We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home at last!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Balboa Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Panama City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Balboa Inn
Cruces 2311A | Balboa, Ancon, Panama City, Panama   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 67 Panama City B&B and Inns
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Home at last!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed at the Balboa Inn for the beginning of our journey to Panama and again at the end. From the minute we arrived it felt like home. Bill and Mieke were amazing hosts, very helpful, very accommodating, and extremely enjoyable to visit with on the terrace. The breakfasts were great, it's in a nice residential area that is close to the airport, the bus terminal, and Albrook mall. There are a few restaurants within walking distance. We couldn't get a taxi to the ferry one morning so Bill woke early to drive us there. Mieke reserved a 2 day excursion for us to San Blas while we were off exploring Panama. When we arrived there for the end of our stay, I only had one foot out of the taxi before they were both at the door to greet us....ahhh, home sweet home! This was truly an amazing place to stay because of the hosts. I will definitely recommend to anyone that wants a carefree place to stay in Panama City. Even though the Balboa Inn is in Panama City, it sure didn't feel like it.

Room Tip: Stayed in two different rooms but room # 10 was my favourite because it opens to the terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    105
    15
    7
    3
See reviews for
73
174
39
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartland, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We enjoyed our stay with Mieke and Bill - two very helpful hosts who are well suited for the job! Breakfasts were delicious and the open-air breakfast area tropically pleasant. The neighborhood is residential and quiet but for the occasional small plane taking off or landing at the nearby local airport. Several eateries within walking distance but English is definitely a second language here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I recommend Balboa Inn Bed & Breakfast highly. It is centrally located which makes it a great base point or a perfect way to begin your trip. Mieke & Bill Hamilton have a great family approach to making our stay flawless. They exceeded our expectations by providing excellent service and always sharing helpful information. They are the ultimate concierge, which made everything easier for us. The Hamilton’s were full of knowledge of Panama City and other neighboring cities, no question was too big for them to answer. They even provided us a driver for a fee who was just as friendly and knowledgeable of the area. We will definitely stay here if we return to Panama.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We felt like home from the first minute we arrived. Mieke and Bill are perfect hosts always helpful and giving useful advice for an enjoyable stay in Panama and Panama City - they are perfect managers and very nice people too. The rooms are very clean and provide you with everything you need and the sitting on their garden veranda is much better than a visit to any botanical garden - the perfect place for a stay in Panama City. We wish we can be back soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed here while participating in the Panama Ironman 70.3. It was a great location for being able to bike a little before the race, and very convenient for biking to transition, and home after the race was over. This side of the city is quiet and safe. The Balboa Inn is located in a nice residential area. Mieke and Bill are great hosts and were so helpful with accommodating all our unusual needs -- bike transportation, an area to assemble our bikes, and even a 4:30am breakfast for race morning! We were so grateful for their flexibility and support.
Thanks Mieke and Bill!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This little B&B is in a very quiet location but not far from the old town and very convenient for escape from Panama City being not far from the bus station, internal airport and the road westward. On the gentle slope of Ancon Hill the garden is lovely and full of birds. The owners are warm, friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and cool from the a/c and though it overlooked the road, quiet and a good place to watch overflying parrots. The furnishings were a tad tired but it had everything, lamps, fan and a good shower. The breakfasts were good and eggs freshly cooked for you as you ate the fruit or cereal. We had arrived from Europe 23 hours after leaving home and never was a bed more welcome or needed. There is as always in Panama, wifi and a pc in the lobby as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trego, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We spent a full week at the hotel. Bill and Mieke were fantastic! We had a rental car problem and they were on the phone right away getting us a new way of transportation.
The animals around the yard always kept us reaching for the camera and finally the last day we were able to see the Toucans.
The view from Cerro Anton was just unreal. It was a hot hike up the hill but worth every calorie that we burned. We saw numerous birds and a sloth on the hike.
Best part of the trip for us was the fishing on Gutan Lake. We caught over 50 fish and had a wonderful guide.

Room Tip: I didn't see any rooms that looked like there would be a problem. There are dogs in the neighbo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Balboa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balboa Inn

Address: Cruces 2311A | Balboa, Ancon, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Balboa Inn is a small Bed & Breakfast at the foot of Panama's main landmark, Ancon Hill (Cerro Ancón) in Balboa. Conveniently located between the downtown area, Amador Causeway and just minutes away from the domestic Albrook Airport, Casco Viejo, and the Panama Canal you are away from the city noise yet have access to all its services. The Balboa Inn: a great location, personal service, a real breakfast. Simply good value. Why settle for less? ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Balboa Hotel Panama City
The Balboa Inn Panama/Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Balboa Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Balboa Inn to your Saves list