We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Balboa Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Panama City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Balboa Inn
Save Saved
You added The Balboa Inn to your Saves list
Cruces 2311A | Balboa, Ancon, Panama City, Panama   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 67 Panama City B&B and Inns
New Orleans, LA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The Perfect Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I did a lot of careful research to decide where to stay for my visit to Panama City. I chose the Balboa Inn because I wanted to be in close proximity to everything the city had to offer but in a quiet neighborhood where I could see some wildlife. The Balboa Inn was perfect.

Advantages:

• Thorwald was a wonderful host.
• The Inn was clean and comfortable.
• Breakfast was good and plentiful and is included in the price of the room: eggs, cereal, ham, yogurt, juice, coffee, toast, peanut butter, etc.
• The Balboa Inn is just a few blocks (maybe 4) from a major roadway so catching a cab is easy or the staff will call a cab for you.
• It’s a quiet, pretty neighborhood in which to relax after navigating the crazy, energetic city.
• The staff can help you book excursions.
• It was like staying in someone’s home. One night it was pouring rain and Thorwald and I ordered pizza for delivery and chatted over dinner. It was good pizza too!

Disadvantages:
For me these were not disadvantages, but be aware…

• There are only a few choices to eat near the Inn. There is a nice restaurant that I didn’t try, a food stand near the mini mart, which had great grilled chicken and Niko’s Café. Niko’s is a cafeteria with super cheap eats and a great bakery.
• Hiking to the top of Cerro Ancon and a little artists market is about the only activities within walking distance. You’ll have to take a cab everywhere else. However, I doubt there is any place you could stay that would be within walking distance to everything you want to do. The city is sprawling. Cabs are fairly cheap. Although, I think they’re cheaper for locals than for tourists! Oh, well, what’s a buck or two?
• The Balboa Inn is a bed and breakfast, so don’t expect the Waldorf Astoria or a Trump property. No chocolate on the pillow, no turn-down service, no room service. It’s not uptight or stuffy or gilded. It’s a good, clean, sweet little inn run by super nice people.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    212
    106
    16
    7
    5
See reviews for
74
176
39
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eersel, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed in this B&B at the beginning and at the end of our self-drive tour through wonderful Panama. We stayed three nights in total.
Second time arrival felt like we were coming home. Managers Bill and Mieke have been great hosts: they know the country very well and gave very useful advices, such as a great fish restaurant at Amador causeway.
The B&B has a small garden that was teeming with all kinds of birds, due to the location close to the protected Ancon hill nature reserve.
To get to the city, we had to take taxis. Some taxi drivers had difficulty finding the B&B, so take the map that Mieke and Bill provide.
We found the room furniture a little basic and outdated, except for the nice mural paintings. The rooms could use some makeover in our opinion.
Other than that, we loved the quietness of the location, the morning's waking up with bird sounds instead of traffic, the good breakfasts, the birds and the hosts. Thanks Mieke and Bill!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed at the Balboa Inn for the beginning of our journey to Panama and again at the end. From the minute we arrived it felt like home. Bill and Mieke were amazing hosts, very helpful, very accommodating, and extremely enjoyable to visit with on the terrace. The breakfasts were great, it's in a nice residential area that is close to the airport, the bus terminal, and Albrook mall. There are a few restaurants within walking distance. We couldn't get a taxi to the ferry one morning so Bill woke early to drive us there. Mieke reserved a 2 day excursion for us to San Blas while we were off exploring Panama. When we arrived there for the end of our stay, I only had one foot out of the taxi before they were both at the door to greet us....ahhh, home sweet home! This was truly an amazing place to stay because of the hosts. I will definitely recommend to anyone that wants a carefree place to stay in Panama City. Even though the Balboa Inn is in Panama City, it sure didn't feel like it.

Room Tip: Stayed in two different rooms but room # 10 was my favourite because it opens to the terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We enjoyed our stay with Mieke and Bill - two very helpful hosts who are well suited for the job! Breakfasts were delicious and the open-air breakfast area tropically pleasant. The neighborhood is residential and quiet but for the occasional small plane taking off or landing at the nearby local airport. Several eateries within walking distance but English is definitely a second language here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I recommend Balboa Inn Bed & Breakfast highly. It is centrally located which makes it a great base point or a perfect way to begin your trip. Mieke & Bill Hamilton have a great family approach to making our stay flawless. They exceeded our expectations by providing excellent service and always sharing helpful information. They are the ultimate concierge, which made everything easier for us. The Hamilton’s were full of knowledge of Panama City and other neighboring cities, no question was too big for them to answer. They even provided us a driver for a fee who was just as friendly and knowledgeable of the area. We will definitely stay here if we return to Panama.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We felt like home from the first minute we arrived. Mieke and Bill are perfect hosts always helpful and giving useful advice for an enjoyable stay in Panama and Panama City - they are perfect managers and very nice people too. The rooms are very clean and provide you with everything you need and the sitting on their garden veranda is much better than a visit to any botanical garden - the perfect place for a stay in Panama City. We wish we can be back soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed here while participating in the Panama Ironman 70.3. It was a great location for being able to bike a little before the race, and very convenient for biking to transition, and home after the race was over. This side of the city is quiet and safe. The Balboa Inn is located in a nice residential area. Mieke and Bill are great hosts and were so helpful with accommodating all our unusual needs -- bike transportation, an area to assemble our bikes, and even a 4:30am breakfast for race morning! We were so grateful for their flexibility and support.
Thanks Mieke and Bill!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Balboa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balboa Inn

Address: Cruces 2311A | Balboa, Ancon, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Balboa Inn is a small Bed & Breakfast at the foot of Panama's main landmark, Ancon Hill (Cerro Ancón) in Balboa. Conveniently located between the downtown area, Amador Causeway and just minutes away from the domestic Albrook Airport, Casco Viejo, and the Panama Canal you are away from the city noise yet have access to all its services. The Balboa Inn: a great location, personal service, a real breakfast. Simply good value. Why settle for less? ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Balboa Hotel Panama City
The Balboa Inn Panama/Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Balboa Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.