We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality and value but not a good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TRYP Panama Albrook Mall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added TRYP Panama Albrook Mall to your Saves list
TRYP Panama Albrook Mall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Centro Comercial Albrook Mall, entrada Koala | Corregimineto de Ancón, Panama City 000000, Panama   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$109 (USD)
Ranked #5 of 111 Hotels in Panama City
Surrey, England
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Good quality and value but not a good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We were offered this very new hotel (opened July 2013) for a one night stopover in Panama City. It does offer very good value for money but it is situated on the fringe of the city next door to Panama's biggest shopping mall - which may well be an attraction for some guests. The bedrooms are well equipped, comfortable and quiet - thanks to the the window glazing. The bar offers a good Tapas menu each evening and we were very impressed with the Sea Bass Cerviche, Spanish charcuterie and tortillas. The breakfast buffet comprises a reasonable range of hot and cold dishes which are just average in quality but fair for this grade of hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn S, General Manager at TRYP Panama Albrook Mall, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and for your nice review. The location of our hotel is very convenient since is attached to Albrook Mall, the largest shopping mall in Central America, it is also a short walk to the Metro (subway - can take you in a few minutes to the "city center") and the Bus Terminal and just 4 minutes from the hotel you will find The Albrook Airport. We have received so many complements about our comfortable and quiet rooms. I will let our Executive Chef Yeins and his team know about your good review on Tapas and Ceviche at Gastro Bar. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again should you travel plans bring you back to Panama. Hasta Luego -- Glenn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    112
    25
    5
    2
See reviews for
93
107
15
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Rooms: Large, modern, very clean! No complaints
Bathroom: Very Large, very clean, lots of towels
Breakfast Buffet: Was excellent. lots of choices, even had someone making eggs, however you wanted them. Coffee very good. Services excellent. Some language limitations with some staff.
Front Desk: Very friendly and very helpful!
Location: Great if you are flying out from the local airport, Easy cab ride to attractions. Next to bus station if you are taking a bus to other cities. Inside a very big shopping mall.
Bar: Prices very very reasonable. Happy hour was very good, tapas excellent.

I would stay at the hotel again and recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn S, General Manager at TRYP Panama Albrook Mall, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. I am glad you found our hotel location so convenient – attached to Albrook Mall and just 4 minutes to Albrook Airport. Great to hear that our staff was pleasant and friendly. We appreciated you enjoyed the breakfast buffet and our comfortable rooms. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again should you travel plans bring you back to Panama. Hasta Luego -- Glenn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Large, comfortable room. Friendly, helpful staff. Room service at breakfast a bit disorganized, but they comped us as a result. Only place to walk to is the adjacent mall. Food OK. Easy cab ride to all attractions. Great place if you want friendly comfort at a reasonable cost. Would stay again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn S, General Manager at TRYP Panama Albrook Mall, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for your nice review. I am glad that you enjoyed the convenience of our hotel being connected to Albrook Mall and a short walk to the Metro. Your observation about room service is noted and we will be working in order to make it better. Thank you for recommending our hotel and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again should you travel plans bring you back to Panama. Hasta Luego -- Glenn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We found the hotel to be clean and up to 'western standards'...But beware. Be sure to have your PRINTED reservation with you or you will be charged whatever the 'going rate' is at the time. No PROMISED shuttle to the airport. AND taxi rates for the hotel are $5.00 cheaper than if you hail a 'local' cab. During daylight hours for known destinations or if your Spanish is fluent, these are a cheaper alternative to the hotel cabs.

Room Tip: Book AHEAD and bring your printed reservation. low floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn S, General Manager at TRYP Panama Albrook Mall, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you for take the time to write your review, for us it’s very important to know about our guest suggestions in order to improve our services. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you back again and make things better. – Glenn Simon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

The Tryp Albrook is a great place to get a break after a long flight. Great staff And a good reception. Affordable beer at the bar to recover from a long flight. The pool on the roof then is great to cool down after your flight or walking through the city. Do not take a cab from the hotel but walk into the mall to the next exit, will save you a third going into town ( if you do not mond a taxi sin airco).

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn S, General Manager at TRYP Panama Albrook Mall, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for the great review. I was glad to hear you liked our hotel, the great service from our staff and appreciated the affordable beer at Gastro Bar. Our guests have also told us that they very much enjoy the views from our roof-top infinity pool where you can enjoy the amazing sights of Ancon Hill (highest point in Panama City), the city, Balboa Port, and Albrook Airport. Our hotel does have a company that offers transportation service 24 hours and our guest are also welcome to call “yellow cab”. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again should you travel plans bring you back to Panama. Hasta Luego -- Glenn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perugia, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I spent 10 days there on business. The location is perfect: just beside the lobby there is the entrance to the very large Albrook Mall with all kind of shops. The Albrook airport and the bus central station are near the Hotel. The rooms are very clean and the beds are super comfortable, with large, fluffy pillows. I would also like to praise the warm service offered by every member of the staff.
Worhty of attention the Coffee Shop & Bistro where I tasted the authentic "Espesso" Italian coffee thanks to the knowledge of the bartender girl.
I can warmly recommend the TRYP ALBROOK MALL HOTEL to all travelers who wish to have a nice stay in Panama !

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn S, General Manager at TRYP Panama Albrook Mall, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for staying with us for 10 days and for expressing your appreciation for our “warm service offered by our staff”. They really do make the difference – in having the ability to satisfy our guests’ varied needs. Should your return to Panama City for business or leisure we look forward to welcoming you back. Hasta Luego – Glenn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I spent a month and a half there on business. Great empowered staff -- always helpful. Hands on General Manager constantly seeking improvements. The location is perfect for anyone doing business with the Canal Authority.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side away from the main road are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn S, General Manager at TRYP Panama Albrook Mall, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for making us your “home” in Panama City for a month and a half and for expressing your appreciation for our “great empowered staff”. They really do make the difference – in having the ability to satisfy our guests’ varied needs. Should your return to Panama City for business or leisure we look forward to welcoming you back. Hasta Luego – Glenn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TRYP Panama Albrook Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP Panama Albrook Mall

Address: Centro Comercial Albrook Mall, entrada Koala | Corregimineto de Ancón, Panama City 000000, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — TRYP Panama Albrook Mall 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the largest shopping mall in Latin America (Albrook Mall), less than 5 min away from the City of Knowledge, Panama Canal & 10 min away from the US Embassy & Financial District, this upscale Tryp is 35 minutes from Tocumen Intl. Arpt. (PTY). Tryp offers 331 comfortable guest rooms, 3 restaurants & lounges, cutting-edge technology, over 15,000 sq.Ft. Of naturally-lit meeting space, a roof-top solarium and infinity pool and direct access to over 600 shops and boutiques of Albrook Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your TRYP Panama Albrook Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
TRYP Panama Albrook Mall Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TRYP Panama Albrook Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.