We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average American Steak House Fare” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Market

Market
Bella Vista, calle 47, esquina Uruguay, Panama City 4747, Panama
507-264-9401
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #105 of 602 Restaurants in Panama City
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Doing business, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
113 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Average American Steak House Fare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Market was highly recommended by our nearby hotel. The restaurant is located a few steps away from Uruguay Street, Panama City's restaurant row. This high traffic, dimly lit, perilous avenue is roughly paved with minimal access to broken sidewalks. A faint smell of raw sewage seeped through the night air as we picked our way around piles of bagged garbage awaiting pick up. A Hooters sits at the end of the street. Such a disconnect from the gloss of Panama City.
Market is a bustling eatery, serving steaks and burgers with the usual side dishes. It also boasts an active bar scene. Service was prompt. The food was decent enough. We ate there twice as the restaurant seemed to be a viable alternative to other dining options on Uruguay Street.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    153
    64
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Succasunna, New Jersey
Level Contributor
226 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great place for a lunch aor light dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Located not far from the harbor and the large hotels. Very comfortable atmosphere and while an Americanized Latin menu, it was all done very well. Good service and reasonable prices. Always nice to be in a restaurant that is busy and has plenty of local people.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Steak place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Wonderful place with lots of atmosphere if you feel in the mood for a real steak or burger. Efficient staff, great wine selection, nice POSTRES!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“When you're ready for American food...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Market is the place to go to get burgers, salads, friend chicken or other classic American food. The staff is fluent in English and the kitchen staff has obviously learned the language as well as the food and service were consistently good. Suitable for families and for couples, Market is a nice change of pace, particularly for a lighter meal

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central America
Level Contributor
95 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“It's my second time, it didn't get any better...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We are at Carnival time in Panama. We decided not to partcipate in the Panamenian Carnival this year, but went out to dine. My idea was to go to one of the few open restaurants in Panama, have some meat or hamburgers, my wife and daughters chose Market. I had visited Market previously and didn't particularly enjoy the experience, but they had changed their location, maybe the taste also changed. The service is good, the decoration very masculine with walls covered in wine bottles, the seating arragement is definetly upgrade cafeteria, the prices are not. Everybody in my party concluded that the meal (even though we all ate different dishes, all meat) was tasteless. I asked for a "california hamburger, well done" and got it "rare", the fries were very salty, the meat tasted raw and the bread crumbled in pieces as soon as I started eating, the restaurant had maybe ten clients. Only my 8 years old grandaughter was pleased with her mini bugers.
As I said this is my second visit, I feel it didn't get any better, I'll have to let other people enjoy this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.