We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, clean, but tough to find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Panama Centro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Garden Panama Centro to your Saves list
Wyndham Garden Panama Centro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle D El Cangrejo, Panama City 01662 , Panama   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #76 of 111 Hotels in Panama City
Providence, RI
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Good location, clean, but tough to find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

You will never find this place (nor any place) in Panama City with a rental car from the airport, as there are few street signs. Take a cab. But, once here, it's a fairly good location. Rate is good. You can walk to Panamanian restaurants, and it is safe. The queen beds were quite comfortable (and seemed oversized), and the bathroom had VERY nicely remodeled tile. You can tell it was done recently. The second room, of what they call their one room suite, was basic and needs better furniture. The carpet in both rooms should be replaced or steam cleaned at a minimum. Breakfast was decent-- one bowl of fruit (different each morning) with two cereal choices, breads, and coffee and juice. One day of the three there was yogurt, and one day there was french toast. All in all, I do recommend.

Room Tip: Room 101 was good. It overlooked the street, but we heard barely a peep. Windows are strong and so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    35
    14
    7
    12
See reviews for
15
26
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

It was clean,nice, modest, there was a problem with our room where it wasn't the one we booked but they placed us in an O.K room but after all of that we did enjoyed the privacy the hotels has.the breakfast was average but O.K. ,transportation was near by and some sites,restaurant and casino as well.
I would consider booking again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Came to the place, at first the price was changed during 1 hour, VAT was not included, price came up for that 15 dollars per night, the room was small, not appartment, no kitchenett where you can cook, no dishes, gym was advertísed, didn't exist. Sales executive was not interested in clients, sat on the phone all the time, we had to wait a long time until we got attention.
Big disappointment, we couldn't cancel our booking, the staff ignored our wish.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

I stayed one night at the Wyndham Panama Centro. It was a good location, not far from one of my favorite restaurants and close to shopping, entertainment etc. The hotel looks like a conversion from small apartments or something. My room had a bedroom and separate kitchen and living area. It was quite spacious, but the lighting was poor (dim) and the old window unit-type air conditioners were noisy and dirty.

The parking area was small but adequate.

The staff were pleasant and very accommodating, but I don't think I would stay here again due to the dingy feeling of the room and ancient air conditioners.

Room Tip: Ask to see your room first. Check out the noise level of the air conditioner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, MN
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Hallways were dangerous because marble tiles were in stacks waiting to be installed and there were areas in the floor with missing tiles.
The two rooms we were shown had no carpeting just black fabric which may have been padding for a future carpet.
Hotel has a dark neglected look.
The staff was very understanding and made arrangements to another Wyndham Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Apart from the dank rooms, awful lighting and questionable stains on the carpeting and furnishings, the most disappointing part of our stay here was the staff. Need extra towels? They'll agree to get you some, but whether you ever see them isn't guaranteed. Need a cab? "There are usually some that pull up outside if you wait." My husband and I have traveled quite a bit to all corners of the world, and we've never stayed at a hotel that is as disinterested in hospitality as this one. I mean, at least they can pretend to like the industry they're in, right? No restaurant recommendations, not even a "thanks for staying with us" upon checkout. This certainly isn't a reflection of Panamanians that we had come across, as we found everyone outside of the hotel welcoming and friendly. There are other options in the city center that are just as affordable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista Alegre
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The hotel has been remodeled, but has some dark rooms since it is sandwiched between two buildings on a side street. Most rooms look out on narrow alleys with a building across the way. The price could be ok for some for the value. We had a suite, but the first room was very dark and gloomy with dirty carpet. I saw a nice bright room at the end of the hall that housekeeping was finishing up cleaning. Called front desk to change, but it was booked. Our TV didn't work very well so asked if there was another room we could move to. Did accommodate us, not as dark and claustrophobic as the first one and the kitchenette area was more open with a bar counter and 2 bar stool seating. Hot water was an issue. Not always available not matter how long you let the water run. Included breakfast was typical motel style. Lobby is small. We were able to pull in off street to their parking area so didn't need to do valet. Best feature was the 6th floor open area outside pool. Pool is small, but area was clean and comfortable. We were there on New Years Eve so the fireworks over Panama City was quite a showed.

Room Tip: There is a mix of suites and single rooms. Pricing probably dictates which room you get. There cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Garden Panama Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Panama Centro

Address: Calle D El Cangrejo, Panama City 01662 , Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 111 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Panama Centro 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Garden Panama Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Garden Panama Centro Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Garden Panama Centro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.