We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in Alexandria” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Alexandria
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2340 Macarthur Dr, Alexandria, LA 71303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #12 of 20 hotels in Alexandria
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in Alexandria”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is a very nice and apparently relatively new facility. Our suite was very large, with a comfortable chair and ottoman in the bedroom, which also included a very large TV. The living area was furnished with a sofa and coffee table and a 32 in TV. It also included a wet bar (i.e. a bar sink, refrigerator, microwave, plus cabinet space). All the furniture was high quality and contemporary styled.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    14
    11
    9
    13
See reviews for
11
12
4
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Louisiana
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Will never stay here again. Upon arrival, the receptionist was more concerned about getting off shift in an hour than helping me out. She did not tell me any of the information about the hotel or what time breakfast is served, like any hotel employee that has been to hospitality school would do. All of the equipment in the gym is broken except for one treadmill and despite several weeks of business travel, the signs saying the repairman has been called never budged. The rooms are filfthy- the floors are sticky (even the carpet) the rooms are missing things like channel lists, menus/phone numbers for the pizza that is advertized on the desk stand, even when set to full blast, the alarm clock isn't louder than a whisper, the maids are lazy and forgetful- not replacing towels when they remove dirty ones from the room- leaving trash cans sitting in the middle of the room, leaving their cleaning spray on the table. One day when I came back to my "cleaned" room, the sheets had fresh brown spots on them that weren't there when I left that morning. The circuit on the air conditioner was broken when I first entered the room. There were bugs everywhere. Look out the window and there are washclothes covered in brown filfth all over the grass behind the hotel. The pool has more sweat from swimmers than water/cleaning chemicals (One dense hotel guest actually said "ohh this is a salt water pool, my momma has one of those"... yea it wasn't salt water). The A/C unit and fridge in the room were extremely loud, waking me up several times during the night. I was leaving for work one morning as they were setting up breakfast (They should set it up earlier than they do in my opinion) and politely asked if I could take a cup of cereal with me and was rudely yelled at that I had to wait until breakfast was set up... Meanwhile the cereal is sitting right on the counter infront of the lady- not like I was asking for the hot breakfast items. Then when I had to extend my business trip it took three times of talking to rude and in competant employees who promised they'd check and get back to me if a room was available before they finally charged my credit card for the extra nights without telling me/checking if the room they found was acceptable for me since it wasn't the same type of room I had booked. It is insane what kind of hospitality being a polite/patient hotel guest gets you around here- not impressed at all, maybe I need to start yelling and being rude to get treated like a normal human being around here.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear angry g,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate your interactions with the staff prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

At check-in the desk clerk and a housekeeper where too busy degrading a fellow employee. I was not treated as a platinum member of this hotel group nor on this very hot day was I offered a bottle of water. The next morning I was awakened to the staff yelling to each other down the hallway. And my bill was under the door. I called the front desk. They had realized that I was staying an extra day using points, but would not make me move since it was not my fault. I consider points hard earned not a default. Also what is up with the stained entrance and rank and unkempt flowers. THANK GOD THERE IS NOW A CANDLEWOOD!

Room Tip: Stay next door at the Candlewood!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Theressa C,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your stay and in particular with the benefits you are entitled to as a valued IHG Rewards Club Platinum member. We do always ensure we provide the benefits according to each level of our loyalty scheme. Please accept our sincere apologies for the challenges you experienced with our staff. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests.

We value you as a IHG Rewards Club Platinum member and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Unfortunately my review starts with no sleep. This was a business trip stay over which required 15 hours of drive time (with a prisoner) the next day to get home. The room was on the first floor (ugh) and the noise level from the room above us lasted all night long. Really sounded like they let loose a bunch of monkeys in that room. Our mistake was not calling the front desk then but instead waiting till check out to express our disappointment. Still paid for the room, but left tired and irritated. Now on a lighter note, the hotel itself was really nice and the upkeep was great. The room was of good size and clean. The AC was quite noisy going on and off. The thermostat clicks constantly when the AC is adjusting to the temperature. You really need earplugs to keep this from being annoying. Also the elliptical machine in the fitness room was broken. Very seldom do I write a bad review, but these were things that needed to be said. Overall, would probably give them another chance if ever in the area again.

