We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best hostel in Casco Viejo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Panamericana Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Panamericana Hostel to your Saves list
Panamericana Hostel
Calle 10 y Avenida A # 8-15 Plaza Herrera, Panama City, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Probably the best hostel in Casco Viejo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The hostel looks better in the pictures than it really is. A beautiful building but seemed to me to be neglected. The hip design chairs are almost all broken. So watch your clothes! The 12-bed dorm is spacious and plenty of space for your backpack. There is a large locker per person. There is plenty of natural light through the large and many windows. Therefore, too bad there are no curtains. Bathroom is spacious and has hot water. I wonder if there is sufficient at a full occupation. There is Wi-Fi but was rather complicated. Per person you get a log-in code for only 1 piece of device. But you can ask for a second one. In the morning, the included breakfast consists of bread, banana and peanut butter

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    71
    42
    11
    10
See reviews for
3
75
37
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed there a few nights in this great hostel...it was verry clean and a real nice design... great roof top terras...its in the old part of panama city close by the fish market great for the cevische and enough places to have dinner or drinks in bars...the owners and staff are verry friendly and helpfull...next time when i visit panama i will stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

It's great place to stay. Cheap! Nice and clean rooms with design walls. A breakfast included is very typical but its great especially if you just arrived from airport and dont have time for shopping. 30 minutes from centrum of casco viejo where you can catch the bus to everywhere. 5 minutes to view point where you can admire the casco nueva;) on the roof you have nice view and place to rest, drink, party or something:)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed a few nights... wish we could have extended it a few more. Clean and friendly with a few rooms overlooking the center. Great location in Casco Viejo any a great view of the city from the rooftop bar. Awesome place for the money. I would recommend this hostel to all.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Originally we didn't like the pan Americana but we grew to love it over 5 days.

The first night we stayed in a dorm room which unfortunately was just perved on by the builders from the next building. We actually checked out the next day but everywhere was full so we had to return.

Upon return they have us a double for just a dollar or so more than the dorm. This was fantastic. Great room and all very clean. Gustavo the owner who is Colombian is a great guy and gave us loads of information for Colombia as well.

The kitchen is good but could do with a few more plates/pans etc and the best thing is definitely the roof terrace which looks out across Panama City. It is worth it just for that (and the view of the square below if you can get a room on that side.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is a great value hostel, especially compared to other places we stayed for the same price. In an excellent area of the city as well. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. There is a lovely rooftop terrace as well - perfect for a late night beer or two. We stayed here twice during our trip to Panama. Once we were upstairs and once we were on the ground floor. The ground floor was quite noisy and we struggled to sleep - I would recommend asking to go upstairs if at all possible. Otherwise, no real complaints. There is also an excellent complimentary breakfast in the mornings.

PS. A fantastic hot shower. Really, compared to somewhere like Hostel Mamallena this place is incredible value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

As of 16/9 there are roadworks going on right outside the hostel, which start about 6.30am, which isn't ideal.
However, the hostel is really nice. It has been given a painted interior by a street artist, which is nice, if a little reminiscent of a club or crack-den.
The rooms are nice (we saw 3 before choosing one at the top, with a nice window) and very clean - as are the bathrooms.
The breakfast is good and the rooftop area a really nice place to catch a breeze and chill out.
The kitchen is alright, although lacks enough utensils (more plates, cups etc. needed). And the sink was broken for a while.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Panamericana Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panamericana Hostel

Address: Calle 10 y Avenida A # 8-15 Plaza Herrera, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Panamericana Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panamericana Hostel Panama/Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panamericana Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.