We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort and Spa to your Saves list
InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Road to Veracruz km 7 | Arraijan District, Panama City, Panama   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #31 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Kelowna, BC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Charming Retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

For a relaxing stay close to Panama City, this is the right place to be. The staff are exceptionally courteous and helpful. The layout is beautiful with its swimming pools, colorful gardens and views of the ocean. The rooms are every bit clean and comfortable. We intend to stay there again.

Room Tip: With an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IPB Guest R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear vkelowna,
Thanks for chose our hotel and your review. We are glad to know that you had a great stay with us, enjoyed of a nice view, good service, colorful gardens and more. We hope to see you back and have the opportunity to serve you once again.
Greetings from Panama and best regards,
L.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    342
    137
    69
    39
See reviews for
242
379
30
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Idaho
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I did a lot of research before finally choosing the InterContinental Play Bonita for our familys 9 day stay. It was beautifully maintained, the gardens and pools were incredible. It had a nice, relaxed pace. We all enjoyed watching the ships enter the canal from the beach, especially at night with the ships all lit up! This was our first time to Panama, and we had planned lots of day tours. This hotel is quite a drive from most of the activities, but I think it was still worth it. The people at the resort were always helpful when you approached them. We did the all inclusive package, and found that the food was great. I was very impressed with the staff when my 8 year old son got sick, the chef prepared special food for him to help with his tummy! Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IPB Guest R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear ErinIdaho,
Thank you for chose our hotel and we appreciate your comments. It's really nice to know that you and your family enjoyed you stay with us, with an amazing view of the ships, the activities, the food, and more. We hope your son feels better, was our pleasure to assist you.
We hope to see you back in a future.
Greetings from Panama and best regards,
L.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regensburg
Level Contributor
135 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

We have chosen the hotel, because we didn't wanted to stay overnight in downtown or close to the business district. The hotel is a perfect hideaway after shopping or sightseeing tours. The hotel is right after crossing the bridge of the America's, so it's officially on the southern part of the American continent. It's nice and relaxing to watch the ocean and see all the ships lining up to enter the channel. The hotel has a beach but its not that nice. Normally you prefer to swim in the pool. But anyway, the beach is nice for a walk.
It's a great hotel to start day trips or to relax close to the big city.
Food, rooms, service .., everything nice.
The hotel put every night a big screen in the garden for open air cinema. Very nice !
Would choose the hotel again !

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IPB Guest R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear beitgugb,
Thank you for chose our hotel and your recently stay with us. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay , nice view, good service, food and the outdoor cinema. Was our pleasure to serve you , we hope to see you back in the future.
Greetings from Panama!
LM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I have been to this hotel several times.
Here are the pros: General manager is helpful (but not visible), deserts at buffets are awesome, rooms are comfortable. There are kids movies at night.
Here are the cons: Sand fleas on beach are very bad, drinks lack alcohol, managers do NOT help with any issues (you need to ask for general manager for anything to be resolved), it is noisy outside at night due to parties. The child pool was always dirty. The kids club was always even more dirty .The staff does not smile. If you have a stroller, they do not help by opening doors. The staff is not happy. Buffets were average. There are not enough vegetable options at meals. They spray a bug spray over entire property daily- run inside! Dead birds on property from the spray! Sometimes this is a white smoke that engulfs entire property and beach!
Here is some general info: You cannot swim at the beach here (too rocky). The daytime snacks on the pool menu were not in my all-inclusive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IPB Guest R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear hopewellgal,
Thank you for your comments and feedbacks.
Regards,
LM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Our first time in Panama and one of the most AMAZING and RELAXING places we have ever stayed at! The staff goes above and beyond to make you feel welcome. We had and amazing dinner at the Lighthouse Bistro, Luis and Yanina help us have a truly exceptional dining experience. The General Manager is present and visible interacting with the guests. He was very nice, professional and personable. Special thanks to Sancheliano/Pool Bar, Luisa/Executive Club and Sugey/Concierge. Our room beautiful and neat always with excpectacular view. My husband and I had a wonderful time over at the Piano Bar, great music and BEST DIRTY MARTINIES. Congratulations to the hotel administration for running such a good place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IPB Guest R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear CARODRIGU,
Thank you for chose our hotel and share your comments about your recently stay with us. We are glad to know that you had one of the most amazing and relaxing vacations, with good service from our team, food, drinks (specially the dirty martinies) and music. Was our pleasure to serve you and we hope to have the opportunity to do it again.
Once again , thank you for your review and we appreciate it.
We hope to see you soon.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
129 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Very nice resort hotel right on the Pacific Ocean, overlooking the entrance to the Panama Canal. They upgraded us to a very nice suite on a very quiet part of the grounds which was very nice, because the other end of the hotel has weddings and parties. Very nice service, especially at the front desk. Be careful of sand fleas (chitras) which will bite even with deet applied. Beautiful and well manicured gardens and pools. We had concierge priviledges which offered a great breakfast and wonderful happy hour.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IPB Guest R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Cachirulatravels,
Thank you for chose our hotel and share your comments. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, with a very nice service from all our staff, good view from your room and beautiful gardens. Was our pleasure to serve you and we hope to have the opportunity to do it again.
Once again , thank you and we hope to see soon.
Regards,
SLSM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

