We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Value & Superb Accommodations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Balboa Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Panama City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Balboa Inn
Save Saved
You added The Balboa Inn to your Saves list
Cruces 2311A | Balboa, Ancon, Panama City, Panama   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 67 Panama City B&B and Inns
Ocean View, Delaware
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Real Value & Superb Accommodations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Our three night stay at The Balboa Inn was absolutely a wonderful experience. A pleasant out of the city B&B a short cab ride from Miraflores Locks (Panama Canal) and Parque Metropolitian, and within walking distance to Cerro Anton, Panama Canal Administration buildiing and other attractions. Don't miss a short trip by car or cab to recommended restaurants on Amador Causeway nearby. The indoor / outdoor dining and social areas of this property provide the perfect opportunity to relax and enjoy the local wildlife, a favorite beverage, and fun conversations with innkeepers Bill and Mieke and other guests after a day of activities. Innkeepers Bill and Mieke are extremely knowledgeable of the area and Panama and attentive. Our only dissapointment was having to leave for our next destination.

Room Tip: Chat with innkeepers Bill & Mieke about your specific concerns. You'll find them more than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    212
    106
    16
    7
    5
See reviews for
74
176
39
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

You will be hard pressed to to better than the Balboa Inn for many reasons, however if you need 5 star deluxe, then go find it and pay accordingly elsewhere.

The highly experienced management will do their utmost to ensure your stay both at the Inn, and the country in general goes smoothly, safely and as serenely as can be reasonably expected.

Further note should be made of the fact that there is a high return rate amongst guests, and that prospective new guests booking late must frequently be turned away.
This is not your regular, plain vanilla, corporate accommodation and I understand that many long-lasting friendships have been forged between both staff and guests, and guests with each other.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We arrived late in Panama and Bill and Mieke went out of their way to accommodate us - cleaning up a room that had just been vacated in the evening. Very friendly and very knowledgeable - they shared their knowledge of the city and where to go.
Nice sitting area - indoors and outdoors.... although there seemed to be quite a few smokers staying there!

The inn is in a quiet, safe location and easy to get to the causeway, to the old town, to the locks. to the huge mall.... and the bus station.

The room was clean, comfy, and quiet. Had a good sleep! Could use the internet at no charge.

We enjoyed this city - had visited 40 years earlier....when we went through the canal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Pros

We chose to stay her to be away from the city noise and grime, and it was quite peaceful, and a short distance from the bus station, Amador Causeway, and Cerro Ancon. Meike and Bill were very helpful organising taxis etc. The room was spacious, and bathroom small but worked OK. A/C and fan worked fine.

Cons

The place is slightly shabby, and the taxi drivers don't know where it is, which can be tricky, although it is close to the canal administration building. There is nowhere nice to eat nearby, although you can walk to the restaurants at the end of Amador causeway in about an hour. We did try Nico's which is 5 minutes walk, but found it to be a sort of fast food mall, and no alcohol. Better to get a taxi to the Casco Antiguo - should only be a $2.50 taxi ride, but as soon as they realise you are a foreigner the fare doubles!

There is definite smell of stale smoke about the place, which non-smokers may find unpleasant.

Overall we had a pleasant enough 2 nights here, but compared to everywhere else we stayed I would say $50-$60 would be a fair price to pay. We did expect a bit smarter for $90.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Bill and Mieke have tremendous knowledge about local restaurants, tours and sightseeing, and are terrific hosts and interesting to talk to. They are smokers, and our room was right above the smoking porch, and we like to leave the windows open. They were very accomodating when we mentioned it. The rooms are good and clean, common area is nice, and the yard is nice, including the occasional toucans. Yes, there are neighborhood dogs that bark, but this is Panama, and that's part of the experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Bill and Mieke are terrific hosts. We stayed for three nights with our two small dogs, and will return shortly. We were given great advice regarding restaurants, self-service laundry, etc. The common area is a lovely place to meet other guests, check the computer, and watch the wildlife that is so nicely sustained in the yard. Breakfasts are ample and good. The neighborhood is very nice for walking; very secure. Best of all, they loved our dogs!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed at the Balboa Inn over New Year's. I don't think it deserves the rating of average that I gave it, but I also don't think it deserves a rating of very good. Good is how I would rate it. The directions to meet the driver at the airport were perfect. We arrived at the Inn late, around 11:30, to be met by Bill, who seemed in a hurry to just tell us the basics so he could get back to bed. Hey, I know it was late, but it was his choice to own a bed and breakfast! The Inn is in an upper middle class type neighborhood and is one half of a duplex. The downstairs is spacious, nicely decorated, and opens onto a garden with lots of birds and the occasional agouti (garden is almost an exact duplicate of a Hilo, Hawaii backyard). We had an upstairs room (#5) which was average - nothing great, except the wall paintings were very nice. It overlooked rooftops and the street. I was a bit grossed out by the dead soap with hair on it in the shower. We had no glasses in the room and had to request them. Bed was fine, room basically clean. Towel rack in bathroom fell off the wall. We stayed 3 nights and it seemed as though the room was attended to only once. Room also had 2 nightstands with cool touch lamps, and a closet. The breakfast was also average - 3 cereal choices, eggs and bacon (on request), a few different breads, peanut butter and jam, liquid yogurt, cut up fruit, juices and icky coffee. A dog barked at night which made it difficult to fall asleep. Both Mieke and Bill are smokers and they have part of their outside patio reserved for smokers. Mieke was quite helpful with questions; I found Bill more reserved. Over New Years, restaurants closed early, and Mieke had called around to find out which ones were open, which was very helpful (we had to make reservations at 3 PM!).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Balboa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balboa Inn

Address: Cruces 2311A | Balboa, Ancon, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Balboa Inn is a small Bed & Breakfast at the foot of Panama's main landmark, Ancon Hill (Cerro Ancón) in Balboa. Conveniently located between the downtown area, Amador Causeway and just minutes away from the domestic Albrook Airport, Casco Viejo, and the Panama Canal you are away from the city noise yet have access to all its services. The Balboa Inn: a great location, personal service, a real breakfast. Simply good value. Why settle for less? ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Balboa Hotel Panama City
The Balboa Inn Panama/Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Balboa Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.