounge, but the lounge isn't open. The pool wasn't clean. Bottom was slimy. There were only 2 chairs by the pool and both of them had the seat torn out. The table fell apart when it was slightly moved. Luggage racks were wobbly and hard to roll. No ice machines. Have to get it from front desk. Windows are disgustingly dirty. Room decor is also seriously outdated. Stay away from this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

I took pictures...old...nasty musty smell. Doors look like they had been kicked in. Holes in the elevator. Toilets low as the floor. Trash cans had the Holiday Inn name on them. Televisions were a blast from the past. They should charge by the hour. The beds were also low as the floor. The windows were filthy walking in the lobby. Plants were sun burned....this place is not fit for the location. A place were drug addicts hang.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

The hotel and staff was a nice place to stay. To get the full Alexandria LA experience you need to stay here. It's a very old hotel but gives the appeal to tourism if that's what you are here for. There were some people who hung out in the parking lot which gave me an uneasy feeling about mine and my boyfriends cars. The same people were there the two days we stayed which was weird. Finnigans wake which was walking distance, an Irish pub was nice to be able to walk to and enjoy some drinks. The next stay in Alexandria will probably be at a bit more of a classier place but for the whole Alexandria experience this is a must for the whole experience.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Arrived on a rainy Saturday. There were four or five trash cans in the lobby to catch the water dripping from the ceiling. The reservation desk was not occupied. After about 10 minutes a staff member appeared and advised that he would contact the reservation clerk. A young man finally appeared and checked us in. A meeting dinner was held that evening. The food was excellent. Went to check out the following morning and again no one at the desk. We waited around another 10-15 minutes and no one appeared. We finally just left our key with a note. Our credit card had been activated upon arrival. The hotel is in need of updating and there are definately staffing issues. A shame because the location is nice.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eunice, Louisiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

I have had several Downtown Events starting in 2007 to Present Date. I have experienced a Great Improvement in the operation of the Alexander Fulton. We hosted a 800 person Special Event in Feb. 2012, Using approx. 20 Rooms for two nights. The experience was the best stay with in the Fulton to Date. Clean and Friendly ...Thanks Again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

I recently stayed at the Alexandria Fulton Hotel for an event. I have been staying at this hotel for the past three years and during my stay this year I recognized some noticeable changes. The cleanliness of my room and the cleanliness of the hotel overall are just two examples of those positive changes. The hotel staff had extremely friendly, helpful attitudes. This was by far the most comfortable stay I've had in the last three years. I wouldn't hesitate to stay at this hotel again in the future. Thanks so much!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexander Fulton Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Fulton Hotel & Convention Center

Address: 701 4th Street, Alexandria, LA 71301 (Formerly Holiday Inn )
Location: United States > Louisiana > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander Fulton Hotel & Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Alexander Fulton Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Fulton Hotel And Convention Center
Alexander Fulton Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Alexandria Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander Fulton Hotel & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.