We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Obvious Choice for Lodging in Alexandria” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3830 Alexandria Mall Drive, Alexandria, LA 71301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #7 of 20 hotels in Alexandria
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“The Obvious Choice for Lodging in Alexandria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

The Courtyard by Marriott in Alexandria is a new, upscale property located near the south traffic circle on MacArthur Drive, next to the Alexandria Mall. Opened about September 2010, we had a pleasant experience during our recent stay at this new property. Check-in was prompt and courteous. The three-floor hotel is entirely smoke-free.

Our room was smaller than we normally expect in new hotels today, but the appointments and decor, centered around bright, rich reds and golds, were superbly done. Lighting is one of our major concerns with hotels today, but this hotel room was brightly lit. The room also had a large number of electrical outlets, a great amenity for those of us that travel with smartphones, iPads, cameras, GPS units and other electronica. The pillows were full, and an amble supply of towels was provided. The quality of sleep was rated "perfect ".

The room was quiet and no problems were experienced. We are a native of Alexandria, not a current resident, but know the good and bad areas of town, and felt comfortable at this property from a security standpoint.

The hotel is near the mall (not recommended), and Christus St. Frances Cabrini Hospital. Other businesses nearby include Books-a-Million, Lowes, Old Navy, Marshalls, Wal-Mart and many others. Nearby restaurants include Chile's, Ihop, Outback, Captain D's, Carinos, and McAlisters.

Most new lodging in Alexandria is located north of the city at the Airbase Road exit on I-49. Most older, less desirable lodging is along MacArthur Drive between north Bolton Street and Jackson Street; I wouldn't recommend any of these. The Courtyard is the only hotel I would recommend off I-49 in Alexandria.

On our next trip to central Louisiana, we will definitely book the Courtyard by Marriott, and recommend it to our family and friends.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    19
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
14
7
4
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tupelo, Mississippi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

This is one of the new style Courtyards, well designed from the lobby to the room. Lobby is large with lots of seating for eating or meeting someone. The Bistro is basically a Starbucks with the normal fare. I actually prefer this for breakfast over the typical free buffet offered at some hotels. My room was a handicap accessible room, very clean with lots of space and a big shower. Hotel is in a good,safe area close to shopping and dining. Would definitely stay here again. Room does have a small refrigerator which is handy.

Room Tip: Request handicap accessible room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

My two children and I stayed here for one night on our way home. The lobby is very nice. The staff was attentive and the room was your typical room configuration. However, the room was very clean and fresh. The bathroom very large and clean. It also included a refrigerator for no extra charge. I would have expected free breakfast but the only option was their restaurant for a fee. Very close to several dining options and within walking distance to the mall.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

I usually always stay at another hotel brand for points, but that one was 14$ more a night and in a much worse location. This hotel is fairly new and it shows. Very modern. It's a good location with plenty of restaurants right around it or a very short drive. I would avoid the hotel 'bistro' for food. Ridiculoulsy over priced, and there is an IHOP right outside for breakfast, and many better dining options for lunch or dinner. The TV in my room (330) is set next to the closet, and even if you pull it out, you can't see all of it from where they put the bed. Not a big deal, but whoever set that up needs a lesson in layout. The closet was fairly small and only 6 hangars. I was in a king room, and the bed was fine. There is an outdoor area with a fire pit, but because of the extreme heat the week I was there I never got a chance to hang out there. The pool is very small. Overall I'd stay here again just for the location. There was a fridge and coffee maker in the room, but no microwave.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

The rooms are very nice. The hotel has a nice ambiance. The outdoor pool is smallish but seemed clean. There is a cool outdoor seating area. What I do not like about Marriott, is their entire approach to food. This one has the whole bistro thing. It is basically an overpriced restaurant, in the hotel. And not the nice kind where they will bring your food to the table, but order and pick up at the counter. I hate that. I knew they did not have a breakfast, but they really tried to sell their whole breakfast concept. For $8.95, you get eggs, toast, a meat, thats it. No drink. We went to Cracker Barrel. But I tell you, I stay at a lot of hotels around the country and it is nice having a continental at the hotel. I do have to say though, the desk staff were nice, the hotel was nice. Very close to quite a few things to do.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011 via mobile

Clean, quiet, well run, good staff. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

We totally enjoyed our stay here Easter weekend. sparkling clean, spacious seating areas in lobby, Starbucks coffee and good food in the lobby Bistro. Outdoor seating area with a fire pit. Will definitely stay here again. Signage on the feeder roads indicating where to turn would be helpful to first-timers.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria

Address: 3830 Alexandria Mall Drive, Alexandria, LA 71301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* 3 floors, 80 rooms, 16 suites * Located adjacent to Alexandria Mall * Bistro, Starbucks and full bar; serving breakfast & dinner * 52" touch screen GoBoard which displays headlines, maps, weather and more * Full service business center * The Market provides snacks and refreshments 24/7 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.