We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so interesting...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miraflores Locks Visitor Center

Miraflores Locks Visitor Center
Canalside, Panama City, Panama
(507) 276-8325
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$100*
and up
Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores...
Ranked #3 of 59 Attractions in Panama City
Type: Tourist/ Visitor Centers, Other
Attraction details
Hamilton TX
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“so interesting...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

loved watching the ships come through the locks and walking around the visitor center. it's a super nice place to visit and such an interesting part of history.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,377
    772
    226
    35
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Excellent way to see the canal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Reasonable and museum is excellent. For return taxi or bus to city, walk out to the main highway from the museum. It is much cheaper.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not super exciting but still a must do”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I don't have a lot to say about this one because I can't imagine anyone going to Panama and not making a stop at the Panama Canal. While it wasn’t the most exciting tourist attraction I’ve ever seen, it was fun and worthwhile and something you should definitely do if you make it to Panama City.

If you have a rental car you can just drive yourself there (it's out by the City of Knowledge). If not, you can get there by public bus (I’m not sure which bus, I just saw the bus stop), the Hop-on-Hop-off bus, or in a taxi.

It was unclear what the prices are because each sign I saw showed different prices and when we actually purchased our tickets the total price didn’t match any of the signs. My friend and I paid a total of $5 for one Panamanian and one foreigner entry to the observation deck only (you can also purchase to visit the observation deck plus the museum where you can see a movie about the Canal's history and construction).

If you get lucky and are there while a ship is passing through it's cool to see how the whole process works with the little tug engines on the sides of the canal, the change in water levels, and the opening of the various gates.

Very enjoyable and only takes a couple of hours - that long only if there is a ship passing through and you wait to watch the process.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Impressive!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Start the tour with a short movie about the history and basic Information on Panama and its canal, than enjoy the great view on the impressive locks with ships being handled all day and in the end, have a walk through the Museum with a lot of models, images and figures about one of the most gigantic construtions. definitely worth those 8 bugs.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Excellent views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We went at 9am and the ships were lined up to go thru the locks.
We saw the video and went through the visitor centre. It is excellent and worth the costing to get into. You can spend over 1hour just looking around.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miraflores Locks Visitor Center also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Miraflores Locks Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miraflores Locks Visitor Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.