We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alexandria LA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Ramada Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Alexandria
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   742 MacArthur Dr, I-49 Exit 86, Alexandria, LA 71303 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #12 of 20 hotels in Alexandria
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    18
    26
    21
    18
See reviews for
39
14
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
LAKE CHARLES
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The ac needs to be fixed runs loud when it kicks on.But ill stay again because the staff location are great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s8macarthur, General Manager at Ramada Alexandria, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments. They are greatly appreciated. I will ac looks at and fixed. I hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW IBERIA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

staff very friendly, housekeepers are great, room clean for most part, airconditioners need to be updated

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s8macarthur, General Manager at Ramada Alexandria, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you very much for your nice comment. Its good to hear. I will tell my staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood, Illinois, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We reserved our room 2 months ahead of time as we were going to be in the area for a family reunoin and anniversary celebration. I called when I saw a rate of $53 a night plus tax on line. I reserved it at that rate with the reservation desk. Our total with tax was to be about $293 for our entire stay. When we arrived I went to check in and the man at the desk gave me a rate of $65 plus tax for a total of $375! I decided to only pay for one night and got my key to my room and then try to call the main Ramada customer service number. When I called the 800 I was told that I would have to speak with the front desk as the customer service rep had no control over what this property was charging. We went to the room and upon opening the door we were greeted with a very unpleasant smell of floral and powder. I turned on the A/C to try to combat the smell. Then I heard water running - the toilet wouldn't stop running. We went back up to the desk and spoke with the same guy who checked us in and told him about the rate. I showed him the rate we booked at (on my phone email) and he shrugged his shoulders and said he couldn't match it because it was an "online" price. I told him I didn't want it matched - I wanted the rate I reserved it at! He said I should have reserved it online if I wanted that price - calling could only reserve it at the current rate. This is insane. What is the point of a reservation (I have the email resevation also) I was so upset - I decided this was the only night I was going to stay here. Went back to the room - the carpet was burnt from someone ironing on the floor - the refrigerator was balancing on a stack of wet then dried newspaper as it was wobbly - the microwave timer light was broken so you couldn't tell how long you were using it for - the mirror was removed from the bathroom door and hung on the wall and the door was never repainted where the mirror was - the shower rod was falling out of the wall causing the curtain to slide to the center allowing water to spray on the floor - the towel rack above the toilet was pulling out of the wall - the coffee maker plug had the grounding pin pulled out - it leaked all over the counter (can you say electrocution?) - the tv was snowy and outdated.
We checked out the next morning and decided to stay with relatives in a motor home the rest of our time in Alexandria.
Not the vacation we had anticipated. This place was disgusting and shouldn't be allowed to have the Ramada name!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s8macarthur, General Manager at Ramada Alexandria, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
I am sorry about yout rate but you made the reservation directly with the hotel at the rate that you paid. You probably could have gotten a different rate on line. But I appreciate your business
and am sorry about the confusion. Please come to see us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ramada Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Alexandria

Address: 742 MacArthur Dr, I-49 Exit 86, Alexandria, LA 71303 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada Alexandria 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Ramada Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandria Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.