We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Marbella Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Marbella Hotel to your Saves list
Marbella Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av 1A D sur, El Cangrejo, Panama City, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 112 Hotels in Panama City
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“bad service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I do not recomend this hotel. Location is not bad, but many facilities in the room are not working. AC not working all the day, TV commander not working. Asked to change and 2 days later waiting.

ALso do not expect even 1 hour late check out, even if the hotel is empty.

Bed is confortable, but the bathroom is very bad and noisy. Also difficult to charge the cell phone or devises as only 1 plug on the toilet and any on the room.

The wifi depending on the room that you are works good or not. I was on 2 different rooms, one had great wifi and the other only in part of the room, (on the bed do not have signal).

Better another hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    35
    30
    8
    8
See reviews for
8
28
26
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Altus, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I have stayed at the Marbella hotel at least 5 times in the past 7 years and can recommend it as a great stopover hotel if you are in Panama City for a few days. Located within walking distance to city center, the hotel has a very good restaurant of it's own and is walking distance a plethora of eating establishments. Rooms are simple and clean and the price was right at 55 bucks when I was here in July. You are not going to get great views etc...but it is a sold and affordable place to stay in the heart of Panama City.

Room Tip: Not going to view anything substantial, so they are all the same to me for the most part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Wifi works great, on it as I write this. Close to a casino that was okay and was able to walk around the area and it felt like a safe area. I am by myself and just checking out the area for my first night in Panama.... Very quite and the A/C is working good.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed in this hotel as park of a package for a tour with Aventuras Panama. It was in a good location, close walking distance to many restaurants and shops. Clean, pretty quiet considering location around busy streets. Not the best for a solo traveler just because it's a hotel and there is no common area. I also like having a kitchen to use when I travel, especially solo as it's not so fun to eat out solo. The wifi was not working one out of 2 nights I was there which was a considerable inconvenience. Front desk staff was very nice. Hard for me to comment on value as this was part of a larger package for a tour.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Location, location, location... It's just a short walk from via Espana, there's a bookstore nearby, other shopping, and Panama's only brew pub (Istmo) is around the corner. Could you ask for more?

The hotel is clean and safe, the staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are simple, have cable, hot water and excellent wifi. The AC in my room was noisy, but I generally prefer the fan option which was much quieter.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We have stayed here many times and service is always efficient and friendly. The rooms are plain and simple, but fill the need for a/c and a comfortable bed with a good tv. The central location is a definite plus. Also, the restaurant , although plain, serves spectacular food. The shrimp with garlic is some of the best in Panama City.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back away from the front street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We've stayed in Panamá a few times now and normally stay at the Milan, just round the corner, but it was full. The Marbella is $10 cheaper and it shows. The rooms are a little tired and ours had a slightly damp smell. Beds are big, room felt small, but it was clean enough, just nothing special. On the plus side the staff are friendly and the location is good.

However, the bottom line is we probably won't use it again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marbella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marbella Hotel

Address: Av 1A D sur, El Cangrejo, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 112 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marbella Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Marbella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marbella Hotel Panama City
Hotel Marbella Panama
Marbella Hotel Panama/Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marbella Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.