We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden treasure in the old town.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Cuatro Tulipanes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Panama City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Los Cuatro Tulipanes
Save Saved
You added Los Cuatro Tulipanes to your Saves list
Avenida Central entre Calle 3ra y 4ta | Casco Viejo or Casco Antiguo, Panama City, Panama   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 71 Panama City B&B and Inns
1 review
“Hidden treasure in the old town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

This place had the loveliest suites/apartments. The decor was gorgeous. Everything was clean. The comfort factor was over the top in excellence. The people who work there and run it are so kind and helpful. They are knowledgeable approachable friendly and warm. The place is so great. It is like a lovely home away from home

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    21
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
50
139
22
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The location is absolutely the best you can have in Casco Viejo, close to both plazas with outdoor restaurants, close to boutique artsy shops, great ice cream store downstairs, easy to walk to fish market, and waterfront park, near everything we wanted to see in the city. In safer part of Casco Veijo than some other nice hotels in Casco Viejo. Our "room" was 2C and was as large as described with a full kitchen, washer/dryer (with plenty of soap & dryer sheets provided), long balcony complete with chairs & table. [Washer & dryer came in really handy after many days of jungle adventures! Arrived in Panama City with loads of dirty, smelly clothing; left with clean nice smelling clothes. Made it so much easier to pack, and much more pleasant getting home.] The kitchen was even stocked with plenty of plates & glasses, spices, lots of cooking tools, toaster (big enough for bagels), microwave, stove, oven, full fridge, etc. A/C unit in main room and each bedroom (we had 2 bedrooms, each with their own bath). Staff added air mattress in main room, so we fit 7 people the first night. After that there were just three of us, so apartment fit us very well, better than if we needed several hotel rooms.

They have arrangement with wonderful drivers to take you wherever you want for a reasonable rate. Was even able to use them for rides on nights we weren't staying in Panama City; much more accommodating than drivers for another B&B we visited.

Problems: we emailed many times to arrange pickup at airports. First arrival in Panama worked out great! Got driver to bring us to a rental car at the domestic airport (so we didn't have to drive thru Panama City during rush hour) and escort us to Gamboa (heard it might be hard to find in the dark). That worked out perfectly! Left the city for days (look up reviews for Canopy B&B & La Loma Jungle Resort) and came back to domestic airport to return car and come to hotel. Had arranged arrival times days in advance and hadn't had access to email while in the jungle. No one arrived to pick us up. Our phones were supposed to work in Panama, but didn't work at domestic airport (Gelabert/Albrook). Had to have car rental agency call hotel. He helped a little but was trying to close. Turns out they totally forgot to pick us up. All our luggage was on the street, it was getting dark, and airport was closing. So we took a taxi. Asked car rental agent to get detailed info for taxi driver so we wouldn't get lost (heard hotel was hard to find). Several taxi driver discussed the written notes for several minutes and finally one said he would take us to our hotel without a problem. Seems he just wanted the ride. He was clueless driving around Casco Viejo and charged us twice as much as originally suggested. So be careful. Confirm with hotel about drivers even if you thought everything was all set. If you need to take a taxi, bring a map of Casco Viejo with you (easy to find online or get at any hotel in Casco Vejo). It really is easy to navigate in the area once you know it. Airport taxis just don't seem to come to area too often.

Staff seemed understaffed while we were there. Air mattress was not set up as confirmed in advance. Had to arrange at late hour. No one was in hotel office when we arrived. Seems people we confirmed all our arrangements with in advance had not communicated anything to staff. Hotel staff left a local cell phone in our room for our use while in Panama City. Great idea, but phone never had phone service wherever we were. Had to walk over to Canal House (their other property) to get help. We stayed here because of all the great reviews of wonderful staff, but did not experience that. The help we got once we found someone that night was wonderful, but we should not have had to walk around city trying to find help. Rarely found English speaking staff in office during our three days there. Never met the folks that we arranged everything with in advance. Experience ended up being more of an apartment in the city than a hotel.

Rooms were not as airy & sunny as described. Although there are ample windows and french doors to balcony, all the windows have heavy curtains and shutters. It was much too hot & humid in the city while we were there to want to turn off a/c and open doors & windows (and we don't even own a/c at home!). I tried to adjust shutters to allow more light through, and move curtains to the side, but some are not moveable. So rooms were still darker than we like.

