We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lying Staff” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6124 West Calhoun Drive, Alexandria, LA 71303   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
DC
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lying Staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

I'm in the Military and was on TDY to Ft Polk. I flew into Alexandria and discovered that the airlines had lost my luggage. I had to stay in Alexandria to retrieve my bags later that night so I found the Hampton nearby.

I inquired at the front desk as to what the military per diem rate is and was quoted at $95/ night. Having stayed with the Hilton Family before, I never questioned the rate.

Upon returning to home station I find out that the actual military per diem rate is only $70/ night. So I figured that a call to the hotel would fix the problem. After several phone calls to the hotel staff, manager, and Hilton Family, I am still not satisfied with the answer I received, "we apologize, but there is nothing we can do".

The front desk staff deliberately lied to my face and the Hilton Family is not willing to settle this matter. I DO NOT recommend that any Military Service Men and Women stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    54
    21
    11
    6
See reviews for
56
19
19
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

Outstanding Service, Thank you Ms. Courtney Clarke and Ms. Nikki Lacour you made our stay fantastic (see again in July 2009). The room was very clean and nicely decorated with contemporary furniture and high speed internet. The beds were ... Very comfortable and the room was quiet, the coffee was always fresh we also enjoyed fitness center and the safety of the location compared to any hotel on or near macarthur drive. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Alexandria la., IT WAS A PLEASURE BEING GREETED BY SUCH BEAUTIFUL SMILING FACES THANK YOU FOR EVERYTHING!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas-Fort Worth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

spotted the "phone bank" of hotels in the baggage claim area (AEX) and called the number to advise of my arrival and need for airport pickup. The clerk said she would be happy to call a cab for me. I didn't realize the hotel didn't offer an airport shuttle which is customary for airport area hotels. Cab fare is 12.00 each way! Now I know. The LaQuinta, right next door to this property, has a courtesy van. Stupid me for booking Hampton.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

My wife and I stayed here for one night for a wedding in town. The hotel is located very close to the Alexandria Airport (5 mins), Oak Wing Golf Course (5 mins) and other nice areas of town. It's also conveniently located off a major freeway to get into downtown Alexandria (10 mins).

Nearby (<0.5 miles) places to eat include Burger King, Cracker Barrel and McDonalds). There are also two gas stations on the same street as the hotel.

Check-in was seamless with no problems. We were provided a code for free wi-fi which was a nice added feature. The rooms and bathroom are spacious and clean. Overall, this appears to be a new hotel and therefore the rooms and overall hotel are clean and in good condition. For the value, I wouldn't stay anywhere else in town.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denham Springs, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2008

This Hampton Inn in Alexandria, La is relatively new, so most everything is still in good shape. Carpet, walls, bathroom, etc. are in good condition. Everything was clean & in order. The bed was very comfy as well. The breakfast was the typical Hampton Inn continental breakfast. The only negative I can say about this hotel is the location. There is really around this hotel restaurant wise except for a Cracker Barrel and a couple of fast food restaurants. But overall it is a very good stay.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2008

I stayed for one night for business. It has a great location in proximity to the airport but wasn't too noisy. The rooms and beds were very nice and consistent for Hampton Inns. The breakfast was free with both hot and cold items, free paper, and free internet access. The Hampton Inn is a good value hotel with clean rooms and great amenities. My only complaints were that my door stuck and was hard to close and I had some trouble getting the AC adjusted to the right temperature but otherwise a very pleasant stay. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Liked — Comfy beds!
  • Disliked — Temperature of room
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria

Address: 6124 West Calhoun Drive, Alexandria, LA 71303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Hampton Inn And Suites Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.