3 day stay for business in late March 2013. The hotel is very nice, large, clean and somehow modern. Rooms are big with nice views. Beds are very good also. Price/Quality is OK. Gardens are nice and extensive.

BUT:

There is NO useful beach. Remember that the Pacific Ocean in Panama City has a significant tidal variation, and the bottom of it is no soft sand, so the beach is no nice. And all the big ships waiting for their Canal transit are sitting just across the water. That said they have a couple of nice pools, with wet bar and even their own beach volley court.

Location. This hotel is far away from everything. You will spend USD 25 on a cab just to get to Panama City, and you cannot walk anywhere neither.

Internet. SUCKS big time. Very unreliable, slow, and with so many access points per floor that they interfere with each other.

Food. What a disappointing experience. Both outside restaurants and inside bars were not good. Food was not the memory I will take home from this hotel.

Noise. Beware of huge transformers sitting 5 yards from the room doors on the ground floor. Look for a room on a higher floor.

AC Adaptors. I forgot mine and I couldn't get one here neither.

Room Tip: Beware of huge transformers sitting 5 yards from the room doors on the ground floor. Look for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IPB Guest R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear RoamingSouth,
Thank you for chose our hotel, we appreciate you took the time to share your experienced about your recently stay with us. It´s nice to know that you enjoyed a nice , large and clean room, with a good view., but at the same time we will like to apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced. We are taking notes about each item that you mentioned so we can improve our service and be betters. Thank you for all your feedbacks.
Greetings from Panama,
SLSM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panama City
2.6 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
#20 of 114 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,285 reviews
7.4 mi away
Trump Ocean Club International Hotel & Tower Panama
7.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
#19 of 114 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
17.1 mi away
Riande Aeropuerto
Riande Aeropuerto
#26 of 114 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 stars 745 reviews
6.7 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Waldorf Astoria Panama
#16 of 114 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 stars 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort and Spa

Address: Road to Veracruz km 7 | Arraijan District, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#12 Romantic Hotel in Panama City
#19 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything you need is here at this luxury hotel in Playa Bonita Panama, from golden sands to jungle walkways, infinity pools to 10,000 square metres of tranquil spa. Feel transported in tropical resort seclusion just minutes from Panama City and the wonders of the Panama Canal. Explore the colonial and shopping districts, Punta Bruja Nature Reserve or simply watch the ocean from spacious suites or the Lighthouse restaurant at this luxury resort hotel in Panama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Playa Bonita Hotel Panama City
Intercontinental Panama City
InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort And Spa Panama/Panama City
Playa Bonita Panama

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.