We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent service, food, vibe, and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Chic

Cafe Chic
Calle Uruguay | en frente de Ligne Roset, Panama City 00507, Panama
005073917070
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 489 Restaurants in Panama City
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, Brasserie, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: A European French styled restaurant- bar- terrace, a very upscale nice place for an international crowd. 55 seats inside, 24 seats on the terrace for lunch, tea & drinks and dinner. Open from Monday till Saturday from 11pm to 3pm and from 7pm to 11pm. The menu does have French & Mediteranean classics with daily fresh "honest" food for reasonable prices, a very smart bar and a Paris styled terrace.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“excellent service, food, vibe, and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Tourists might care to know that the waitress I had spoke perfect english, possibly even better than I haha. Food was amazing (went there for breakfast) and the freshly squeezed fruit juices are nice as well.no preservatives or sugar. Waitress was quick to serve, polite and friendly. Loved the jazzy vibe of the place. My only regret is that I will miss the live Jazz on wednesday because I'm flying out that morning. Most dishes were also fairly cheap, given the restaurant's classy area (below 15usd for one person)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roeland b, Owner at Cafe Chic, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review!........we are very pleased with your comments and very happy you enjoyed Cafe Chic, the quality of our food and the friendly service! It's a pity you can't join us for the Live Jazz event on Wednesday, always a great atmosphere..
Hope to welcome you again in the near future, enjoy the rest of your stay in Panama.

Kind regards,

Roeland Biever
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    21
    12
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“BEST in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

It is a must see! I loved the food, the environment, the service! Everything was beyond my expectations! Cant wait to go back again on Wednesday night for Jazz........

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roeland b, Owner at Cafe Chic, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback! We are very pleased that you enjoyed Café Chic with our quality home made French food and the very friendly service! Yes on Wednesdays we will have our Live Jazz performance at Café Chic. Please come and join us for a glass of French chilled Rosé wine!

Hope to welcome you again soon!!

Kind regards,

Roeland Biever
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best service in the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I am becoming a regular at cafe chic, wednesday jazz, food is always excellent, service (english and spanish) to american standard, excellent.
will definitely go back and recommand to everybody
It is worth the stop, a must do in the city

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roeland b, Owner at Cafe Chic, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
This is a great compliment to us!! Yes we are very proud of our staff, a young professional team with lots of motivation, they really care about our guests at Café Chic. The constant quality of our "honest" home made food and the high standard of the service are the reasons that people keep on coming back. The Wednesday evenings with the Arturo Villarreal Trio are indeed a big success,
the atmosphere always very nice with a good crowd and the music with lots of Bossa!

Thank you so much for your review, we hope to welcome you again soon at Café Chic!

Kind regards,

Roeland Biever
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenbush, New York
1 review
“Great food and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Absolutely one of the best Restaurants in Panama City.

The staff cannot due enough to make your dining a great experience.

Roland will make you feel he has opened his home to you.

The food is without a doubt five stars.

We have been to this restaurant 3 times and will go one more time before we leave Panama City.

Thank you Roland, Teresa ,Patricia and the rest of the staff. You made us very happy.

The Brown's from New York

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roeland b, Owner at Cafe Chic, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you so much!!!!!..........It was great to have you with us last Wednesday with the Live Jazz.
I remember you very well in the love seat corner. True the ambiance was great and so was the crowd. Your compliments encourage us to improve even more and serve you the quality fresh food prepared with passion. We are very happy with your 5* feedback and hope to welcome you
again before departure to NY .

Soulful regards,

Roeland Biever
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama, Panama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“always grate !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Last week we decided to check out Cafe Chic for lunch. My girlfriend ordered the "plat du jour"
and had a pleasant surprise, she was served a nice chicken curry with fresh vegetables, it looked great, the smell was great and the taste delicious! I ordered the chicken dish with mashed potatoes, it was exactly like we had in France, 1/2 chicken baked in the oven with the "jus" amazing! To finish our meal we shared a chocolat mousse with 2 espressos, too good to be true! The service was very efficient, the waitress very kind and professional
and the bill very reasonable, we will be back soon!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roeland b, Owner at Cafe Chic, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Always a pleasure for us to receive such great reviews! Yes the "plat du jour" is a big success in lunch time! 2 different dishes every day with fresh products for reasonable prices. The chicken curry you refer is indeed a bestseller and the 1/2 baked chicken with the mashed potatoes is the traditional French "grand mother's dish! We are so happy you enjoyed our food and our service!
Please try to join us for the Live Jazz on Wednesdays with the Arturo Villarreal Trio. It's a great jazzy atmosphere with a very nice international crowd!

Thanks again for your great feedback about Café Chic!

Soulful regards,

Roeland Biever
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Chic also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Cafe Chic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Chic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.