We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ricooooooooooo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bennigan's Grill & Tavern

Bennigan's Grill & Tavern
Ave. Balboa, Extreme Planet bld, 3rd Floor, Panama City, Panama
Improve this listing
Ranked #444 of 582 Restaurants in Panama City
Price range: $5 - $10
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Ricooooooooooo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

The food is great, the environment also. But they must take care a little bit of the cleanliness of the place. Still, good service and fast. This restaurant is located in the best places of Panama. Is grilled food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    19
    14
    15
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guayaquil
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Just as bad as in any other location”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Unfortunately, there doesn't seem to be many options except to eat at poorly-executed American franchises.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Never ever! No, there is no excuse! Never.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

First thing to stress out: This applies to all Bennigan's in Panama (Ave. Balboa, Coast Way (Amador), and Metro Mall.

Why I don´t like Bennigan's?

Believe me is not the food, I had been in places with less quality and I can deal with those. It's the service it's Horrible (with capital h). Again: Horrible.

How so? Well the waitresses (or waiters) simple fake they don´t see you and you may stay there up to 30 minutes and they will literally ignore you, walking as fast as they can without making eye contact.

Once they decide to take your order, they will take another 20-30 minutes to bring it to you, when you need a refill for your drink they won't show up - the same when you want to order dessert or even when you are going to pay them - .

I will give you an advise: If you are in Panama, and have the need to eat in a similar place to Bennigan's just go to Friday's. The service is not top notch but at least they will take your order faster, bring your order faster, and receive your payment faster. And the food... well the portion are smaller (not that much), but the flavor is as good as in Bennigan's (Actually my wife and kids like Friday's better).

Believe me, I wanted to give Bennigan's a chance before writing this review because I really enjoy their Long Island Ice Tea and their Wings, but it didn't work.

So take my advice and enjoy Panama!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“It could not have sucked more”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Went on Sunday night after the movies.
The floor was sticky, most tables were dirty.
The bathrooms had no paper, the toilets were stinky and filthy all garbage cans were full of paper. Looks like it had not been cleaned in a looong time.
There was nobody to greet us at the entrance, it took us about 5 minutes to find a waiter.
They took our order, never brought plates - came back with half of our order and then when we asked for the third time THEN told us they had run out of quesadillas.
They never refilled our drinks and we saw how the table next to us complained and complained and then before walking out said "guys, this place sucks".
Indeed, service was crappy, food was crappy - totally unacceptable.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We love bennigan's get the Full Pass and save lots”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We love bennigan's because we bought the full pass from The movie theatre, and it gave us discounts at the Rest.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bennigan's Grill & Tavern also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Bennigan's Grill & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bennigan's Grill & Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.