We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Centroamericano Hotel

Save Saved
You added Centroamericano Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Centroamericano Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave. Ecuador 4-24 Esq. Justo Arosemena | La Exposición, Panama City 830648, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 108 hotels in Panama City
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Really clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Clean rooms, ac, hot shower,nice staff. What more could I want? Hotel restaurant wasn't the greatest, but other than that, all was good.

I'm supposed to write more, but that's all I had. And this still isn't enough. Sometimes tripadvisor is really annoying in their requirements.

Room Tip: Not sure. I wasn't there long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcpanama, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Centroamericano Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Hi, thanks for your comments, We are glad that you have been pleased with what we offer, we are a small family run hotel, but we give special attention to these details.
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write, you maybe not give it importance, but you do us a great favor, both to recognize our job or to help us improve, so we appreciate all your troubles.
We hope to return soon, we will be happy to receive.
If you want you can follow us on our facebook page, (Hotel Centroameicano, in the search box) or in our instagram (hotelcentroamericano).
Greetings!
Andrea Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    62
    40
    11
    11
See reviews for
24
49
26
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We moved here for one night after getting virtually no sleep at the much higher priced Casa Nuratti. It was very basic, but it was clean, pretty spacious, and had a fridge. The room we were in was also very quiet. A cooked breakfast was included. Absolutely no complaints.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcpanama, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Centroamericano Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Hi, thanks for your comments, we are very pleased that you had a good stay during your time in our hotel, we try to provide the best service to our guests and appreciate to be valued.
We hope to return soon, we will be happy to receive.
If you want you can follow us on our facebook page, (Hotel Centroameicano, in the search box)
Greetings!
Andrea Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GT
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I totally recommend this mid budget hotel for pets and people. the concierge was very friendly, and was not phased when i had not booked my dog (a Hungarian Viszla, so quite large) in advance. Though I do recommend giving them a heads up. There is a park very close by 200yds, where you can walk your dog. Not recommended at night time though.
I also recommend the Garlic Clams in the restaurant next door, for $5.50 they are a bargain. Friendly staff and good service, the red wine was not bad either. All in all a good place to hang after a stressful plane journey from Grand Cayman to Panama, via Miami with your pets.

Room Tip: Small rooms, but clean. Pet friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcpanama, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Centroamericano Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for this amazing review, like i said many times, we are dog lovers, so we are pleased to receive our 4 leg friends always, anyway we do recommend to give notice first, basically for the guest comfort, because the sizes of the rooms change, and if you bring a dog, we try to give you a larger room.
It is very important to us that our customers recognize our work and be satisfied, so we hope you enjoyed your stay in Panama, and come back soon we will be happy to receive you and your dog again.
You can follow us on our Facebook page, (HotelCentroamericano, in the search).
Thank you very much and regards!
Andrea Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Hotel is at good location, offers good breakfast, very friendly staff, nice & clean rooms. I did not need Hot water bcoz of Panama weather so it was fine for me. AC works well.

Swimming Pool is not there, this is the only thing which i missed.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcpanama, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Centroamericano Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Hello, thank you for your review and the positive comments you write, we're glad you had a good stay at the Hotel, we strive to provide the best service possible, and is very important to us that our customers recognize the work and be satisfied.
We do not count with pool, we would like so, but for now we didn't have that possibility, so sorry!
We hope you come back soon, we will be happy to receive you again.
You can follow us on our Facebook page, (Hotel Centroamericano, in the search bar).
Thank you very much and regards!
Andrea Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

A simple, clean place to stay with great service. The desk clerk went out of her way to notice and correct a difference in my reservation and what I was charged upon arrival, saving me 5 bucks. The included breakfast was good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcpanama, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Centroamericano Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Hello, thank you very much for writing us, we are very happy that you had a pleasant stay during your time in Panama, we are very proud of our staff when they receive recognition from customers, and they also greatly appreciate your comments, and encourage them to continue doing a good job.
We're glad you enjoyed your breakfast at Cafe San Andrés.
Hope you come back soon, we will be happy to receive you again.
You can follow us on our Facebook page, (HotelCentroamericano, in the search bar).
Thank you very much and regards!
Andrea Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minot, North Dakota
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

First, the good: the air conditioning works well; the hotel is close to the ocean and some restaurants and attractions; the restaurant that is connected to the hotel is awesome -- good food, good prices, very friendly people working; the price for the room is good if you are on a budget.

