We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real French restaurant... enfin...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Chic

Cafe Chic
Calle Uruguay | en frente de Ligne Roset, Panama City 00507, Panama
005073917070
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 573 Restaurants in Panama City
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: French, Cafe, Mediterranean, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A European French styled restaurant- bar- terrace, a very upscale nice place for an international crowd. 55 seats inside, 24 seats on the terrace for lunch, tea & drinks and dinner. Open from Monday till Saturday from 11pm to 3pm and from 7pm to 11pm. The menu does have French & Mediteranean classics with daily fresh "honest" food for reasonable prices, a very smart bar and a Paris styled terrace.
Panama City, Panama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Real French restaurant... enfin...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I found this jewel on Calle Uruguay, of all places. Quaint and classy! Well kept place, tables with table cloth and well dressed table. Not too cold also because sometimes the AC kills you and your appetite!. The food was excellent all around: real béarnaise, real mayo, real french fries, meat cooked to perfection,everybody was happy. The service was excellent, efficient and smily, a rare occurence in Panama. The price is a bit on the high side, including the wine, for a Panamean pocket book. However it was all worth it. We met the owner, a europenan charming and cultured, who makes a point of meeting his clients. The oly reservation I have is that the menu could include a couple of more items like foie gras.... Miam!
A.Dallaire, Panama

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roeland b, Owner at Cafe Chic, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Well Thank you so much for your great review!!.........We are very happy with this positive feedback!
Yes that's what we stand for, honest fresh quality food prepared with passion. Ain't nothing but the real thing! Thanks for your visit at Café Chic and we hope to welcome you again any time soon!
Maybe Wednesday evening with the Live Jazz???

kind regards, et à bientôt!

Roeland Biever
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    21
    12
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“excellent service, food, vibe, and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Tourists might care to know that the waitress I had spoke perfect english, possibly even better than I haha. Food was amazing (went there for breakfast) and the freshly squeezed fruit juices are nice as well.no preservatives or sugar. Waitress was quick to serve, polite and friendly. Loved the jazzy vibe of the place. My only regret is that I will miss the live Jazz on wednesday because I'm flying out that morning. Most dishes were also fairly cheap, given the restaurant's classy area (below 15usd for one person)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roeland b, Owner at Cafe Chic, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review!........we are very pleased with your comments and very happy you enjoyed Cafe Chic, the quality of our food and the friendly service! It's a pity you can't join us for the Live Jazz event on Wednesday, always a great atmosphere..
Hope to welcome you again in the near future, enjoy the rest of your stay in Panama.

Kind regards,

Roeland Biever
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“BEST in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

It is a must see! I loved the food, the environment, the service! Everything was beyond my expectations! Cant wait to go back again on Wednesday night for Jazz........

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roeland b, Owner at Cafe Chic, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback! We are very pleased that you enjoyed Café Chic with our quality home made French food and the very friendly service! Yes on Wednesdays we will have our Live Jazz performance at Café Chic. Please come and join us for a glass of French chilled Rosé wine!

Hope to welcome you again soon!!

Kind regards,

Roeland Biever
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best service in the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I am becoming a regular at cafe chic, wednesday jazz, food is always excellent, service (english and spanish) to american standard, excellent.
will definitely go back and recommand to everybody
It is worth the stop, a must do in the city

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roeland b, Owner at Cafe Chic, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
This is a great compliment to us!! Yes we are very proud of our staff, a young professional team with lots of motivation, they really care about our guests at Café Chic. The constant quality of our "honest" home made food and the high standard of the service are the reasons that people keep on coming back. The Wednesday evenings with the Arturo Villarreal Trio are indeed a big success,
the atmosphere always very nice with a good crowd and the music with lots of Bossa!

Thank you so much for your review, we hope to welcome you again soon at Café Chic!

Kind regards,

Roeland Biever
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenbush, New York
1 review
“Great food and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Absolutely one of the best Restaurants in Panama City.

The staff cannot due enough to make your dining a great experience.

Roland will make you feel he has opened his home to you.

The food is without a doubt five stars.

We have been to this restaurant 3 times and will go one more time before we leave Panama City.

Thank you Roland, Teresa ,Patricia and the rest of the staff. You made us very happy.

The Brown's from New York

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roeland b, Owner at Cafe Chic, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you so much!!!!!..........It was great to have you with us last Wednesday with the Live Jazz.
I remember you very well in the love seat corner. True the ambiance was great and so was the crowd. Your compliments encourage us to improve even more and serve you the quality fresh food prepared with passion. We are very happy with your 5* feedback and hope to welcome you
again before departure to NY .

Soulful regards,

Roeland Biever
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Chic also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Cafe Chic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Chic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.