We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique B&B in Panama City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Autograph Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Autograph Lodge to your Saves list
Autograph Lodge
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Calle Alberto Navarro Casa 21, Panama City, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 71 Panama City B&B and Inns
World
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Boutique B&B in Panama City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stayed here 4 nights. Lovely rooms with A/C, Flatscreen TV, Hot Showers with good water pressure. The breakfast is lovely prepared (Coffee, Tea, Fruits, Pancakes, Juice). The owners are lovely and warm people who are going out of their way to make you feel comfortable at this place.

Within walking distance is Calle Argentina which has a couple of bars, restaurants etc.

There are 2 reasons why this place does not get the highest rating. The corporate rate is north of USD 75, for which you can easily find great accommodation at one of the luxury hotels in this area. In addition to that, they would not give me any discount for extended stay, even though I would have liked to add 10 more nights.

Ended up changing to a private room in a hostel, and paid less then 30 USD incl. breakfast per night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    17
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
4
37
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed here a few nights. We arrived at 4.00 a.m off the bus from Costa Rica and were so lucky to be let straight into our room without an extra charge. Really helpful staff. Ours was a good size room at the front with wifi, excellent hot water/pressure for the shower, good working A/C, flat screen etc. Breakfast average, but included some fresh fruit...often a rarity! Close to selection of bars & restos etc. Glad we did not stay in Casco Viejo, our initial thought. Bus line to Albrook bus terminal 400m away, and no issue hailing taxis. Only minor gripe was non fitting curtains in the room, so bright mornings (..good for early risers at least), and quite a dark communal area. All in all, at the rate we paid, for PC, an excellent option. Would return!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

If you are looking for a place to feel at home, this is the place to be. Angela and Luis the owners are very friendly and do everything to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The place is uniquely decorated and furnished and in a safe area near to restaurants and bars. I stayed there twice and really enjoyed myself.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Luis and Angela runs the B & B. Our luggage got in 24hrs late and Luis helped us with phone calls to the airport etc.and received the luggage when it was delivered. He also called called for another issue we had and was so generous with his time to help us. Angela is very friendly and so sweet. We got all the info we needed on where to shop and suggestions on restaurants in the neighborhood.

The room was simple, but It was quiet. Our favorite place was the balcony where we did some serious people watching and some iPad"Ing". I liked the back yard and the hammocks!! The artist painter has his studio in the entrance of the building, and he is very good. Lots of great colors and interesting artwork in the rooms and common areas. The breakfast was corn flakes and eggs one morning, coffee, and fruit.

We noticed that the overwhelming majority did not speak English, so work on your Spanish :-) but Luis and Angela's English is very good.
This location is downtown, in a safe area, you can walk around without being worried, But always use common sense... 5 min drive to the waterfront. Taxis are crazy, but they know that they are doing.....Have fun!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We arrived at the hotel late in the evening, tired and hungry. Our Hostess Angela was very pleasant and she sat down with us on one of the couches in the general area and reviewed the hotel amenities, the surrounding area and the do's and don'ts of Panama City. I must say this check in was a new experience for this traveler. She was extremely cordial and helpful, as was her hubby Luis, throughout our stay. I must say that meeting them was one of the highlights of our trip. They always had interest in day's plans and were sure to give us hints and suggestions.
The hotel itself was quaint and comfortable. Each of the rooms was nicely appointed, clean and had a comfy bed as well a very amenable bathroom. The decor was original art and each of the rooms had a different theme (no room numbers just art reference names such as Impressionist eyc. cute)
The general lounging area also doubled as a dining area for breakfasts. Some of the guests sat around and chatted in the evenings. The breakfasts were tasty and filling. Every morning we were served cereal, toast, yogurt, fresh fruit, eggs and/or waffles. All of which were served with a smile.
The location was quite central to shopping, dining and bars all of which were safe to walk to and short in distance. A short cab ride ride will take you to either of the old cities, the Canal and any other sites that may be of interest.
If you are in Panama City you cannot go wrong with Angela and Luis.
I marked excellent for the pool but there isn't one. Don't let this shake you. I understand one may be on the way one day.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. With very good water pressure by the way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed several nights at this hotel, and we didn't regret it! The owners make you feel at home and can give you goods tips for travelling. Breakfast has a good variation of healthy food, the rooms are spacious, private bathroom and a good shower, good wifi and a flatscreen tv. In the nearby street Via Argentina you find all kinds of places to eat and drink and it's a safe area to walk. We definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The hotel is well situated in a calm street close to the Via Argentina. The breakfast is huge and the couple managing the hotel does everything to make your stay as comfortable as possible. For example I mentioned that my boyfriend is allergic to milk and the next morning there was lactose free milk on the table!
They offer a lot of advice for things to do in Panama and help you organizing it.
Thank you for your hospitality!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Autograph Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Autograph Lodge

Address: Calle Alberto Navarro Casa 21, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Autograph Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Autograph Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Autograph Lodge Panama/Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Autograph Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.