We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So welcoming!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Sitio del Casco

El Sitio del Casco
Edificio Casa Verde, Avenida A. (entre calle 4ta y calle 5ta) | Casco Antiguo, Panama City, Panama
+507 6676-3181
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #114 of 485 Restaurants in Panama City
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Description: El Sitio del Casco is the #1 BEER bar for BEER enthusiasts featuring the best BEER selection in the region, an excellent menu in which every dish is prepared with a fun touch of BEER, a relax yet fun atmosphere, and a cozy and historic décor. Located in Casco Antiguo among walls centuries old, opens its doors to everyone who wants to enjoy a good time and a great BEER among friends.Good fun, great food, excellent people, wonderful BEER!!!
Annapolis, MD
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“So welcoming!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We sought this place out because we're beer geeks and this place was listed as "the best beer selection in Panama City." We found it on one of the charming little streets in Casco Viejo (it's also on the Casco Viejo tourist map that you can pick up for free). When we got there 2 guys were fixing the door, and when I asked if it was open, they said no. We were really sad, and were loitering outside wondering what to do next, so I thought I'd ask when they would be open. Someone in charge came out (manager?) and explained that they had been broken into overnight and were fixing their door, so they hadn't planned on being open and didn't have food, but we were welcome to come in for beers. Perfecto! He was super nice and very welcoming, and let us inside (cute place, several TVs) and let us order some beers and chatted with us and gave us some free tortilla chips and cheesy dip. Long story short, we ended up getting free amazingly delicious calamari with a super delicious dipping sauce free, just because the chef was about to make him lunch. All in all, this place was great, definitely check it out. The beer selection is good for Panama City, and it was nice to have a change from 'Balboa' and 'Panama', but bear in mind if you're a beer geek from the US it won't be what you'd think is a huge selection.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    4
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great time with friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

A group of 15 arrive at the bar with no reservation but the staff was really accommodating. The service was great, the beers and food really good. I really like the atmosphere, music is set so u can have a conversation and the staff offers one of the best services I had in a long time so much we close the bar at 3am.
Highly recommend it for a couple of beers and to watch any sporting event.

The only recommendation I have its that the bar needs a bit more decoration subtle but something funky.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Fun, Great Food, Excellent People and Wonderful Beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Or so says the menu and they are not wrong! Tucked down a little street in Casa Viejo, 'El Sitio del Casco' is a neat little restaurant, live sport but not turned up so loud that you can't hear your dinner conversation.

If you like your beer then this is the place to go, after a two week diet of 'Panama' and 'Balboa' beer the selection of beers from around the world was a breath of fresh air. The restaurant normally has between 30 to 40 beers on offer and the Honeydew is rather good!.

Food wise, the restaurant describes their flagship dishes as having 'a light but fun touch of beer.' We had the Ancon Ribs which you can get with Stout Ale Spicy sauce or Larger BBQ source. I'm not normally a fan of ribs but the succulent meat fell off the bone and the sauce was amazing. The 'Alitas San Felipe De Neri' (Chicken Wings) were even better and were polished off before we even realised that they came with sour cream! The 'Chilli Panama Star' was tortilla chips with a unique combination of chilli with cheese; my new favourite dip for tortilla chips! Finally we had the 'Boyaca Burger' this succulent, moist and tasty burger comes stuffed with pepperoni and as a real burger fan I can honestly say this is the second best burger I have ever tasted. Now you might have guessed that I rather enjoyed the food, indeed I did, but the best is yet to come. The 'Boyaca' came with 'bloody mary sauce' a sweet sticky taste of heaven - truely out of this world - outstanding.

After two weeks eating in Restaurants around Panama this was without a doubt the best meal we had. To make the experience that little bit better the owner, Jean-Paul, is a thoroughly friendly chap who invited us to have a beer on the house with him at the end of the meal, a fascinating guy with a real passion for his chosen trade.

Thank you Jean-Paul to you and all your staff for a very enjoyable evening.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nfl football ribs burgers and beer yeah !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

So the mapping of this place is screwed but after trying to get there another night with no success our cabbie dropped us off and we stumbled into it! If you want a great burger this is the place . The wings are great and the ribs fall off the bone. A beer selection from chimey to Leffe it's a sportsmans Paradise.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We went here because of the high position on tripadvisor. The place has a nice and relaxed atmosphere. The food was nothing special though. Burger was just ok. We had better in Panama City. Good service and overall an ok experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batrias, Owner at El Sitio del Casco, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Hello James:
I just read your review of our establishment, "El Sitio del Casco" in Casco Antiguo, Panama.
In our commitment to always better ourselves i would like to ask you to tell us how we could have made your visit more enjoyable and also elaborate in what we could do better.

If you are ever again in the Bar, just ask for me "Vladimir Batista" i really would like to hear your comments and invite you a beer for your time.

Best regards,
El Sitio del Casco
Good Fun, Great Food, Excellent People, Wonderful BEER!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Sitio del Casco also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to El Sitio del Casco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Sitio del Casco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.