We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel California

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Panama City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel California
Save Saved
You added Hotel California to your Saves list
Apartado 6193 Zona 5, Panama City, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 107 Hotels in Panama City
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed two different nights on the suggestion of friends who sail in Panama (had to, getting to the Atlantic side requires staying overnight to get across early in the morning). At $44/night is was well worth it. Clean rooms of reasonable size, decent shower, nice small pool on the roof, very good and cheap restaurant adjacent, free wifi. Some of the desk staff haven't much English, but others do and are very helpful. Rooms facing Via Espana are going to be noisy. Excellent supermarket only a few blocks away.

Room Tip: Get rooms not facing Via Espana
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    32
    16
    8
    3
See reviews for
18
29
13
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
clarksville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I got in pretty late. 11:15. The man at the front desk was so slow. He either did not want to give me a room or he was totally confused. I had a reservation. I pointed to my name in his book. Anyway, the problem was the air conditioner. It worked, but it blew out the worst mold smell. I slept a few hours, but it is tough when every breath is full of mold smell. Also, I found out later from a taxi driver that the address is in a very bad area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucaramanga
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stayed here a few nights whilst waiting to go to Mexico. Decent staff and receptionist answered our emails promptly. The room was ok but smelt like it had been hosed down with bleach just before we got there and wouldn´t leave. Noisy air con. The pool on the roof is worth a peek but they close it at 9:30pm, just when I was setling in wth a few beers to catch up with some notes. And of course there´s an armed guard slouching at the front door. Bit mental that.

Room Tip: The wifi router is near the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alhaurin el Grande, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I have stayed many times at the Hotel California since it opened. Unfortunately I will not be staying there again. I have tried to make a reservation for nearly a week for another 10 days stay but my e-mails have not been answered and i was told to ring back when I rang from Spain.

30 years ago I worked in Panama and have seen great progress since then. The only thing that is now missing from the business community is professionalism, as has been demonstrated here.

Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I stayed a few times, on my 2 months Panama trip (9 Dec 2011- 16 Feb 2012) in hotel California. And will stay there again in the future.
Standard room with a good double bed, bath room with shower and hot water (I've stayed also with a belgian friend who lives in Panama and also with another family in El Dorado area while taking a Spanish course, in Panama most houses have only cold water!!), flatscreen tv with the standard international channels and WIFI in the room.
Friendly staff, specially Oneiva. She a nice lady who speaks very good English.

For those who travel with a laptop, ask for a room near the elevator along the side street (Calle 43 Este). The rooter hangs there.

The hotel has a sun terras on the roof, with some nice views over the city.

Good and safe location, when you exit the hotel and turn right into Calle 43 Este. Walk down 600m and you'll arrive at Parque Urraca and the Cinta Costera. Make a left, onto the Cinta Costera for 1200m ( passing Le Meridien and Hilton Panama) and you'll arrive at Multicentro shopping Mall. Hard Rock cafe is there, has a food court (Mc D and pizza), cinema and a lot of shops.

There's also a small shop near the hotel, at the corner of Via Espana and Calle 44.

Room Tip: For those who travel with a laptop, ask for a room near the elevator along the side street (Calle 43...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We found this to be a very pleasant, clean, and affordable hotel for our one-night layover in Panama City. The staff were friendly and the service was great. Even though we speak Spanish, they switched easily to English when needed. Oh - and a HOT shower... wonderful. Much nicer than many hotels we have used in Central America. Tip - talk to your taxi driver from the airport about picking you up the next morning for the return trip. He was eager to do it and showed up at the hotel 30 minutes early. Great service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the front street side if traffic noise is an issue for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed in California twice on our around the world journey before moving on to Columbia.
The staff was nice, the first room we stayed in was a little small, but we made it work and second room was much better appointed so it was better for us. Everything worked great and we had everything we needed, including amenities such as small pool on the rooftop with great views of Panama city skyline and workout room with basic gym equipment. Restaurant adjusent serves great basic meals, staff there weren´t super freindly, but I have heard it is common in Panama City. Restaurant has GREAT coffee.
It is located very conveniently only 15 minutes walk away from Calle Uruguay and very close to shopping areas.

Room Tip: You will hear people getting ice from the ice machine if your room is close to it. Also, rooms up fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: Apartado 6193 Zona 5, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
California Hotel Panama City
Hotel California Panama/Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel California, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.