We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner and Brunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Market

Market
Bella Vista, calle 47, esquina Uruguay, Panama City 4747, Panama
507-264-9401
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 475 restaurants in Panama City
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dinner and Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Dinner at Market was very good but brunch was even better! Not many restaurants in Panama offer brunch.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    104
    104
    41
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Consistently Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

This is one of our regular dinner spots on our monthly business trips to Panama. The bartender(s) makes a mean vodka martini and the sliders with blue cheese and bacon are a must. The fried chicken, hamburgers and steaks are fantastic. I would pass on the spinach and artichoke dip and the ribs as they are average, but everything else is consistently yummy.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, CT
Top Contributor
468 reviews 468 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 170 cities Reviews in 170 cities
267 helpful votes 267 helpful votes
“Wonderful, friendly place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We were visiting Panama over New Year's and this was one of a very few places that were open on the evening of January 1st. Since we were staying at a hotel within walking distance of the restaurant this was a plus but the atmosphere and the food were all terrific. Service was timely with a lot of attention to details like refilling wine glasses...The menu had a variety of choices for meat, fish and pasta lovers and the prices were comparable with the rest of the area eateries. The restaurant itself is set back and a bit easy to miss on a walk past. Upon entering it is nicely set up with a large extra room for when it is very busy. The decor is pleasant with wine bottles arranged along the walls. We were a party of 6 and I appreciated the great space between the tables.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Islip, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Place, Friendly Help”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

6 of us ate dinner there New Year's evening, it was one on the few places that were open on the holiday. This was our second dinner there and each was a very pleasant expeience. We were with a travel group staying at a hotel locally so we had visited the Calle Urguay area several times during our visit.
I had the hamberger special and my wife had the schrimp and they couldn't have been better. Other members of the party all were pleased with their entrees.
If your going by taxi no problem but if your walking or driving yourself study the map. You will find that Panama City street signs are no existent and different streets tend to have the same name.
If you are english speaking and don't speak spanish ask for Johnathan as your waiter, he will tell you he doesn't speak english but he knows enough to explain the menu. Ask for him anyway because he is a super friendly helpful guy. He looks to be about 14 but he says he's 23 and is married with a daughter.
Do give this place a try I am sure you will enjoy it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Steakhouse that a Veggie can Enjoy!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I am a vegan and my boyfriend is a burger addict. He wanted to come here and I was a bit skeptical. But I loved their ratatouille, cous cous and salad. The restaurant is pretty chic for Panama. It reminded me of a restaurant that would be in Miami. There is a good bar with a huge selection of alcohol. The service was pretty good as long as you don't mind flagging down the waiter. The clientele definitely looked like the wealthier panamenians. The men all had on collared button down shirts and the women wore heels and designer bags.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.