Room Tip: DO NOT stay on the first floor! I recommend and request the highest floor on all hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Hagensmom70,

Thank you for your feedback. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We are sorry for the noise challenges you experienced during your stay with us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I booked this hotel on Holiday Inn's website when my daughter was going to play in a softball tournament in Alexandria. When you fill in the information to check to see if there are any rooms available for the dates that you selected, there is a dropdown menu at the bottom that says "rate." The default setting is "best rate available." Obviously most people would choose this. When you click "submit" to check for availability, the first rooms that show up are rooms that cannot be cancelled or refunded. Hidden in very fine print someplace that I have not been able to find, the company claims to have this disclaimer. On my confirmation that I printed out, it does not state anything about this policy. Because I unknowingly chose a room that was $6 cheaper than the normal rate, I am out $150 because our softball tournament was canceled. I tried to cancel three days before our arrival date. My family stays in hotels almost every weekend because my daughter plays travel softball. I always book online, and I have never had another hotel do what Holiday Inn Express did. The hotel is making a killing receiving twice as much for a room when they take someone's money who cancelled, and then rent it to someone else. Nowhere on the website does it state this about the policy. My credit card company cannot even find the information that Holiday Inn claims to be there. These hotels are individually owned, operated, and managed so they can pretty much do whatever they want to do. I'm pretty sure that if this wasn't a problem with the hotels, then the problem would not be so widespread. The people at the hotel and at corporate were very rude when I called to inquire about this unfair policy. They obviously know that it is a problem, but they are making so much money by doing it, they refuse to change the website. Google is full of this same complaint!

Room Tip: No cancellation policy so they charge you even if you try to cancel and still do not stay there. Thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear KRosteet,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. I would like to apologize for any confusion surrounding this hotel’s reservation policies. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We booked a block of rooms for out of town wedding guests at this Holiday Inn Express. Management was helpful with changes in reservations as guests changed plans at the last minute. Everyone liked the convenient location near I-49, church and reception.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Stated here when leaving on a 6am flight the next morning. Accidentally booked a smoking room when using the Holiday Inn app. They moved me to the last non-smoking room which was nice. Room seemed dark for some reason. But overall this hotel met expectations and the staff as very nice.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Alexandria

Address: 2340 Macarthur Dr, Alexandria, LA 71303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Alexandria 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexandria LA Hotel Near Popular Attractions and Businesses You will enjoy a relaxing stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites of Alexandria, Louisiana, conveniently located three miles from Alexandria International Airport (AEX). Lodging at our Alexandria Airport hotel puts you in close proximity to local Louisiana attractions and businesses. The whole family will love staying at our Alexandria Holiday Inn Express which is just three miles from the Alexandria Zoo. After visiting more than 600 animals, immerse yourself in the beautiful, local works permanently exhibited at the Alexandria Museum of Art. Those who enjoy the outdoors can spend time, three miles from this Alexandria hotel, at the Kisatchie National Forest. Are you in town on business? Don't settle for just any hotel in Alexandria when you can lodge at our hotel, conveniently located near Rapides Regional Medical Center, Union Tank, St Francis Cabrini Hospital and Proctor & Gamble. Also, our Alexandria Airport hotel offers 650 square feet of meeting space, so you can host on-site meetings. We also provide copying, faxing, and printing services. Our Alexandria Airport hotel cares for you by offering free high-speed Internet access and a complimentary hot breakfast bar. You can unwind in the Fitness Center or swim in the outdoor pool, and enjoy a good night's rest in our triple-sheeted beds. Call today for our Alexandria hotel's rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Alexandria
Holiday Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.