We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Panama City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Balboa Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Panama City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Balboa Inn
Save
You added The Balboa Inn to your Saves list
Cruces 2311A | Balboa, Ancon, Panama City, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 76 Panama City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Panama City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Bill and Mieke are knowledgeable, friendly, professional and will do what they can to make your time in Panama work. They stored our bags after checkout and let us hang out until our overnight bus was ready. The rooms are clean and very well kept. Service was prompt. Breakfast was always good. And the location in a suburb near the Canal Administration Building made for quiet restful evenings with other guests and our hosts. Taxis are easy to get and food is nearby just past the church. Ask Bill and Mieke about the Portobello tour. It was a major highlight of our trip and wouldn't have happened without them.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    113
    17
    8
    5
See reviews for
78
191
40
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ocean View, Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Our three night stay at The Balboa Inn was absolutely a wonderful experience. A pleasant out of the city B&B a short cab ride from Miraflores Locks (Panama Canal) and Parque Metropolitian, and within walking distance to Cerro Anton, Panama Canal Administration buildiing and other attractions. Don't miss a short trip by car or cab to recommended restaurants on Amador Causeway nearby. The indoor / outdoor dining and social areas of this property provide the perfect opportunity to relax and enjoy the local wildlife, a favorite beverage, and fun conversations with innkeepers Bill and Mieke and other guests after a day of activities. Innkeepers Bill and Mieke are extremely knowledgeable of the area and Panama and attentive. Our only dissapointment was having to leave for our next destination.

Room Tip: Chat with innkeepers Bill & Mieke about your specific concerns. You'll find them more than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

You will be hard pressed to to better than the Balboa Inn for many reasons, however if you need 5 star deluxe, then go find it and pay accordingly elsewhere.

The highly experienced management will do their utmost to ensure your stay both at the Inn, and the country in general goes smoothly, safely and as serenely as can be reasonably expected.

Further note should be made of the fact that there is a high return rate amongst guests, and that prospective new guests booking late must frequently be turned away.
This is not your regular, plain vanilla, corporate accommodation and I understand that many long-lasting friendships have been forged between both staff and guests, and guests with each other.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We arrived late in Panama and Bill and Mieke went out of their way to accommodate us - cleaning up a room that had just been vacated in the evening. Very friendly and very knowledgeable - they shared their knowledge of the city and where to go.
Nice sitting area - indoors and outdoors.... although there seemed to be quite a few smokers staying there!

The inn is in a quiet, safe location and easy to get to the causeway, to the old town, to the locks. to the huge mall.... and the bus station.

The room was clean, comfy, and quiet. Had a good sleep! Could use the internet at no charge.

We enjoyed this city - had visited 40 years earlier....when we went through the canal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Pros

We chose to stay her to be away from the city noise and grime, and it was quite peaceful, and a short distance from the bus station, Amador Causeway, and Cerro Ancon. Meike and Bill were very helpful organising taxis etc. The room was spacious, and bathroom small but worked OK. A/C and fan worked fine.

Cons

The place is slightly shabby, and the taxi drivers don't know where it is, which can be tricky, although it is close to the canal administration building. There is nowhere nice to eat nearby, although you can walk to the restaurants at the end of Amador causeway in about an hour. We did try Nico's which is 5 minutes walk, but found it to be a sort of fast food mall, and no alcohol. Better to get a taxi to the Casco Antiguo - should only be a $2.50 taxi ride, but as soon as they realise you are a foreigner the fare doubles!

There is definite smell of stale smoke about the place, which non-smokers may find unpleasant.

Overall we had a pleasant enough 2 nights here, but compared to everywhere else we stayed I would say $50-$60 would be a fair price to pay. We did expect a bit smarter for $90.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Bill and Mieke have tremendous knowledge about local restaurants, tours and sightseeing, and are terrific hosts and interesting to talk to. They are smokers, and our room was right above the smoking porch, and we like to leave the windows open. They were very accomodating when we mentioned it. The rooms are good and clean, common area is nice, and the yard is nice, including the occasional toucans. Yes, there are neighborhood dogs that bark, but this is Panama, and that's part of the experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Bill and Mieke are terrific hosts. We stayed for three nights with our two small dogs, and will return shortly. We were given great advice regarding restaurants, self-service laundry, etc. The common area is a lovely place to meet other guests, check the computer, and watch the wildlife that is so nicely sustained in the yard. Breakfasts are ample and good. The neighborhood is very nice for walking; very secure. Best of all, they loved our dogs!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama
1.2 mi away
Las Clementinas
Las Clementinas
#3 of 114 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 stars 276 reviews
1.2 mi away
American Trade Hotel
American Trade Hotel
#4 of 114 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
TRYP Panama Albrook Mall
TRYP Panama Albrook Mall
#7 of 114 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 stars 624 reviews
2.9 mi away
Toscana Inn Hotel
Toscana Inn Hotel
#6 of 114 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 stars 779 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
#20 of 114 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balboa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balboa Inn

Address: Cruces 2311A | Balboa, Ancon, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Balboa Inn is a small Bed & Breakfast at the foot of Panama's main landmark, Ancon Hill (Cerro Ancón) in Balboa. Conveniently located between the downtown area, Amador Causeway and just minutes away from the domestic Albrook Airport, Casco Viejo, and the Panama Canal you are away from the city noise yet have access to all its services. The Balboa Inn: a great location, personal service, a real breakfast. Simply good value. Why settle for less? ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Balboa Hotel Panama City
The Balboa Inn Panama/Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Balboa Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.