We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TRYP Panama Centro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added TRYP Panama Centro to your Saves list
TRYP Panama Centro
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Veneto | El Cangrejo Bellavista, Panama City 00000, Panama   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 112 Hotels in Panama City
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Overall a nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed 3 nights here and I think overall its a nice hotel. The rooms are very nice, clean, and modern, especially for the price. The rooftop pool and hot tub are really nice with great views of the city, and there were very few people, if any, the times we went up there. The staff was also very helpful...we asked for their help in finding restaurants, stores, etc, several times and they even called a handful of places to make a reservation for us.

The downside: It did kind of seem like at times no one quite knew what was going on, though they were still friendly and helpful overall. Breakfast was not actually free, just as the other reviewers have stated, even though it says that its included on their website. Luckily we read the reviews before arriving, so we asked about it up front, and they told us we could add on breakfast at check-in for only $6 per person per day (instead of the $17), so we did that. You have to add it to every night your staying though (even if you don't plan on eating breakfast every day), but it was still cheaper to pay for an extra $6 breakfast we weren't using than to pay full price for 2 days. And they wouldn't even have mentioned that it cost extra or told us about that deal had we not asked, which is quite shady in my opinion. Thank goodness for other reviewers! The breakfast is really not that good anyway so you might want to just eat somewhere else if you have time...we had plans each morning so it was easier for us to just eat at the hotel, but be sure to add it on in the beginning and verify the price. They did bill everything correctly too. Finally, I would avoid using their taxi service...they charge WAY more than other cabs, and its really easy to get a taxi in that area for half or a third of the price.

Overall I thought this was a very nice hotel for the price, even without the breakfast included. As long as you are aware of the breakfast costs beforehand, I think you will really enjoy your stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose C, General Manager at TRYP Panama Centro, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your comments and letting us know your experience at the hotel. We are correcting this situation about the misunderstanding of the breakfast during your check in. In December we had staff in training that might got confuse but I will make sure that this does not happen again. We are making adjustment so we can have a better service for all our guests.

Thank you also for the good comments about our helpful staff, I will make sure that we continue to deliver this service at our property.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    248
    46
    16
    8
See reviews for
113
277
48
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The first moment in the hotel was the worst. We waited a good 15-20 mins before even being acknowledged...and we were the only people at the desk! Once they finally paid us attention, they were extremely friendly (though did not apologise for just ignoring for the whole time!) After that, everything was perfect. Nice, clean room... a cool color changing hot tub and pool and a very reasonable price. I think the location is central, but it seemed a little shady walking around late at night. I wouldn't suggest single women doing it, for instance!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose C, General Manager at TRYP Panama Centro, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest

On behalf of our staff at TRYP by Wyndham Panama, apologyse us for the inconvenient you had at the Check in. We are working to correct this deficiency we had with new policies and procedures for our staff and I will make sure that in your next visit we can exceed your expectations. Thank you again for your comments and to let us know that most of your stay was much better at the end...

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I use Tripadvisor frequently and travel abroad several times a year, usually with teenagers. This hotel is brand new and is well maintained. When I booked the hotel, it was ranked 4th in Panama City. When I reviewed the comments the night before leaving for Panama, it had dropped to 16th and the unflattering reviews had been posted. I got nervous and looked at changing hotels. Unlike other hotels rated as 4 on Tripadvisor which frequently have been tired or past their prime, the Tryp has been a delight. The rooms are good sized and nicely decorated. The staff has been excellent. When our Canal transit tour was cancelled, they found one at the last minute. We were referred to excellent restaurants. The complimentary breakfast was more than adequate with three or four fresh fruit selections.
We did not experience one of the problems mentioned in the negative reviews which indicates the issues have been resolved or the problems were temporary. This is a great value.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose C, Manager at TRYP Panama Centro, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Guest

Thanks so much for letting us know that you had a great stay and visit and that we exceed your expectations. We do our best to make every visit as pleasant as possible hoping that you stay with us again when the travel bring you back to the area.

Thank you again..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Tryp hotel is new and extremely clean. Great value for the price we paid. Our room was large with a comfortable bed. There is also a great view on the roof top with a small pool, hot tub and gym upstairs. It Is centrally located and lots of restaurants around us. The wine bar located around the corner has a good list of wine, there is a large supermarket around 10 min walk away if you want cheaper prices than the smaller markets around. Although it was located by the casinos, we didnt hear any noise at night and had a great sleep.
Taxis outside the hotel are definitely more expensive, so just walk a block away or try to get any of the yellow cabs and it'll be significantly cheaper. You should not pay more than 10 dollars to go panama canal and 10-15 dollars return.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose C, Manager at TRYP Panama Centro, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for completing this survey and letting us know about your Great experience at the hotel..

