We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than coffee and sigars !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jola's Coffee House & Cigar Lounge

Jola's Coffee House & Cigar Lounge
Calle Eusebio A.Morales El Cangrejo , Panama City, Panama | Across from the Hotel Sevilla Suites, Panama City, Panama
+507 214-4861
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #103 of 480 Restaurants in Panama City
Cuisines: Peruvian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Koksijde, Belgium
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“More than coffee and sigars !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Still unusually friendly for this city, how you are welcomed and looked after in this nice small yet very cosy house. Its name however, is misleading at least. A nice terrace in the front but an exclusively well furnished back yard open air lounging area and some intimate small rooms inside are the perfect destination to have a chat with afternoon coffee or tea and tasteful sweet or savoury snacks. For lunch and dinner, be it attractively presented light goodies or carefully balanced main dishes, you will be pleased by the quality of food and service. I will visit again... and again !... and I have never been thinking I paid too much (as is the case in many other places of Panama, where you really have to search the value for the money.)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    15
    5
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
1 review
“Superb terrace, nice people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This restaurant is a true gem in Panama City. It doesn't show from the street how beautiful it is at the back, i think this is their biggest concern right now, otherwise I guess it would be packed. The food is delicious, the service excellent, they really want to help and serve you. (rare to have such good service int his city). Just go in and give it a try, you will enjoy it for sure !

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service. Hard to know it's there from the outside.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Some suggestions for the owner. Your restaurant looks very plain and uninviting from the front. But the inside and back is superb. You need to have a really large sign out front with a great picture of the back cabanas and decks with words that invite them to come enjoy your hidden oasis out back. My guess is your business would double. Second, you have pretty nice coffee mugs for sale. But none of them say Panama or Panama City on them. If you want to sell them add the word Panama on them so they become souvenirs. You will sell way more. Lastly, the chef here is 4 star. Every single morsel was fantastic. Filet, Portabello mushrooms, canapés, salad, ... all excellent. Not good or great: excellent. Service was friendly and top notch too. So much going for it, here's hoping they get more customers to make it a staple for El Congrejo.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Still pretty new....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This place is very close to the Milan, and just down the street, kind of kitty corner from The Wine Bar in Congrejo. It was very hot when we went so we skipped the cabanas in the back and opted for the tables inside. The help is very attentive and the place is very clean and crisp. We were kind of disappointed in the food. We had the Salmon, the Mushrooms, and the Fish and Brocolli. They were all pretty much just OK, I think the Salmon was the best. Can't really rate the drinks as we were all drinking Balboas. The inside is totally non-smoking, which is a big plus if you are going for dinner. We'll probably give the place another try, but schools still out.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Kathia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Was in panama for few days, didn't expect to venture too far from the
hotel, so glad i found this gem. Music was perfect funk. james brown,
sangria and a cuban cigar equals heaven :)

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jola's Coffee House & Cigar Lounge also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Jola's Coffee House & Cigar Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jola's Coffee House & Cigar Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.