Not sure I could get my husband to come back here. Lacking adequate staff and dark rooms were a real problem for him.

Room Tip: See long notes in description. 2C is very large, long balcony with chairs, small wood couch & t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCascoBoys, Owner at Los Cuatro Tulipanes, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thanks so much for staying with us here in Casco Viejo!

As we have discussed privately via emails (and after some lengthy investigations with the team), it looks like the inconsistencies you experienced with us were due to some miscommunications in the elaborate email conversations. While we are 99% accurate with our transfer coordination, there's always that 1% that has the potential to fall through our watchful eyes and we're always the first to identify it and make it right.

Thanks again for helping us constructively become more consistent in this regard!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My recent stay at Los Cuatro Tulipanes well exceeded our expectations. It was our first trip to Panama City, and the staff gave excellent recommendations on restaurants, groceries, and things to see/do within the vicinity. The transportation provided was super convenient, with very courteous drivers who were always punctual and informative. The location of the inn is perfect - near the water and next to several excellent restaurants, bars and shops; and we felt it was in one of the safest areas of Casco Viejo, as well. We never felt uncomfortable walking around, day or night. We stayed in Apartment 2B, which is very spacious and spans two floors. It has a very charming and warm decor, and included all of the amenities we could ask for. The apartment also has several balconies that open to different courtyards, which we enjoyed in the mornings and evenings. We had such a nice trip that we have already booked again for later in the year!

Room Tip: Apartment 2B is on the back (quieter) side of the inn and provides ample space for a couple . The en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our apartment was always clean, and we had just the privacy we wanted for our week in Panama City. The staff were helpful, and the owners had good suggestions for where to go and what to eat. Also, it is a good choice to reserve airport pick-up and drop-off through them. The drivers are professional and personable. And the apartment was so much bigger than we expected! We hope to return someday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

the hotel has been exquisitely redone, with good quality materials and interior decor, the height of the roofs is very pleasant, allows for airflow in such a tropical place, very helpful staff, while pricey, you can cut down costs by cooking part of your meals in the mini kitchens included in each of the suites

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Ivana and the team at Tulipanes were wonderful at helping us book our room, get to the apartments from the airport, figure out where to go and what to see and even helped us arrange private transportation to our surf school. If that isn't above and beyond, I don't know what is. We stayed in the little 2A apartment which we just loved. The room was very clean with everything we could need at a great price and Tulipanes is perfectly situated in old city Panama but with a central enough location you can walk to the fish market or take a short cab downtown or to the canal.

Unfortunately not knowing what the apartments were like before going we only booked Tulipanes for our first 2 nights in Panama as we were heading up the coast to surf but I liked everything so much we begged them to let us stay again when we returned from the coast in a few days' time. Unfortunately they were booked up but found us lodging at their sister 'hotel' which turned out to be the most beautiful, magnificent place we stayed our whole trip.

I could go on forever about how great our stay was and how much we adore Panama but I'll get you to judge for yourself. Go to Panama, see Ivana and the staff at Tulipanes, eat at the fish market, drink on the roof top patios, wander old city Panama, eat lunch on the observation deck of the Canal, and try surfing. We loved each and every minute of our holiday and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This place has everything. Beautiful rooms with modern amenities (Including temporary cell phones!). Grounds were clean and the staff was friendly. Any questions we had about where to go and what to eat were answered. Location is perfect walking distance around safe and fun Casco. The hotel manager, Mateo, even took us out around Casco one night to some of the more local spots. The highlight was a secret open air bar complete with live music and a dance floor. Don't ask me the name though, the place was hidden away on a side street with no signs and a closed door. I cannot stress enough if you are going to Panama City for any reason business/play/romance this is the best choice to stay. You will be taken care of by the good people at Los Cuatro Tulipanes

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Los Cuatro Tulipanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Cuatro Tulipanes

Address: Avenida Central entre Calle 3ra y 4ta | Casco Viejo or Casco Antiguo, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avoid the boring chain hotels! We are a boutique fleet of luxury apartments for rent by night in the historic district of Casco Viejo, Panama City. Located just minutes from downtown, Casco Viejo is a supremely unique neighborhood. Los Cuatro Tulipanes specializes in 100% personalized service and 100% authentic travel experiences. Travelers only... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Los Cuatro Tulipanes Hotel Panama City
Los Cuatro Tulipanes Panama/Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Cuatro Tulipanes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.