Now the not-so-good: there is no hot water by design (be ready for cold showers); some of the front desk workers are friendly, some are not (the front desk man who works over night/early morning was very rude); the shower needs to be thoroughly cleaned of mildew, soap, and mold; the front-desk can do very little for you (I asked for change for my money, no. I asked for soap or quarters to do laundry, no.); there are not simple things like an iron available; walls in room are dirty and scuffed; bathroom floor needed to be sweeped and mopped; the neighborhood is iffy (was propositioned twice by prostitutes on the close-by streets).

This seemed like a good place for me to stay as I want to stay at some place that is local and offers some local flavor. I was very wrong. I felt like the front desk was worthless at everything except taking my money, and that they didn't want to be bothered with questions or helping me.

This was a disappointing experience except for the excellent attached restaurant. That was a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcpanama, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Centroamericano Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Hello, thank you very much for writing, we appreciate the positive comments you mention, and we are sorry that you found some inconveniences that made your stay a bad experience, we are a small family hotel and we really strive to provide the Best Service at the Best Price Possible.
We're very glad that you liked the Café San Andrés so much, and enjoyed the delicious food.
We do count with hot water, but being a single tank which should fill the entire hotel takes a while to heat the water, but I can assure you we have heaters running all the time.
I am sorry you had a bad experience with the night clerk, thank you very much for letting us know, we always try that our staff provide the best service possible and help all our guests, but we can not always control it, in any case we will take action in the matter, but for the rest of the front desk that you mention that never helped you and gave you pure negatives, sometimes some receptionists who do not master the English language prefer to answer with yes or no, to make themselves understood better and not give rise to misunderstandings, this it may sound a little rough, but we do not want to offend you or anything, because we always try to have change and soaps for laundry, but sometimes we run out before we know it, but our intention is to always try to help you with everything is in our hands.
The showers, bathrooms and the whole room is cleaned, swept and mopped with professional products every day, if you find any stains or soap remains it was a mistake and we are very sorry, but I can assure you, we always care to maintain cleanliness as priority number one.
Thank you for your criticism, it helps us to improve these details to provide you a better service.
I hope you consider this response.
Greetings!
Andrea Pérez.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinings, Georgia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I would definitely recommend another property if you’re looking to stay more than 2 or 3 nights. This hotel is good for one night only. The property has a restaurant, which serves excellent local cuisine. The breakfast is generous and the waitresses provide excellent customer service. The room was ok, nothing fancy and a bit smaller than what I saw from their website. The location is good if you want to be close to the city, but be aware that is not the most secured or tourist area. My biggest complain will be the clerk at the front desk working the third shift, he really makes your stay a bad one, worst customer service I experienced in Panama. I complain about not having hot water, and he replied he couldn’t do anything, that I will have to wait until next day to be fixed. He never offered an apology, or changed our room. We ask for a nearby places to visit or go out for food, he never had an answer, he look more interested playing with his computer than providing guest with a better experience. Management you should do something about this, because I was not the only customer complaining about his services. Overall, I recommend another hotel or if you really need to stay in this area, make it just one day.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcpanama, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Centroamericano Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Hello, thank you very much for writing, we appreciate the positive comments you mention, and I am sorry that you found some inconveniences that made your stay a bad experience, we are a small family hotel and we really strive to provide the Best Service at the Best Price Possible. We have different room types ranging in size, what we show in the photos are a summary of all. Thank you for recognizing the work of the waitresses in the restaurant, they also appreciate this and motivate them to continue doing a good job.
About the area, we are close to the Cinta Costera, Casco Viejo and other tourist attractions of the city, and I can assure you that at night is pretty quiet and safe, there are many embassies and government buildings, but there are a lot of offices in the area and it can seem a bit lonely at night, but there's nothing to worry about.
I am sorry that this happened with the night clerk, thank you very much for letting us know, the truth is that we always try that our staff provide the best service possible and help all our guests, but we can not always control it, in any case we will take action in the matter!
Thank you for your criticism, it helps us to improve these details to provide you a better service to our guests.
I hope you consider this response.
Greetings!
Andrea Pérez.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Centroamericano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centroamericano Hotel

Address: Ave. Ecuador 4-24 Esq. Justo Arosemena | La Exposición, Panama City 830648, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Centroamericano Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On business or leisure trip, here you will find a warm atmosphere, with all the facilities you need, also has the best location just minutes from the most important commercial areas of Panama, with easy transportation 24 hours. We are a Pet Friendly hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Centroamericano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centroamericano Hotel Panama City
Centroamericano Hotel Panama/Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centroamericano Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.