We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Cuatro Tulipanes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Panama City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Los Cuatro Tulipanes
Save
You added Los Cuatro Tulipanes to your Saves list
Avenida Central entre Calle 3ra y 4ta | Casco Viejo or Casco Antiguo, Panama City, Panama   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 71 Panama City B&B and Inns
Bonita Springs, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Awesome Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed at Los Cuatro Tulipanes in Casco Viejo for five nights and loved it. We stayed in apartment 2B which was cozy and beautifully decorated. If I could, I would have stuffed a bunch of furniture in my luggage to take back to the US. The apartment was clean, comfortable, had a well equipped kitchen (which we didn't use except for the frige), a washer/dryer, TVs in the living room and bedroom. We liked that there was a 1/2 bath on the first floor. If we had a wish list, we would have liked A/C in the main living area and coasters to protect the furniture. The staff was more than accommodating and it was a pleasure meeting Evan, Matt and Sandra......Sandra joined us in our apartment for wine one evening. She's lovely!!! Evan went above and beyond making recommendations of what to do, places to eat and helping us out in general. One evening on the way back to the apartment, I had an accident causing me a sprained foot, yucky cuts on my toe and knee (no I wasn't drunk, ha ha). Evan told us where to find a pharmacy, asked if I needed a doctor, pain pills and called the airline to make arrangements for a wheelchair in both Panama City and Miami. He is truly a gem and caring young man. Blas is their recommended taxi driver. He was extremely reliable, friendly, knowledegable and eager to learn English. We even got to meet his adorable son. We briefly met Matt when we ran into him and Evan at a restaurant. He is a great guy and I wish we had the opportunity to have more contact with him. If you want to see the "real" Panama City, stay at Los Cuarto in Casco Viejo. If you want to feel as if you're in NYC or Miami, stay in the new city with the high rise hotels and office buildings. Casco is in the process of revitalization so you will see many hovels, trash, holes in the sidewalks and streets. Don't let that keep you away. You will be immersed in history, local culture, great restaurants with international flair and friendly happy people. Thanks again to Evan, Sandra and the staff for making our stay fun and pleasant. We feel like we have made friends with all associated with Los Cuarto.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    21
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
50
141
22
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

It is unusual to see a place with such uniformly great reviews, but Matt and Evan go out of there way to make sure that you enjoy your stay. We stayed at LCT for a week and initially thought we might get bored, but we found that we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves - it was just so relaxing to park oneself at an outdoor cafe for a couple of hours and watch the local street scene. In addition, the apartment was so nice, that we spent a lot of time relaxing in it also.

The evenings were great also, with many excellent restaurants within walking distance. We also went out for drinks a couple of times with Matt and his charming girlfriend. So at the end, it was difficult to leave.

The only misfortune we had was to lose the apartment keys in a taxi, but Matt was very gracious and we were given a replacement set with no fuss. So highly recommend this place if visiting Panama.

Room Tip: Each apartment is so different that it is hard to say which one is better,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

I live and work in the interior of Panama, and when I come into Panama City for meetings or fun, I am always trying new hotels. Not anymore. First of all, you want to be in Casco Viejo, because it is a special special place. Cuatro Tulipanes is in the middle of it all. The location is flawless. Then as you enter the building, you realize how lucky you are. I stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment with a great balcony overlooking Calle Central, and you can really feel the history & culture of the city here. The service is second to none, and the apt had so much personality, I really didn't want to leave. I highly recommend this you booking with them. Their service is great, they enjoy what they do, and even their welcome guide is something you will read from front to back, guaranteed. You need look no further. Call them and make a reservation "ya"!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We had initially booked another apartment in Casco Viejo, but were not very comfortable so decided to move after the first night. We looked at the reviews of various establishments on Trip Advisor, emailing and/or visiting the ones we were interested in. Evan got back to us almost immediately and was very helpful. Matt and Evan were very thorough, friendly and welcoming. The apartment Monjas 1B was delightful and had everything we required. We made a point of returning to the apartment for a relax before going out again in the evening as we wanted to enjoy the comforts provided! Tea, coffee, filtered water, soft drinks and beers were included, and everything was very clean, fresh and very comfortable - we felt very much at home. The apartments are located in a busy part of Casco, close by to restaurants, bars and sights. Evan made some very good recommendations such as tours (we went to Lake Gaton jungle tour with Barefoot Tours - excellent), places to eat etc. They have also compiled a very interesting and informative guide to the area which was very helpful and amusing to read - a great idea to us newcomers. We enjoyed staying there so much that we cancelled our booking at a hotel on our return to Panama and booked another apartment (Monjas 2B) for the night before we returned home to London. Again, a lovely apartment (though 1B was our favourite) and even though we didn't see Evan for very long on this visit, he had sorted out our pick-ups and drop offs to and from the airports with the very reliable Blas. In Evan's and Matt's absence their trusted staff were very helpful and thorough in their dealings with us. We were so pleased to have stayed at Los Cuatro Tulipanes and only wished that we had found it sooner. We highly recommend it as the place to stay in the lovely area of Casco Viejo.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Chic and comfortable hotel, fantastic neighborhood, helpful and friendly proprieteur--all combined to make a perfect stay in Panama City. I couldn't have been happier with the location--nestled in the nicest part of the historic Casco neighborhood, and the amenities--like others have said, so nice to have your "own" place in the city. Made for a relaxing and less touristy feeling experience. Can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

