We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miraflores Locks Museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miraflores Locks Visitor Center

Miraflores Locks Visitor Center
Canalside, Panama City, Panama
(507) 276-8325
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Miraflores Locks Visitor Center like an insider
Top Rated
$145*
and up
Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise
Pearce, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Miraflores Locks Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This is a wonderful museum. You will learn the fascinating story of the building of the canal in a short time. The displays are excellent.
I thought the museum was more interesting then the actual transit of the canal we did.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,028 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,674
    1,004
    291
    46
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Very interesting - one of the worlds marvels.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Very interesting. The big let down was there were no ships going through during our 2 hour visit. It seems its not as busy as it was. If you have the opportunity to time your visit I would enquire about the schedule (good luck).
Don't waste time and money on their audio visual presentation - its not at all informative.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Favorite Part!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My friends and I did the cheaper ticket, $5, and got to see 5 ships in an hour. If I ever have the chance to go back, I'd like to spend more time there, checking out the museum, etc., but it's really all about watching the canal and the boats going through the locks. Amazing!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siletz, Oregon, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great view of locks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

There is a guide that talks continuously but many places where you could stand and see ships going through locks you couldn't hear/understand the guide. He was knowledgeable and fun - you could locate him and ask questions - but hard to listen to from some spots. Great view of the ships passing in and out - 40 a day and each day we went we saw several...

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

You can't help but be impressed by the sheer scale of the canal and this lock. The museum and exhibits are well put together (the film is a bit dopy). You gotta see this if you are in Panama.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miraflores Locks Visitor Center also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Miraflores Locks Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miraflores Locks Visitor Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.