We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Between Average and Very Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zk Nikkei Cuisine

Zk Nikkei Cuisine
Edif. Torre de las Americas | Punta Pacifica, Panama City, Panama
+507 301-7250
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 551 Restaurants in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Between Average and Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I am missing a setting on Tripadvisor. Sake is neither average nor very good. Above all, it is consistent which is a rare find in Panama. Most restaurants are horribly inconsistent and Sake has managed to deliver a consistent quality of food over the last few visits.

The sushi is definitely the best in Panama without a shadow of a doubt. Do not try to eat sushi anywhere else. However, it is not great for someone that has previously lived in Asia. It is just acceptable.

The main courses are pretty good and I prefer them over the sushi any day.

The two things that are somewhat off-putting are the poor service (bring plenty of time when going for a business lunch) and the smell left on your clothing when you leave. It is a mixture of cheap air freshener and fat.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    56
    15
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suburban Philadelphia
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Best sushi in Panama and maybe the Western Hemisphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We are sushi lovers and have dined at many sushi restaurants over the years, although I must admit that we have never had the pleasure of eating sushi in Japan. In any case, this is one fine sushi restaurant, and without a doubt, had the best sushi we have ever experienced. Now that's a recommendation, my friend! The rolls are large, delicious, and beautifully presented. The cost per roll is more than what most sushi restaurants charge, but worth the price. The service is a bit slow, but the food more than makes up for this deficiency. The restaurant itself is very upscale and attractive, a great place to spend a leisurely hour or two. There is valet parking, which is a big plus in traffic-challenged Panama City. If you'e looking for good sushi, this is the place for you.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I have to say, so far this restaurant has the best sushi in the country as a whole, I am Asian and I have to say they come very close to that taste of sushi we were used to.And they have valet parking,a big plus.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great sushi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Very nice restaurant with nice decor. Very attentive staff.
Food was very good, especially the sushi! It's nice that you can also order a half roll as well as a full roll! The other dishes looked really nice but were served luke warm instead of hot... Which was a little disappointing. But all with all it was a nice evening. Not too pricey either.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Sydney, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best sushi in Panama City!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Went here in December 2012 with my sister. We sat at the bar and got to speak with one of the sushi chefs as he worked. Feeling adventurous, we asked the chef for his recommendations for both hot and cold sushi. The most beautiful, I have to say, was the dragon roll; however, every single thing was out of this world! Very fresh and different! Not your run of the mill sushi combos.

The price was great for good quality sushi. Between the two of us, including five rolls, drinks, and dessert we spent around $50.

The ambiance was intimate and would lend itself to a lovely date night. I would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zk Nikkei Cuisine also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Zk Nikkei Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zk Nikkei Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.