We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected - booked two times in one trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Centroamericano Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Centroamericano Hotel to your Saves list
Centroamericano Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave. Ecuador 4-24 Esq. Justo Arosemena | La Exposición, Panama City 16-03993, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 112 Hotels in Panama City
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Better than expected - booked two times in one trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

The staff was very helpful. A few went out of their way to make sure our first visit to Panama was great. The room was clean, exactly as marketed, shower was hot, and the a/c cool. The included light breakfast next door was also good. Good wifi.

Room Tip: We stayed in 510 and 509 on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcpanama, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Centroamericano Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Hello, we are so glad to read this review, we are thrilled that you had a pleasant stay during your time in Panama, always try our best to give you the best service and we really appreciate that our guests value all our efforts.
We hope you come back soon, we will be happy to receive you again.
You can follow us on our Facebook page, (Hotel Centroamericano, in the search bar).
Thank you very much and regards!
Andrea Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    81
    53
    14
    15
See reviews for
36
61
29
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

The staff at this hotel are great! At our arrival we were greeted with smiles and attempts to clearly communicate in English. The staff were very helpful with giving directions for navigating the city and were always friendly. Good wifi. Good laundry facilities. Good breakfast (even though no coffee before rest. opened.) Small rooms, but clean. Not the greatest of areas, but taxis were fairly easy to catch. Has an elevator, but not handicap friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcpanama, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Centroamericano Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Hello, we are very thankful for your review and for all the positive comments you write, we're glad you had a good stay at the Hotel, we are very proud of our staff when they receive recognition from guests, and they also greatly appreciate your comments, and encourage them to continue doing a good job.
We hope you come back soon, we will be happy to receive you again.
You can follow us on our Facebook page, (Hotel Centroamericano, in the search bar).
Thank you very much and regards!
Andrea Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

PROS:

Very reasonable price, which includes breakfast. Breakfast menu had several options to choose from, and were delicious, especially the liver!!! Clean hotel/room (was told that the hotel was remodeled around 5 years ago or so). Great location, in my opinion. Available room safe. Hot water always. Several regular computers for guests to use. One washer/dryer, which we did use.

CONS:

If you are looking for a gym or pool, there is none here. This is a very small hotel. Also, it is a shame that there are no small fridges in the room; we needed one for a medication. The staff did provide us a foam ice chest, which we did have to empty and refill with ice on a daily basis. Room plugs are tucked away, and in inconvenient locations. Absolutely nooooo counter space in bathroom; we ended up using the top of the toilet tank for this. Night manager not friendly at all. Room is very small, although it was manageable. No trash can for room, only a small one in bathroom.

**But, all in all, an overall positive experience here, which I would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcpanama, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Centroamericano Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Hello, we are very thankful for your review and for all the positive comments you write, we're glad you had a good stay at the Hotel. We try to consider all your contributions and criticism to improve day by day, we are a small and familiar hotel but we try our best to give you the best service at the best price possible, we really appreciate that you value all our efforts.
We do not count with gym or pool, we would like so, but for now we didn't have that possibility, so sorry!.
Also, im sorry you find some inconveniences, we will take care of this situations to make your stay even better the next time.
We hope you come back soon, we will be happy to receive you again.
You can follow us on our Facebook page, (Hotel Centroamericano, in the search bar).
Thank you very much and regards!
Andrea Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