In behalf of our entire staff at TRYP by Wyndham Panama Thank You and we hope to see you again when the travel bring you back to this area.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

the hotel is new and the physical aspects of the hotel was pretty good.

the last day we were there, there was no water in the hotel, so no shower before check out.

the website says free breakfast bufet. we stayed four nights, two nights they had the breakfast for free, the other two days they charged us $35 for breakfast for two. when we showed them the website which states free buffet breakfast, they basically plead that they can't do anything about it. very frustrating, trying to get credit card company to charge it back. i asked for two charges, one for room and one for breakfasts, they gave we two receipts but i just checked the credit card statement and they put through as one single charge.

i would call to get a "voucher" from them for breakfast or confirm it is in their system to avoid problems.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose C, Manager at TRYP Panama Centro, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Guest

I apologize for any misunderstandings that existed during their stay. it is true that in our Hotel website keep showing the Breakfast as amenity which is in error since this was a promo during our firs 3 month of opening. We are in the process of correcting it sooner and that is causing these unnecessary Confucianism.

If you can give me a call or send us an email regarding this situation I will really appreciate it..

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

At first, looks new, clean, efficient rooms...it stops there..I travel extensively as a business person and thought I would try this...all I want is clean , quiet, good coffee and breakfast as I rarely have time for lunch...and maybe a small exercise room.

Here pricing looked fine and web site has special on free breakfast...it was wrong...they tried to charge $17.35 for the absolute worst breakfast I have had in years...two eggs dishes that you could not eat...terrible sausage, bacon, or ?? Oh, only one choice a day..they still charged me, even when showed a letter saying it was included The person in charge said " she did not have the authority". The truth is ...even if free, it would be a poor choice....the capacino was cold as they do not heat the milk, thus it is cold..clueless.

Even with plenty of staff, one needs to serve the self for coffee

I had breakfast at an Italian restaurant two door down from hotel..excellent.

The rooms are fine...all alike..cookie cutter style, bathrooms clean except for there is almost no hot water...Luke warm...I am all in favor of the energy saving cards that must be used to turn on lights, but setting the hot water temp on low is the last straw!

They have a small new excersise room...with one multi machine that is terrible and one of two treadmills out of order and the other falling apart..

A very poor Experience...suggest, the new Garden Hilton, a block away , the Riu, any other branded product was better then this for business people as well as families.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose C, Manager at TRYP Panama Centro, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Guest

In behalf of our staff please apologize us for any misunderstandings and concerns during your stay at the hotel.
It is true that in our website keep showing that the breakfast is included as an amenity which is an error and we are in the process of correcting this situation as soon as possible that is causing these unnecessary confusion. Either way we are honoring the reservations through our website that shows the breakfast included until we can repair this. We do have special package rate that include the breakfast but not in all rates as the website is showing at this moment.

About the hot water, we have no reports of failures in our hot water systems until now, We try to resolve any guest issues during the stay of our guests if it is reported immediately. Due to this report our maintenance department has conducted an inspection to look for this problem. If you could write us to know your room number I will greatly appreciate it in order to go directly to the possible problem.

I really appreciate your comments hoping that you can visit us again and you give us the opportunity to make it right for you.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

New hotel,well decorated however the staff is not friendly and made so much noise starting very early in the morning (around 730am) so if you are planning to rest this is not the place for you, also the cleaning staff will knock at your door to ask if they can clean your room around 9am even if you ask for one more hour sleep,a mad staff member will tell you "what time can I come,then??"
And again,the service is not what you expected.They will not change your blankets,pillow covers or towels,they will mop the floor and the bathroom will stay dirty(sink and shower area)during all your stay except for the toilet,bring your own soap,shampoo and toothpaste and also expect no water on your room for more than 9hours without explanation.The rudeness,lack common courtesy and sadness on their faces are their challenges,they need training on this aspect specially reception staff.
PS.After seeing the answer to other bad reviews I might to say Mr Jose Calvo: do not ask me to give you a call because I stayed 5nights and you weren't available,try to hire Colombians or Venezuelans as other hotels are doing to improve service,they know kindness.

Room Tip: Ask to do not be disturbed early and check the cleanliness of your room every single day. Do not or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose C, Manager at TRYP Panama Centro, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest

Please apologize me for not being at the hotel for you as I was atteding a meeting outsite the country. I would have liked in order to make it right for you during your stay and for the concerns you had.

We did have a problem with the water during Thursday Morning due to some works in the area by the government and it produced some damage into our hotel water pump systems something that never happened before but we worked on that as soon as we could.

I will work with our housekeeper supervisor to check our procedures that caused that your room was not done by the housekeeping staff, this is Not an acceptable procedures and standards of our hotel and will make everything to correct any deficiencies they might have in order that does not happen again and hoping that you can visit us one more time an surpass your expectations.

If there is anything I can do for you in the near future let me know or contact us by email..

Thanks for your comments.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to TRYP Panama Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP Panama Centro

Address: Via Veneto | El Cangrejo Bellavista, Panama City 00000, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 112 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — TRYP Panama Centro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The TRYP Panama Centro is located in the heart of Panama City in the upscale El Cangrejo, Bella Vista neighborhood just 15 miles from Tocumen International Airport & 250 mts from the New El Carmen Metro (Subway) Station. The convenient location of our hotel puts you within walking distance to some of Panama's best restaurants (40+ or more restaurante within 10 minutes walk), shopping and nightlife ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your TRYP Panama Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
TRYP Panama Centro Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TRYP Panama Centro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.