We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“true oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Sucre Coffeehouse

Casa Sucre Coffeehouse
Avenida 8 Sur Panama, Panama City, Panama
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 564 Restaurants in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Lugano, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“true oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Walk in the extreme heat until you get here, it's worth it. Good coffee and nice, cool place to rest, read and chat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    37
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bandon Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“best find in Casco Viejo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We had breakfast in this wonderful cafe every morning we stayed in Casco Viejo. The coffee was amazing, the pastries delicious , and the service and conversation the best. If you go here, be sure to eavesdrop on conversations about how the cafe came to be, or just ask Alyce! You will know her by her gracious smile and wonderful hospitality. Do not miss this special place in this wonderful re-emerging city!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“A must in Casco Viejo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Across from the Tantalo is Casa Sucre. This is an eclectic space with good coffee drinks. I enjoyed meeting the owners Alyce and Rich Sherman who are from Kansas City. I am from that area, so we had something in common. They were also helpful in giving me other restaurant suggestions! Make sure to stop in while exploring Casco Viejo! It is a new operation. I would have had breakfast there also if mine had not been included in my rate.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A Treasure of a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and I went sightseeing in Casco Viejo one very hot day. Of course, the city is being restored to it's former glory so there is a lot of construction. About lunchtime, we somehow stumbled upon Casa Sucre Coffeehouse. What a delightful surprise that was! The welcome was warm as the day outside, the decor elegant and peaceful. Our lunch was served with the words, "Prepare to enjoy." The food was so fresh, delicious and beautifully presented. I only wish we had known about Casa Sucre Boutique Hotel & Coffeehouse prior to our trip..we would have very much enjoyed staying there.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wow - This place was just perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My brother and I stumbled into this place on a stinking hot day. To be greeted with friendly faces, good coffee, food, music and air-conditioning. Friendly local engaged us in their conversation within moments I felt like I was in my local back home. A great sense of style in every aspect of this place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Sucre Coffeehouse also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Casa Sucre Coffeehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Sucre Coffeehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.