This is a basic hotel at an excellent price. Very clean. No frills. The breakfast is basic and good enough (coffee, fruit, a juice--not so fresh--, eggs or pancakes) and served in the hotel cafe which has cheap dishes and great fruit juices. The airconditioner and the water pressure gave us some trouble but the management was attentive. The TV has a good selection of channels, but mostly in Spanish. The nearby neighbourhood might look a bit rough but it is OK. It is good to visit the Casco Viejo (the old city centre), which is a good 20-25 minute walk. For the rest, try the newest metro in the Americas (it opened this April 2014). There are two metro stations nearby the hotel. The one that is now open is Santo Tomas metro station, and is on Calle 38 (the hotel is on Calle 34). You can ride to the end of the line to Albrook, where there is a huge shopping mall, and where you find the bus terminal for the rest of Panama and Central America. The domestic airport is also in Albrook.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcpanama, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Centroamericano Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Hello, thank you very much for writing and for all the wonderful comments you mentioned, we're glad you had a good experience at the hotel and that you were able to enjoy the opening of the Panama Metro, which as you mentioned it is conveniently close to us.
We hope you come back soon, we will be happy to receive you again.
You can follow us on our Facebook page, (Hotel Centroamericano, in the search bar).
Thank you very much and regards!
Andrea Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We were looking for a place to stay for one night on our way through Panama City. The hotel was clean, friendly service, hot water, and comfortable beds. The hotel was conveniently located near Albrook airport. The neighborhood was quiet, and also a quick cab away from Casco Viejo. Overall, a decent stay & a great value for one night but not for multiple nights.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcpanama, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Centroamericano Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Hello, thank you very much for your review, we're glad you had a good stay, we are a small and familiar hotel but we try our best to give you the best service at the best price possible, we really appreciate that you value all our efforts.
We are very proud of our staff when they receive recognition from customers, and they also greatly appreciate your comments, and encourage them to continue doing a good job.
We hope you enjoyed your stay in Panama, and come back soon we will be happy to receive you again.
You can follow us on our Facebook page, (Hotel Centroamericano, in the search).
Thank you very much and regards!
Andrea Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We wanted to splurge and get a decent room for our time in Panama City. We were extremely surprised and happy to see the room actually looked like the pictures on their website. The staff are friendly and helpful and breakfast was quite nice. It seems like they actually do listen to feedback as problems Previously commented on have been resolved, such as bathmats in the shower and clean shower stalls.

The only recommendation would be to get thicker/darker curtains as the room gets quite bright from sunrise and spoils a good sleep in.

This was a splurge for us so we didn't mind the cost, however it could be a bit expensive if on a budget.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcpanama, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Centroamericano Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Hello, we are very thankful for your review and for all the positive comments you write, we're glad you had a good stay at the Hotel.
We try to consider all your contributions and criticism to improve day by day, so we appreciate that our customers recognize our work and leave satisfied and looking forward to return.
Thank you very much for the suggestion of the curtains, we have the idea of changing them soon for this very reason, anyway we regret that you could not enjoy a good morning dream.
We hope you come back soon, we will be happy to receive you again.
You can follow us on our Facebook page, (Hotel Centroamericano, in the search bar).
Thank you very much and regards!
Andrea Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I realy like the location of the place,just a walk for the drive .Restaurant was good ,
I loved interacting with staff as they dont understand english and we did not know spanish..but still it was fun to communicate as the people and staff was very good.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcpanama, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Centroamericano Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Hi, thanks for your positive comments, we are very pleased that you had a good stay during your time in our hotel, we try to provide the best service to our guests and appreciate to be valued.

We are glad that you like the food in our restaurant and that you enjoyed the attention received by our staff, the language barrier is something that we are gradually working, but that's no excuse to provide a good service anyway, we'll congratulate them for the good work.
We hope you return soon, we will be happy to receive you.
If you want you can follow us on our facebook page, (Hotel Centroamericano, in the search box)
Greetings!
Andrea Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Centroamericano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centroamericano Hotel

Address: Ave. Ecuador 4-24 Esq. Justo Arosemena | La Exposición, Panama City 16-03993, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Centroamericano Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On business or leisure trip, here you will find a warm atmosphere, with all the facilities you need, also has the best location just minutes from the most important commercial areas of Panama, with easy transportation 24 hours. We are a Pet Friendly hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Centroamericano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centroamericano Hotel Panama City
Centroamericano Hotel Panama/Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centroamericano Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.