We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great sigh of relief” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Panamericana Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Panamericana Hostel to your Saves list
Panamericana Hostel
Calle 10 y Avenida A # 8-15 Plaza Herrera, Panama City, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Calamba, Philippines
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“a great sigh of relief”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We were so happy to relocate here after staying in the more popular hostel L. C.
I liked the decor and the couch at the common are was so comfy i was laying down and reading a book. =D
Although i think the lighting should be improved.. blue light gives quite a sterile hospital effect.
A plain fluorescent white would have been better for reading or a yellow one would have given a nice warmer friendly glow.

(+) spacious rooms
rooms have shared bathroom at the end of the hall and also spacious with hot water
i saw this guy cleaning lil corners almost every time i was walking or passing by a hallway. i would give him a raise!
breakfast was bananas, toasts, peanut butter, butter and jams with coffee

(-) just one computer to share with guests, tempers may flare when some guests monopolize it we witnessed several times a fight happening because of it.
a dismissive staff that was only interested in flirting with the girl guest he fancies. but rest of the staff were helpful and nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    74
    42
    11
    10
See reviews for
3
76
37
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This hostel has great potential but no aspirations for being anything more than a bar. Even with a sleep mask and ear plugs, I couldn't sleep and the staff didn't help control the noise level. The slamming doors, music, and roof bar all contribute to noisy hallways and the ventilation openings over the door mean you hear everything. Only stayed one night.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheongju, South Korea
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Although I only stayed there for one night in transit, it was a very nice place to come and wind down in after a lively holiday. It was super quiet, the rooms were really clean, and the staff was very friendly and generally helpful. The food was pretty good, although it took a long time to get our food and they forgot some things, but not a big deal. My only complaint is the AC is extremely cold and if you turn it off, it gets hot and stuffy and they don't provide heavier blankets. The location is PERFECT though... only a 2 minute walk to the big market/shop area. Although most people like to stay in the old town area, which is fun and I have done before, this was great for seeing another part of the city. Overall good stay!

Room Tip: The triple room is comfy but AC is strong, ask for extra blankets
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Absolutely love it here!! Like a hotel, really clean and beautiful and large rooms and hot showers! Great location! Favourite hostel in Central America. Great views from the roof terrace. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The Place is nice, but unfortunately we stayed there on a Weekend and almost could not sleep at all as the (really nice) rooftop turned into a Bar/Club with loud Music and tons of people screaming, running up and down the stairs and slamming doors... To make things worse, we did not only share the bathroom with the other guests but with the whole partycrowd!! If you want to get some sleep, don't stay here on the Weekend - at least not in the top floor like we did...

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This hostel is located in a great part of Panama City - Casco Viejo. The surrounding buildings are gorgeous and photographers will enjoy the views from the roof top patio. It is a clean building and with super reasonable rates. My only complaint would be that the doors seem to slam and not close quietly. Perhaps this is due to the breeze coming in through the windows? If you're looking for quiet, this may not be the place for you, but otherwise, it's a grand slam!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed here 4 nights. The rooms were clean and large. We liked the artwork and decorating. The rooftop provides an incredible view of the downtown and square. Internet worked great. Each room has it's own ceiling fan.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Panamericana Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panamericana Hostel

Address: Calle 10 y Avenida A # 8-15 Plaza Herrera, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Panamericana Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panamericana Hostel Panama/Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panamericana Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.