We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used to be better...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Posta

La Posta
Calle Uruguay, Entre Calle 47 y Calle 48 | A Un Lado de Hotel Waldorf Astoria, Panama City Bella Vista, Panama
+507 269-1076
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 563 Restaurants in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Used to be better...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Service has gotten much worse. Waiters take a long time for everything. Its still pretty full all the time and you need a reservation. It still has great decorations very plantation style decor.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    140
    52
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, MO
1 review
“Fantastic sea bass”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This was one of the best meals we had in Panama. The sea bass was outstanding. And we had good service. Charming atmosphere. It was a little pricy, but the food was so good that made up for it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The place is nice and quiet with attentive service. Food and atmosphere are .good but the place is clearly designed for Europeans/Americans with a wallet. In my view, very much overprices especially if you're going to have some wine.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great dinner at classic Panama City restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We ate here in January 2013 during our trip to Panama to see the canal. The dinner was excellent. I had fish cooked in a bag and it just melted in your mouth. The flat bread placed on each table was so good we went through two baskets of it- even though we were all on a diet. Service was a bit slow but that did not take away from the ambiance (classic Spanish colonial) and the excellence of the food.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conifer
2 reviews
“Excellent food, rotten service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The atmosphere was upscale, yet relaxing Caribbean. The food was amazing from appetizer to entree to dessert. The service was cold, rude and not helpful one bit! We have been in Panama for 4 days and have been welcomed everywhere we've gone from restaurants to hotels to snorkeling and cabs. One of us speaks fairly fluent Spanish and the waitstaff at La Posta acted as if they did not and were not helpful when we did not understand their menu or explanations in fast Spanish. I understand "when in Rome...." we should know the language, however even attempts to do so were met with rude stares and no help to try and communicate so we could order a meal. I have gluten issues and need to know what I am ordering! Yikes.We'll come back to Panama for many things, this restaurant is not one of them - unfortunately!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Posta also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to La Posta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Posta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.