We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent steakhouse” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Onza Steakhouse

Onza Steakhouse
Calle 53 &Ricardo Arango, Obarrio, Panama City, Panama
399-0222
Improve this listing
Ranked #176 of 530 Restaurants in Panama City
Cuisines: American, Sushi, Steakhouse, International
Restaurant details
Boquete, Panama
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent steakhouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

This very nice restaurant had some of the best steaks my husband and I have had in a long time. The problems that some earlier reviewers referred to seem to have been rectified, as the service was excellent and very attentive. Everything we had was well prepared and was brought out within a reasonable time. The meal was quite enjoyable.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    12
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eustis, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Decent Food Slow Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Being from the United States, I guess I am used to fairly speedy service so it was a little slow to me. The steak was pretty good, but tasted like cigarette smoke a little bit. My husband had some chicken and while ok tasting also tasted of cigarette smoke. It was very costly and they add the tip on. We were happy to hear we got a 10% discount from staying at the Holiday Inn Express. The wait staff were very friendly and the steak was cooked to order. Overall decent food, not worth the high prices.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Expensive for what you get”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We were prepared to pay a bit more for a good steak but we were not prepared for the price to get the USDA cuts. Cost was a la carte for this. We had to wait a while just to get the bread basket. The bread assortment was interesting. The bread balls were undercooked in the center. We ordered one NY ($30.00) with blue cheese (the sauce comes as a cold ball that heats up on your meat), a garden salad ~6.00 and loaded potato ~$5.00 and another USDA cut ($23.00) with a good pepper sauce and 4 grilled asparagus ~$6.00. The cost with water and one soda~3.00 was around 77.00. The tip was included at 10%.
The chef cooked the meat as we ordered. The flavor was good. The New York was more tender.
The table was wobbly so cutting meat made the drinks slosh a bit.
No, we would not return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquete, Panama
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Tops”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

In every way, this steakhouse compares to Ruth's Chris, our favorite chain of purveyors of prime beef. The aged filets, medium rare came on sizzling hot plates with good sauces (bearnaise and chimichurri) and prepared as ordered. The service was prompt, friendly, and attentive throughout, the wine list up to standard, and the bar drinks stiff, the way we like them. The chef checked with our table twice, to make sure we were getting what we thought we ordered.
We had some trepidation as previous reviewers had disappointing experiences, but the enthusiasm of the concierge at the Marriott persuaded us to give it a chance. We'll be back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Don't Go Here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

The place is attractive and the serviceand drinks are good,
But The Kitchen is Terrible. Food over cooked even after sending it back.
The wrong entree brought and not changed with attitude from the kitchen.
Never goong back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Onza Steakhouse also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Onza Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Onza Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.