We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally Located Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marparaiso

Save Saved
You added Hotel Marparaiso to your Saves list
Hotel Marparaiso
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Marparaiso
Av Cuba y 34 este, Panama City, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 107 Hotels in Panama City
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Centrally Located Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Hotel offer free pick up from international Tocumen airport a $30-40 value. The hotel gets easily filled up so reservation early is a must, the price is very reasonable and straight forward for a basic hotel. Room are clean and spacious (double room at the back near elevator BUT lacks the view). A/C are in good working condition (old a/c at the back room near elevator but good working condition). Breakfast meal are small so my advise bring your own bread and that will suffice. Front desk staff speak little english so your little spanish goes a long way, the morning staff are much helpful and nice than the evening staff - do you inquiry by daytime staff. Wi-fi service get turned off from time to time there are days that its on and there are days that its off, when its off you just have to go to the front desk area and do your connection there (inconvenient). I stayed here for 4 days at the beginning of my trip and another 4 days at the end of my trip.

Room Tip: Ask the top floor 5 & 6 floor facing the ocean view room - spectacular view of the ocean and sky...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    16
    26
    10
    14
See reviews for
13
26
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Hotel has been renovated & well maintain that means all amenities are working properly. Cleanliness I would give it a 3 as I saw a half an inch cockroach in the toilet the very first night I check in. There's also a small ants coming out in the toilet door in the morning. Another thing is the noise level where I hear people chatting in the hallway and sometimes their footsteps in spite of my door is close. Maybe it lack insulation or simply the wood is thin, you be the judge. Other than that the room is spacious and location is near the park with stunning view of the city, sunset and pacific ocean. It's just walking distance and nearby to the hospital. This location is safe with street vendor crowding all over the street selling local foods & Mc Donald is the only fastfood that open late at night. Other than that most of their restaurant closes at 6PM and likewise with their supermarket. Buy your grocery & supply early in the day as the hotel is located in the business area. By the way they pick you up in the airport for free (a saving of $40). There's also a free continental breakfast for each guest.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zandvoort, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights after a long flight from the Netherlands. It's a clean simple hotel with just everything you need. We had a free pickup from the airport and a kingsize bed room. In the room is a small fridge, TV and a good AC. The Breakfast which was included was ok but a bit poor...
To go into town is easy .. there are just so many taxi's stopping in front of the hotel!
It's a good hotel to stay a night or two, after or before you have to travel on!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Definitely worth the price! My friend and I each paid $20/night to stay in a room with 2 double beds, good view, very clean, good wifi connection. We stayed 2 nights and got a free airport pickup. Nice TV and AC in the room. There was a fridge but it was broken. The breakfast was lame, but I didn't expect much anyway. The staff was moderately helpful and the location was ok. I would highly recommend to anyone on a budget.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Rooms are clean with AC and a fridge. There is secure parking on site. Continental Breakfast is included in the rates and comes with some really good Cafe Americanos

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margarita Island, Venezuela
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

I spent 3 nights at $36 and was pleased with the service. I had been approached at the bus terminal and was given a free ride to the hotel. Breakfast was included, rolls, jam and fresh pineapple juice and coffee. Computer was $1 per hour and it saved any extra time for a return visit. It is clean and quiet, located near hospitals and medical and dental facilities. A fridge was in the room but I had to request a bedside lamp that was promptly brought. AC and Cable TV, several channels in English. I booked a fantastic tour on a trolley-like air-conditioned bus. The guide spoke English and Spanish. For $30 we spent 4 hours out at the Canal. the fish market, the duty-free shops at the causeway, and the old town, very reminiscent of Cartegena, Colombia, and to the vendors plaza where hats, molas and baskets made by the Kuna Indians could be bought. One is not allowed guests in your room. Hot and cold water in the bathroom. I would recommend this hotel and staff to anyone on a budget. For $10 I was delivered to the airport when I left.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbleton, Quebec
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

The best reason to stay in this hotel is the location. But for the rest, not so good at all! To start with, we asked to see the room beforehand, our request was met with some rudeness and we had just a few seconds to inspect it! Breakfeast was poor with very dry bread and tastless coffee. We had a problem with the A/C unit, so they had to change us to another room; the annoying point about this is that the technician who came to the room told us that the A/C unit was not in order to function for some weeks before we occupied the room! Personnel was not friendly, no smiling faces here...The rooms were very basic but clean enough.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Marparaiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marparaiso

Address: Av Cuba y 34 este, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 107 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Marparaiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marparaiso Hotel Panama City
Hotel Marparaiso Panama/Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Marparaiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.