We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOOISY but clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Panamericana Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Panamericana Hostel to your Saves list
Panamericana Hostel
Calle 10 y Avenida A # 8-15 Plaza Herrera, Panama City, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Hood River, Oregon, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“NOOISY but clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The place is very clean and modern. Good kitchen, good staff. There is no rooftop bar, or it is always closed. Not quite as depicted in the photos.

Visit the mojito bar across the street, great place.

The rest of the reviews are correct. There is so much construction noise. It starts around 6am and does not finish until midnight or after.

Also, the building structure makes any noise from downstairs funnel up into the bedrooms. Even people chatting at a reasonable level was amplified through the center courtyard thing and you could listen in on whole conversations on the second or third floor.

If you use the bathrooms opposite Plaza Herrera, the construction workers can look right into the bathroom windows, I learned this as I was doing my business on the toilet and got the awkward eye contact with one of the guys working on the high-rise next door. Did not really have anywhere to run at that point.... I made sure to shower on the opposite end of the building.

Maybe in a couple of years when the massive construction project is finished, I would return. Until then, I will not stay anywhere in Casco Viejo. (its only $3 taxi to downtown, so worth it!)

Room Tip: Do not sleep near the basketball court, they play late and early and tons of construction trucks dri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    71
    42
    11
    10
See reviews for
3
75
37
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The good: It is a very pretty hostel, it has a kitchen (though it is very small for the 90 bed capacity), the bedroom we had was large and had a nice painting on the wall and a balcony, and there was a roof garden with lovely views, and you get free breakfast but this is just bread and jam.
The bad: It is really noisy! Above every bedroom door there is an open vent so you can hear anything happening outside your room, and the whole hostel is organised around 2 interior courtyards that means the sound travels all the way up from the communal area to the floors above. We were woken up at 5am by the receptionist who was drunk! I went down at about 6.30am and he slurred an apology, then an external tourist guide came in to collect a group for the day and the receptionist couldn't speak a word of spanish to the guide so didn't know what he wanted or who he was there to collect. He asked me to translate for him!
When a female receptionist arrived at 8am I asked if we could move room to a higher floor and she told us it didn't make a difference which room you stayed in as the whole hostel was loud. I asked if we could move room anyway to see for ourselves and she said we'd have to wait until 12 to see if they had spare rooms.
Then I had a shower and half way through realised that 3 workmen were watching me from the building site across the way- they had set up chairs and I later found out this was a regular thing and some of the girls had heard this from other guests and used showers at the other end of the hostel instead.
I told the female receptionist about this and she shrugged and told me to use the other showers. I suggested that it was a good idea to actually tell the guests about this problem so they could use the other showers before this happened and she shrugged again, I also suggested putting up a curtain might also be a good idea (!) and again she shrugged. I finally suggested putting a sign on the bathroom door to warn guests and she declined so I wrote signs myself, taped them to the bathroom doors and left! We moved to the Magnolia Inn Hostel nearby which was lovely.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

A great location but very noisy. But this is true at the moment for the whole of the Casco Viejo. I had a private room with bathroom, and while the sheets were clean, the floor of the bedroom and the bathroom were not at all. Nor was the kitchen. Reception staff not unfriendly but did not go out of their way to help.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed here after a terrible night at the sister hostal of 'Hospedaje Casco Viejo'. This was much cleaner (we stayed in a private double) and the shared bathrooms had hot water. The kitchen was bigger and well kept. The staff were friendly and helpful. The only criticism was that there is extensive building work going on, and it starts very early from right outside the hostal. Also, this means that 2 of the bathrooms are overlooked on one side by builders! Bit of a pain as the shared bathrooms then become quite busy. But overall, a good option.

Room Tip: Not the bottom floor - so noisy with the building works!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

The best about this hostel is that it is one of the two backpackers in the lovely old town of Panama City and it's a short stroll to nice restaurants and bars. It feels a bit like sleeping in an exhibition. I really liked the design and the little details of the interior. It is also clean. But this place has a big minus: it's very loud! It comes with the archtitecture of this place that every noice echoes but also there is no need for a receptionist to run music at 5 o'clock in the morning. Unfortunately a lot of backpackers have the mentality that everybody should be awake when they are...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

. The location it's good but nowadays they are reconstructing the parks that's next to the hostel. The beds are really good, clean rooms etc. but on Friday and Saturday nights its REALLY noisy because there's a bar on the rooftop

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Very light, spacious and cool Art Deco style hostel. We liked our dorm #27 very much, as it is located next door to shower and the restroom, which was clean, the shower had perfect water pressure and hot water. The dorm has two balconies and is located only one staircase away from the rooftop. Each dorm bed is $13 a night and comes with a full size locker.

This hostel also has awesome TV/chill-out room with an enormous comfy couch and a large flat screen TV. Next door to the TV-room there is a big kitchen which is kept very clean by the staff. Every morning coffee/tea, banana, toast - peanut butter breakfast is served.

Very fast laundry service! $3 a bag and your clothes are washed and dried in just couple of hours.

As you can see, I really like this hostel. It's not perfect though, it seriously lacks information desk or a binder with to do things and how to get to Colombia options. It could use a better book exchange and purified water usage.

The staff is very knowledgeable and have helped us out lots, getting directions and other information about what to do and where to go - so just ask them!
Also, the staff understands that, as a backpacker I like to save money. I had a flight at 5AM and would be leaving the hostel around 2:30AM, the staff allowed me to check out day before without any restrictions. I stored my luggage, but was still able to use the shower, the rooftop, the kitchen and I even got a 3 hour nap on the couch. Isn't that amazing?!

It's important that you ask what parts of Casco Viejo you should avoid. The hostel is located only couple of streets away from a sketchy neighborhood, but if you don't go in that direction - you'll be fine and loving your stay.

Between Casa Luna and Panamerican, definitely stay at Panamerican!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Panamericana Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panamericana Hostel

Address: Calle 10 y Avenida A # 8-15 Plaza Herrera, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Panamericana Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panamericana Hostel Panama/Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panamericana Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.