We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Hampton Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6124 West Calhoun Drive, Alexandria, LA 71303   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Getaway Deal
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Alexandria
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
599 reviews 599 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 163 cities Reviews in 163 cities
405 helpful votes 405 helpful votes
“Typical Hampton Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

It is a nice and clean hotel with close acess to the airport and I-49. It is also close to a really good BBQ joint whixh is next fdoor. I did not notice the noise complaints logged by others. I was on the 4th floor, odd number (facing north I think)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stan C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Kuwells, thank you for your review of our hotel. We appreciate your recognition of the standard Hampton values and services you have come to expect when staying with this brand. Our goal is to ensure that our staff, hotel and values are perfect examples of Hamptonality!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    48
    17
    11
    6
See reviews for
51
13
15
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
162 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

1 night, king room on 4th floor. Typical Hampton layout, clean fairly fresh and nice all in all.

They were painting when I got up to the 4th floor so hallway smelled a bit, no big deal. Carpets and furnishings looked fairly new and fresh, room was clean but the little things I noticed were showing wear like the caulking in and around the shower, the holes that were patched up and painted carelessly, the towel holder that was mounted far from level.

Small gym, didn't use it as I was still under the weather. Breakfast was nice, little evening reception was also a suprise, they served wine and homemade meatballs.

The one thing I noticed while walking in but didn't think much of it was the freight train that passed but blowing it's horn as other reviewers had mentioned. It was several times throughout the nigth and it was loud and quite audible. That would be a major issue for me on future stays because I am a light sleeper and this train woke me up 3 times throughout the night. The bed was comfortable but not comfotable enough for a sound sleep, was up and down all night either due to the train, cars passing on the highway outside or the HVAC going on and off.

Not much in terms of quality food in the area unless you like Wendy's and McDonalds.

Stay again? I think I would drive a bit farther to reach my destination before staying in Alexandria again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Booked a night here over the Thanksgiving weekend (the Fri-to-Sat night) while touring in the area. Arrived at around 6:30PM and there was no "rush" occurring, and yet the sole front desk clerk seemed overwhelmed and poorly trained to handle anything not "by the book"...when I arrived he was on the phone with a prospective guest and had to keep asking his manager (who for some reason did not stay out front to handle me standing there waiting) what to do.

When I was finally assigned my room, I opened the door and it was stifling hot and the blower was blowing hot air, even though when I checked the thermostat was set to a much lower temperature. I immediately returned to the front desk to have my room re-assigned, and the overwhelmed clerk was on yet another call, and again he was stumbling through it. His manager again came out (still couldn't figure out why he wasn't just STAYING out front by this point), indicated that some thermostats had recently been "upgraded", but I didn't care, all I wanted was a functional room. They re-assigned me to an upgraded room (which I appreciated, but didn't need given that I was a solo traveler), and again the thermostat did not accurately regulate the temperature of the room. This time, I simply elected to shut the unit off altogether and use ambient temperature for the night, given outside temps in the 40s this night (the room stayed around 70 for the night). That worked out well enough, but obviously if it were hotter or colder out this would not have worked.

I should also note a couple of other issues I experienced:

- There was no acknowledgement of my HiltonHonors Diamond status, and the Hampton amenities accdorded by said status (water/snack) were not provided, either in my originally-assigned room (reserved well in advance), or at the desk upon check-in. I don't particularly care about being personally acknowledged for my status, but I DO expect the status amenities.

- This property is located directly adjacent to an active railroad line, and the train conductors DO seem to like blowing their air horns as they approach the crossings nearby this property. This was not a problem for me during my night here, but it's worth noting as I've read other reviews here on TA where the guests WERE affected.

This property has a staff training problem, a manager presence problem (I'm sure there had to be a reason why the manager didn't stay out front, but whatever it was, it didn't reflect well to this HH Diamond guest), and of course a thermostat problem in at least 2 rooms (and probably more, given informal conversations I had with other guests in the elevator and at breakfast). Very disappointed; I stay at Hampton properties all over the country and this one was definitely not up to even minimum standards for the night I stayed here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bossier City, Louisiana
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I usually stay at the Marriott Courtyard in Alexandria but they didn't have a room available so I stayed here. A little inconvenient due to being north of town although there is a BBQ place, Cracker Barrel, Burger King, and McDonald's nearby. Wasn't as clean as I'd like - there was someone else's hair in the bathroom sink, the shower curtain had mold all over the bottom of it, and the carpet in the bedroom part of the room felt sticky somehow. What really bothered me was this room was $149/nite - same as I pay at Marriott and there's no comparison in what you get for the money. Both offer free buffet breakfasts by the way, but this hotel is near the railroad track!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
255 helpful votes 255 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Nice, clean stay. You won't be disappointed.

It is a little bit of a quirk trying to get to the location - just remember it is on a frontage road.

There is a wonderful Cajun place within walking distance of the property.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Hotel got the job done, but it was nothing special. Close to airport and interstate, north of Alexandria proper. They are undergoing front desk/breakfast area renovations, so a bit displaced. When I checked in the front desk lady was not so friendly, but informed me of the breakfast and happy hour in the room down the hall because of renovations. When I came back to get my free beer I walked into the room, but they were having a alcohol class. When I asked the front desk lady she was like oh not tonight...um why would she tell me 1 hour before they had happy hour?? Also, I'm a gold HH member and I hate when you have to ask to get your water/snack/extra points. Just awkward. Breakfast was nothing to write home about not as good as some other Hamptons. Rooms quiet and bed comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

This hotel is in a good location, situated near many good places to eat, gas stations, etc. It's right off the highway, but we had zero noise from there. The beds were very comfy, the updated furniture is really nice, all the amenities were great. However, they might want to update the HVAC system. Ours was one that sits directly under the window, and it was VERY loud. It also couldn't regulate the temp very well. It was either freezing cold or very hot (because the heat would kick on after it had cooled the room down so much). Other than that, we had a great stay, and the breakfast the next morning was yummy. It was really busy, but they kept bringing out more food, so that was nice. I'd definitely recommend this location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria

Address: 6124 West Calhoun Drive, Alexandria, LA 71303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Hampton Inn And Suites Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.