When we arrived from the airport with the taxi service arranged by Los Cuatro Tulipanes, we were very warmly welcomed and felt right at home in "our" apartment, which was even bigger than the pictures on the internet would lead you to believe. On top of that, the assistance/knowledge in showing us the right sights of Panama (City) as well as assistance with less happy circumstances (we lost our iPhone...) were good signs of people who understand personalized travel and being away from home. It was so great that for the last days of our "Tour de Panama", we just had to come back and finish our holiday here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

I just returned from a quick 3 day weekend in Panama City with my husband, 11 year old son, mother-in-law and father-in-law. We planned the trip only a few days prior to our departure, so I didn't have as much time to spend as I normally do researching accommodations, restaurants and tours. I read about Los Cuatro Tulipanes in Frommer's Central America guide and on TripAdvisor. Los Cuatro Tulipanes is not a hotel or a B & B. Rather, they offer lovely furnished apartments in the historic Casco Viejo section of modern Panama City. I sent an email and was almost immediately contacted on the phone by the property manager, Evan. We were looking for an apartment that would accommodate all 5 of us. Evan offered us a new unit that they had just acquired for their rental pool. It is the top floor penthouse apartment at Las Monjas (the name of the building that houses their other units in Casco Viejo.) It is a 3 bedroom/ 2 bathroom unit that has just been completely renovated. After hearing Evan's description of the unit, I immediately booked it even without benefit of pictures.

We arrived in Panama City on April 6. Evan had arranged for his trusted driver, Blas, to pick us up at the airport and transport us to Casco Viejo. Blas was terrific...very polite and extremely helpful. When you drive into the Casco Viejo section of the city, you immediately see the contrast between the old buildings that have been renovated and restored and those that have not. Many buildings are mere shells and some are simply in extreme disrepair. On the other hand, those that have been restored are lovely and are similar in style to many of the French inspired buildings in New Orleans' French Quarter. There is construction work going on everywhere and Evan had warned me of that fact when I booked the apartment. However, even with the construction work evident and the extreme contrast between the old and restored, we absolutely loved this area of the City. We have spent considerable time in recent years in San Miguel de Allende, Mexico; Antigua, Guatemala and other colonial towns and cities in Central and South America, so we were accustomed to the "in progress" renovations and appreciative of this area's vast potential as a destination. Put simply, if the investment is available to complete the projects which have been begun in Casco, this will be a beautiful area in 5 to 10 years.

So, back to the apartment....it was terrific and truly EXCEEDED our expectations. Evan met us upon our arrival and assisted Blas in getting our bags to our top floor apartment. (Note--there is no elevator). We were so impressed when we walked into our penthouse unit. The apartment is a split level design and there are 3 levels...a large family room with flat screen television as you enter the apartment ...around the corner to a spacious breakfast area (with balcony) and a large, very modern, kitchen (absolutely everything in the kitchen was brand new!) along with one small bedroom...As you move to the second floor, you find a second bedroom with Queen size bad and adjoining full bath with a huge tub (and shower). The master bedroom is on the third level with a full private bath. Also on that level is a large rooftop terrace with great views of the ocean and the old town.

The apartment had everything we could possibly need. It is located only a couple of blocks from the historic cathedral and a block for the old Teatro National. Literally steps from the entrance to the building (Las Monjas) you will find Manolo Carocal which is one of the best restaurants in Panama City. I also want to mention that we felt perfectly safe throughout our stay as we walked around in Casco Viejo. There is a very visible police presence as the City is obviously very focused on keeping this neighbordhood absolutely safe for tourism.

I strongly recommend Los Cuatro Tulipanes to anyone looking for fine accommodations in an historic and truly developing area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCascoBoys, Owner at Los Cuatro Tulipanes, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
This is very exciting -- to have our first review of our new penthouse apartment! It was an absolute pleasure to host you guys here! You definitely said it best (and we certainly don't try to compete with the ultra luxury hotels in Panama City) but our new penthouse unit offers tons of space, privacy, amenities, and views to rival the absolute top lodging experiences in town. It is perfect for families, groups of couples, or even business associates. When James Bond was filmed in Casco Viejo, this is where the director stayed!!! Look forward to having you guys back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Los Cuatro Tulipanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Cuatro Tulipanes

Address: Avenida Central entre Calle 3ra y 4ta | Casco Viejo or Casco Antiguo, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avoid the boring chain hotels! We are a boutique fleet of luxury apartments for rent by night in the historic district of Casco Viejo, Panama City. Located just minutes from downtown, Casco Viejo is a supremely unique neighborhood. Los Cuatro Tulipanes specializes in 100% personalized service and 100% authentic travel experiences. Travelers only... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Los Cuatro Tulipanes Hotel Panama City
Los Cuatro Tulipanes Panama/Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Cuatro Tulipanes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.