We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real market ambiance and good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Market

Market
Bella Vista, calle 47, esquina Uruguay, Panama City 4747, Panama
507-264-9401
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #50 of 453 restaurants in Panama City
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Real market ambiance and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Like a no frill place, no time to waste and always good dishes & specials of the house, try the Market! It feels like there is a 24h non-stop service that will never end, people come and go continuously, and it gives a great feeling of 'busyness'. The food was excellent as you expect in such a 'marketplace'; but do not expect highly refined cuisine. I heard the 'Colossal' hamburger of the house is a must. I will surely try it next time.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    97
    96
    38
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crystal Lake
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Wonderful experience here...both food and wine were excellent, and the service was outstanding. However, it was difficult to find the restaurant on the side street....no big signs to help us. We had to ask several people where it was, as we were walking from our hotel.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wow the food was the best ever..especially staying in the bank district”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Wait staff was so friendly.....so efficient....present but not invasive! The food was delicious...served with a beautiful presentation...very tasty..I would highly recommend this place

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Average American Steak House Fare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Market was highly recommended by our nearby hotel. The restaurant is located a few steps away from Uruguay Street, Panama City's restaurant row. This high traffic, dimly lit, perilous avenue is roughly paved with minimal access to broken sidewalks. A faint smell of raw sewage seeped through the night air as we picked our way around piles of bagged garbage awaiting pick up. A Hooters sits at the end of the street. Such a disconnect from the gloss of Panama City.
Market is a bustling eatery, serving steaks and burgers with the usual side dishes. It also boasts an active bar scene. Service was prompt. The food was decent enough. We ate there twice as the restaurant seemed to be a viable alternative to other dining options on Uruguay Street.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Succasunna, New Jersey
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great place for a lunch aor light dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Located not far from the harbor and the large hotels. Very comfortable atmosphere and while an Americanized Latin menu, it was all done very well. Good service and reasonable prices. Always nice to be in a restaurant that is busy and has plenty of local people.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.