We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best of 5 Panama City Hotels” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marbella Hotel

Save Saved
You added Marbella Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marbella Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av 1A D sur, El Cangrejo, Panama City, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 107 Hotels in Panama City
Seattle
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“best of 5 Panama City Hotels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

stayed at 5 mid priced hotels the past 2 months in Panama City and this was the best by far.the main reason is the staff. service in Panama can be, shall we say rather weak. just the opposite here. friendly smiling and accomodating. the housekeeper on 3/25/12, rm 411, even filled my ice bucket which was waiting for my cerveza when i returned. outstanding! wifi is excellent. spotless rooms. quiet. excellent location. thank you.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    31
    28
    8
    8
See reviews for
8
27
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Loved the restaurant the fish soup is so good and so is the egg sandwich the garlic bread is so amazing.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft.Lauderdale
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Stayed here for three nights. Reasonably clean, little noisy but therefore in the center of everything. Avoid the restaurant especially as there are many good places in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel on several occasions. However, my last TWO trips were met by the same game of cat and mouse. You see, I would call the hotel, and confirm my reservation before departure. However, once I arrived at the hotel, surprise, surprise, they don't have a reservation for you.
The reasons I choose the hotel are location and price. But since I am a single traveler I do pay the lowest rate in their book. If anyone else shows up and can pay more than their listed single rate, they would not acknowledge an established and confirmed reservation despite giving these people your credit card information for them to hold a room for you. I repeat, this has happened twice causing me to change my credit card number TWICE.
If you value having your reservation honored after you call a hotel, and be able to actuallu stay there, I highly recomend that you find someplace else because these guys are not going to honor your reservation and don't value your business if someone else will pay more for your "Guaranteed" reservation.
Go there at your own peril, If you like carrying your bags to find another hotel despite having a reservation for this one, go ahead. I know that mess isn't happening to me again. I would go find another hotel and pay more if I have to so I don't have to find another hotel despite having a reserbation for THIS one. You have been warned!!!

Room Tip: This is a very simple bunk down hotel but if you want a best room, simply OVERPAY. That's what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabuya, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Rates are $50US This hotel is clean and the staff is very friendly. Spanish spoken staff made it a bit difficlt for me but I am practicing. The rooms are small but everything works there is a restaurant and the soup was fantastic. as long as you keep the windows closed you will be able to sleep when the town awakens. I do not like that I had to pay $2US plus tax to use the computer to write this review.

Room Tip: top floor has great veiws of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walnut creek, ca
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

Stayed April 2010. This is the first time I went with a trip advisor suggestion, and after walking in went, hmmmmm. It was my only time in Panama City, so maybe I would feel differently after seeing the competition. Very clean, but the area and hotel had no charm at all. Advertised as qn beds but we got a double and an oversized twin. Weird. Good bar and air conditioning in the nearby casino! Adequate for a stopover and place to put your head, but there has to be better choices for the same value elsewhere. It is near shopping, but just stripmall junk. Big market was on nearby main street. Best deal in Panama is to find taxi driver who speaks english and hire him to take you anywhere you want and to stay with you. At his suggestion, we kept a guy over 5 hrs @ $10/hr, and visited historic downtown, locks, harbor, etc.

Room Tip: ask to see another rm if you don't like urs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

Pretty standard room, nothing all that special, but significantly cheaper than the other options in the business district in Panama City. Perfectly comfortable, and it came with A/C and had on-site parking. Friendly staff, though they do not seem to understand the concept of taking messages. At least one person spoke English, which was a help. Very nice restaurant on site, interesting and safe area to explore nearby, probably a 10 minute walk to central business district. I have stayed in a half-dozen hotels in Panama City now, and when I'm on my own dime, it'll be the Hotel Marbella every time.

Room Tip: I think they are all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marbella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marbella Hotel

Address: Av 1A D sur, El Cangrejo, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 107 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Marbella Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Marbella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marbella Hotel Panama City
Hotel Marbella Panama
Marbella Hotel Panama/Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marbella Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.