We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for Bennigan's w/ Wonderful Ocean & Marina View” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bennigan's Grill & Tavern

Bennigan's Grill & Tavern
Ave. Balboa, Extreme Planet bld, 3rd Floor, Panama City, Panama
Improve this listing
Ranked #411 of 526 Restaurants in Panama City
Price range: $5 - $10
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Okay for Bennigan's w/ Wonderful Ocean & Marina View”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

With 4 friends who had come through the Panama Canal with my husband & me, we celebrated our sailboat's arrival on the Pacific Ocean side with a nice, leisurely lunch at Bennigan's. The stunning ocean & marina view setting was worth it! The restaurant was attractive and our drinks and food (mostly, seafood) were good. The service was typical south of the USA border, slowish, but our group is well-travelled and were prepared for it. We all enjoyed ourselves and would go back next time we are in Panama City.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    17
    14
    15
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Service is horrible, This was a terrible experience, staff is so rude, drinks were thrown on the table, didn't wait for the food, stood up and left. Such a shame, Bennigan's is one of my favourite spots but I WILL NEVER COME BACK TO THIS ONE. Stay clear of this one.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It's Bennigans!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

About the same as the US. Second visit for me which just amplified the first time...Burgers are great, typical bar food. Located on Amador , so a short trip from downtown. Service always needs improvement, but this is Panama. If you are heading to Amador, great place to eat (along with about a dozen more).

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama, Panama
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Horrible experience!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Food quality was terrible, service was not attentive. We went to the Bennigans down by the Causeway, maybe it's different to the other Bennigans.. But this was not a great experience.
My husband ordered a Irish Coffee and being in a bar that promotes "Irish" you would assume they know how to make it. Well after 20 minutes he ended up with a cold coffee with Tia Maria and no cream. We send it back explaining how to make it and they didn't understand. They didn't even have a Irish whiskey behind the bar!!! That's when we thought it might not be on the menu, so after looking at the menu again we did see it... So please train your staff!! We will give them another try in the future to see if things have approved, but for now we stay away from Bennigans.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Good average american food. Good service. Be prepare to wait for your food. Parking might be difficult. Good location.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bennigan's Grill & Tavern also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Bennigan's Grill & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bennigan's Grill & Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.