We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop the spraying!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort and Spa to your Saves list
InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Road to Veracruz km 7 | Arraijan District, Panama City, Panama   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #31 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Stop the spraying!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel twice. My only issue is that they spray for bugs at about 4PM everyday. The stuff they use I believe is very toxic. It caused me have an asthma attack. Hotel staff did not care when I told them. They spray by the hotel, all around it and then on some of the grouds. The spray travels like a white fog across the property to the sea. I was running with my two kids away from the smoke. I ran onto the beach and then had to run down the beach to get out of it's path. Other guests said that it bothered them to and what they were using is banned in the USA. I even put wet towels under my hotel room doors and the smell still got in.
Other that that, the food buffet's were so-so. And the service was hit and miss depending on who you got. Rooms were very nice.
BTW- no one swims in the ocean there- just FYI- the staf say it is not safe. Not sure why. I think I will try the westin next time.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    341
    137
    69
    39
See reviews for
242
378
30
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

First, I would like to say thank you for the people who wrote in a review of the Westin next store when it opened. I was supposed to stay there and changed at the last minute to this hotel. I do not regret my decision as the Westin was apparently not ready to open. I have to say the hotel and pool area at the Westin is gorgeous and will definitely give the Inercontinental a run for its money when it is fully functional. This was my first time to Panama. The service is very good at this hotel. The concierge -2 people who were there most of the time Mrs.Sugey Sousa and Mr.. Everardo Montenego were amazing and very hospitable and helped me out the entire time during my stay with a great tour to San Blas Islands. Also did the Panma City tour and canal tour but with decameron explorer. Victoria our tour guide was great!.
I was there with my family including my daughter who is 11 years old. Having been to many all inclusives, Club med's, riu's and melia. This is different. food and drinks are included but not the mini bar. Do not expect any shows or animation. The hotel does a nice job of providing entertainment in the lobby bar and on a couple of nights a band outside for dancing. The food was execellent. Not a an abundance of variety at the buffet but the quality was very good and everything was fresh. Salads, meats, fish etc were always served for lunch and dinner. My only complaint is that they are slow at refilling. The snack bar is limited to hot dogs and pizza and tortilla chips. Came in handy on arrival when lunch was over and the day i left for a quick lunch. Only tried the Lighthouse restaurant for dinner (a la carte) and for an all inclusive hotel found the quality of the food and service amazing. We were able to eat there twice because the 1st night they were overbooked and the service was not very good. They were very nice and gave us a second coupon. i did not try the plantation resto for dinner as the menu for the all inclusive people was not appealing to us..i like the location of this hotel as you could get into panama City within 15 minutes without traffic and do other tours where the travelling time was reasonable.
If you decide to go to Panama City on your own- there are a few options- taxi from the hotel- most expensive- taxi outside the gate of the hotel- less expensive and a minibus outside of the hotel for a dollar a person but it drops you off in a very poor section of Panama and where you have to be careful but very close to Casco Vajeo where there are nice boutiques and resto's and bars.
We enjoyed out vacation at this hotel. The pool area is very nice.. comfortable chairs- and very good service from the bar. NB: The beach is small. If you are a beach person then this place is not for you. One item to note is that if you do not like bugs and more specifically sand flies- then this place might not be for you. You are in the forest in this area and the sand flies are ravenous at dusk. The hotel sprays every evening and provides an 'off "like product in your room to rub on. if you go -use it! Enjoy your trip to Panama. The people are warm and friendly and the country during the last 5 years is booming with construction.
Lastly, took a taxi upon my return to the airport rather than the bus with Air transat. Imagime a 3:10 pm flight and the bus was leaving our hotel at 10:30 am. i was told because of traffic. nonsense-it took 30 minutes to get there by taxi- Checked out of the hotel at !2:15 pm and was at the airport and 12:45 to check in 2 hours before my flight. i was happy to spend more time at the resort than in the airport. Air transat should look at this and change their schedule.
. .
.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean. Higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldsmar, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

You can stay here for 390/nt with just a lounge room breakfast or walk 2 minutes on the beach to a new Westin next door for $305/nt which included all buffet meals. (Also, the InterContinental in the City is $220/nt vs.Trump Ocean Club in the city for $175/nt. A cab ride between the two should cost you about $2 or $3)

For what you get, the price is too high. The rooms at both InterContinental hotels are good and the hotel at the beach reminds me of a typical $150 to $200 max. place overall, NOT nearly $400 by any stretch at this time. It seems due for a make-over.

