We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Get Away To Remember” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palmetto Island State Park

Palmetto Island State Park
19501 Pleasant Road, Abbeville, LA 70510
337-893-3930
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Abbeville
Attraction details
Abbeville, Louisiana, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Get Away To Remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This park RV hookup and camps rental is in a secluded place a few miles south of down town Abbeville. There are trail routes, boat docks and the kids could get wet with water fall style system to cool off during those hot summer months.You are not from the Vermilion River.If your ever traveling to southwest Louisiana, please consider taking a trip there. You want be disappointed.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    8
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manteo, North Carolina
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We were here in the winter, so had the park to ourselves for the most part. It's a huge beautiful park, with really nice facilities, a large visitors center, new cabins, etc. We saw plenty of wildlife, including wild boars and their babies. Would be a great spot for camping!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Arthur, Louisiana
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Took a drive through the state park to check out. Very pretty place the cabins look very nice. Looks like they have great fishing opportunities. We also saw a wild hog and piglets along the side of the road. Need to spend more time there next time.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbeville, LA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“It was ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I liked the facilities. I'm certainly glad they had an admission fee, other wise I think it could be over run with people that weren't concerned with keeping it up. The walking trail was nice.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cat Spring, Texas
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Great wildlife”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

As I work close by and have made several trips to the park, would highly recommend a stop over as you can RV, tent or try a cabin it would be worth the stay. We have seen all the wildlife and if your interested in birding then this is the place!! Nice road system and the layout of buildings etc are nice. They even have a water park for the kids. Good stuff.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palmetto Island State Park also viewed

 

Been to Palmetto Island State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palmetto Island State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.