We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We agree with Victor E” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel el Parador

Save Saved
You added Hotel el Parador to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel el Parador
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Eusebio A. Morales, Panama City, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 108 hotels in Panama City
Faversham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We agree with Victor E”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We booked this hotel on the recommendation of the Rough Guide to Panama. We'd been in Central America for 2 months already so had a good idea of hotel quality in the region. This one was horrifyingly shabby, with broken tiles in the entranceway and piles of laundry in the lobby. The roof top pool had no shade and the light fittings up there were broken. The restaurant was, by Panama standards, ridiculously expensive and the incuded breakfast nominal (7 dollars extra for a fruit plate - double the price of the nearby posh Riande hotel!). All in all our biggest mistake on the trip. The only advantage was the location, with a number of good restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Avoid the suites like the plague - for the same price you can stay somewhere top class!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    22
    25
    11
    20
See reviews for
18
32
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

One wonders where in the world the people who recommended this place last stayed. As a notable once said "read my lips" - only one word is needed: DUMP.

Clean on surface, the place stunk of mould. Bare light bulbs, flat pillows - woman on desk obviously hated job and had negative feelings about anyone suckered by the online pictures.

You can go around the corner and pay 15% more & get a decent place.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We are retired in the countryside of Panama. We decided to stay at the El Parador because they have a nice roof top pool to view the fireworks of the city on New Year's Eve. As usual, the hotel was clean and had great service and the staff was friendly.

Only problem we had is that the cleaning staff was up bright and early to clean the rooms. Not to thrilled about a knock at our door at eight in the morning. Next time we will take a sign and tape it on the door.

Overall, a cheap hotel to stay at. With our Pensionado Visa, it was only $35 after the discuento!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This hotel, principally caters to Panamanian travellers, is of good value and great location in the El Cangrejo neighborhood. We enjoyed the nice rooftop swimming pool. The restaurant served up inexpensive meals that is decent. The interior is a bit dated. There is business center with computer. The rooms has a smell to it that tells you the furniture has not been updated for a while.

Room Tip: There were several car rental office on the same street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penonome, Panama
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

This was my third stay at the El Parador, two weeks this time. The only change is that the restaurant prices have gone up a bit but they are still cheap to reasonable and the food and service are still great. Most of the staff are the same as two years ago which I take as a good sign. The first floor maid remembered me and greeted me with a hug. Again I shared a balcony with my friend who has now been living in that same room for over five years. What could be a better recommendation than that? One of the main stations for the new subway system will be only three blocks away, an easy walk.

You generally get what you pay for and this is definitely not a luxury hotel but it is still my first choice in Panama City. The location could not be better. You can walk to almost anything you might want to do. Even if you are there for an extended period, the linen is changed every day. Although many of them do not speak English, I have always found everyone, without exception, on the staff to be helpful and friendly. A smile on your face is always a great way to start. The roof is great with a nice pool with many lounge chairs and some tables and chairs. Although it is not the tallest building around, the roof has nice city views in all directions, frequently has a nice breeze, and is above most of the city noise. It is especially pleasant at night.

Directly across the street is the Machu Picchu Peruvian restaurant which has great food at reasonable prices. One block away is the Pomodoro Italian restaurant which I also highly recommend.

Recommendation: never take a taxi from in front of any hotel. If a driver knows you are staying at a hotel, the price goes up. Also, look for a taxi with its windows closed, it will probably be air conditioned.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

stayed here for about a week. pros: quiet and clean. good location in el cangrejo district. snazzy rooftop pool with excellent city view. cons: wifi is horrible. this is common in the city. as far as wifi it's the year 2000 for them. they don't understand how important it is and when there were problems i got the standard shoulder shrug, "whats the big deal?" reaction. i've dealt with friendlier people at the Department of Motor Vehicles. incredibly there's no wifi on the rooftop and it was rather dirty and unkempt. got the impression that maybe the hotel is for sale and nobody cares? returned to panama city today and went to the Hotel Marbella and so far they're batting a 1000.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised with this hotel. $65 per night including breakfast was quite a deal. The rooms were nice enough. We checked a couple of rooms to make sure we had a balcony - no view- but a balcony. Basic lodging. Beautiful rooftop pool and free wi-fi.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask to see your room. At first we almost ended up with room with no balcony. The high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel el Parador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel el Parador

Address: Calle Eusebio A. Morales, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 108 hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel el Parador 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel el Parador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Parador Hotel
Hotel El Parador Panama/Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel el Parador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.