We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small pub..big meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abita Brew Pub

Abita Brew Pub
72011 Holly St, Abita Springs, LA 70420-3608
985-892-5837
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Small pub..big meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Very big portions... Bring your appetite.. Burgers were great, and so was the beer! Honey mustard chicken salad and down south burger...all good!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    34
    12
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dekalb,IL
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“abita beer and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Just a mile drive from the brewery in abita springs. Easy to find and adequate parking. All the abita beers on tap. Lots of seats but the place was still full. All the people we dealt with were polite and pleasant. The only negative was the meal took quite awhile to get served. Not sure why. But without saying a word our beers were comped! Definitely worth a stop since the food was tasty.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nice casual spot for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stopped here for a late lunch after going to the Ponchatoula strawberry festival. It's a very casual, relaxing atmosphere with a nice selection of Abita beers. In fact, someone "mis-poured" and we got a couple extra free ones!

I had the gyro (since they are hard to find anywhere) and it was delicious. Soft pita bread (usually it's hard and flaky) and my daughter had the portabella mushroom burger, which she said was very good.

Our server was attentive and I would definitely go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious Food, Excellent Service and Amazing Root Beer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We enjoyed dining at the Abita Brew Pub after a busy day of exploring the town. The hostess was welcoming and pleasant. We were greeted by our server who answered the questions we had about menu items. As he began to explain the various beverages brewed there, we let him know that we did not drink alcohol. He quickly switched gears and told us about the nonalcoholic offerings including the fresh brewed root beer. The first sip took us back to our childhood days. It was delicious.
Our food was also tasty. I enjoyed a muffaletta served on a fresh roll, lightly toasted. The olive mixture was just right. The meats and cheese filled the roll. It was served with sweet potato fries which tasted freshly sliced and fried rather than frozen. They are the best sweet potato fries I have ever eaten. For dessert I had bread pudding and a cup of decaf coffee. The first cup of coffee was a bit cold and our server took care of that immediately. My partner enjoyed eggplant with shrimp and tasso cream sauce served with angel hair pasta. She gave it five stars and enjoyed every bite.
The prices are reasonable. The atmosphere of the Abita Brew Pub is friendly. The decor is a combination of brewery items and Louisiana themed items. We got a chuckle from the male and female ceramic alligators on the restroom doors.
We will definitely eat here again on our next visit to Abita Springs.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice pub in a quaint town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Can't go wrong with all the varieties of Abita beer-- the standard craft brew that's very popular in New Orleans. An extensive menu from burgers and sandwiches to pasta. Crawfish are in season, so I had the crawfish pasta. Good burgers and artichoke hearts too. Very family friendly place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abita Brew Pub also viewed

Abita Springs, LA
Abita Springs, LA
 
Abita Springs, LA
Abita Springs, LA
 

Been to Abita Brew Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abita Brew Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.