We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Alexandria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Alexandria to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Alexandria
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2344 N Macarthur Dr, Alexandria, LA 71303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Alexandria
Natchitoches, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wedding Weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed two nights and had two double queen rooms. The rooms were clean and new. You get a full sized refridgerator, diswasher, microwave and two burners. The room has a large led tv, a counter that extends most of the length of the room with desk/table that extend into the room. There are three chairs, a dining chair, a desk chair and a recliner. We did hear a lot of hallway noise. We enjoyed the room. There is no pool but they have made arrangements with the Hoilday Inn next door. The down side is there is only maid service once every 7 days. This would work for extened stay guests.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
1
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is a extended stay hotel with a kitchen in it. And they have free laundry machines too. The manager Ian, is very helpful. The property is 6 months old, and you can tell they are working hard to keep it nice. With the kitchen and a short drive to wal-mart, you can save a lot of money eating in the hotel. I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestwood, Kentucky
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The hotel is brand new, and looked great from the outside. Unfortunately, the handle on the toilet in my room was broken. It was late before I realized the toilet did not work properly, so I advised the front desk at check out.

The bed felt great. My hotel invoice needed correction. When I arrived and handed my Platinum Elite Card to the front desk, I was not recognized for being a member of the Priority Club. Amongst all the IHG hotels at which I have stayed, this one would rank in the bottom one-third.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iragsdale19, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Very sorry about the toilet issue you had with your room. I will be emailing you regarding the survey you submitted to us. Hope we can accomodate you again in town if you are here again.

Sincerely,
Ian R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

It's cheap but an ok place to stay. The rooms are clean and have lots of room with all the kitchen stuff you need. There isn't a bar and no housekeeping during your stay. But that's normal for this chain. Towels and sheets are available from reception.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I'm staying here now. My shower set off the smoke detector this morning! It was quite annoying!! This hotel is quite nice otherwise. The staff is very helpful, and friendly. They know where to get the seafood!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Alexandria

Address: 2344 N Macarthur Dr, Alexandria, LA 71303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Alexandria 2*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.