The tropical fruit on the buffet was of poor quality and taste. There is a slight mildew smell in the room corridors. We moved next door to the Westin after just one night and never bothered to try the pools or anything else at IC. Even though it is not complete, the Westin just felt better and smelled better, plus the decor is quite an upgrade.

Staff here was friendly and helpful. The balcony view and seeing the ships lining up for canal transit interesting. For us, it's 98% about the price for what you get on this one. If it were $200/nt we would have stayed our full 3 nights as originally planned.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, DE
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed at the Intercontinental Panama in November for a week. We ate at the buffet restaurant each evening. Each meal was of gourmet status. I have never experienced such fantastic food at any other resort. The rooms were spotless as was the entire hotel. There were several pools, one for adults only which was a quiet pool and another pool for families.

The only thing that I would have done differently was not to rent a car. Driving in Panama was a challenge. I have driven in countries all over the world but there was such a lack of signs that I felt that only the locals knew which roads to take. Taxis were plentiful from the hotel and a much better way to get from spot to spot.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Check in.Fast As we entered the lobby we felt under dressed.Service was exceptional,even served drinks on the beach and in the pool,not just the swim up bar .Food ,High Quality.Room,Very clean and up to date.This is a relaxing resort(If you are there to party hard go somewhere else)The only negitive are the sand fleas,so bring bug repellant with deet

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

a little more costly than some...but flight direct from Calgary, Alb. Canada....food the best...service the best...spa amazing, very reasonable...on the canal across the bridge in Panama city towardplaya pacifica. for us the best all around experience for travel.

Room Tip: rooms central...all beachfront 1bedrm. suites...near the elevator and the main floor better access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

I realize this is not a westernized hotel but it is priced that way. Service and hotel are nice but not for nearly $300/night. Relatively speaking, trump hotel is <$200/night. Beach water is brown, sand is rocky to the point you are hardly able to swim in it. It is $50 taxi from airport, FYI if you are looking for something remote, then this is up your alley. I believe 2-3 restaurants on site and the pelican grill is overpriced for barely average food. Hate to complain but I am literally on hold at the moment trying to cancel remainder of reservation.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHGCare at InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Dear Phamjaq,

I would like to thank you for your review and apologize that your experience with our hotel did not meet your expectations. I greatly appreciate you calling out the good quality of our service. Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG.

Regards,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panama City
2.6 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
#20 of 114 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,284 reviews
7.4 mi away
Trump Ocean Club International Hotel & Tower Panama
7.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
#19 of 114 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
17.1 mi away
Riande Aeropuerto
Riande Aeropuerto
#26 of 114 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 stars 745 reviews
6.7 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Waldorf Astoria Panama
#16 of 114 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 stars 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort and Spa

Address: Road to Veracruz km 7 | Arraijan District, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#12 Romantic Hotel in Panama City
#19 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything you need is here at this luxury hotel in Playa Bonita Panama, from golden sands to jungle walkways, infinity pools to 10,000 square metres of tranquil spa. Feel transported in tropical resort seclusion just minutes from Panama City and the wonders of the Panama Canal. Explore the colonial and shopping districts, Punta Bruja Nature Reserve or simply watch the ocean from spacious suites or the Lighthouse restaurant at this luxury resort hotel in Panama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Playa Bonita Hotel Panama City
Intercontinental Panama City
InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort And Spa Panama/Panama City
Playa Bonita Panama

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.