We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great dining in Casco Viejo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grapes Restaurant & Bar

Grapes Restaurant & Bar
Calle 8va, Edificio Grapes | Casco Antiguo, Panama City, Panama
+507 212-1882
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 526 Restaurants in Panama City
Price range: $11 - $32
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Restaurant is situated in one of the rooms of a fully restored private mansion dating back to 1657 and is one of the very first structures built in the old fortified Spanish city. The original walls and arches are skillfully blended into a cosy dining and bar area. We have now expanded further into the old house and now offer private dining
holland
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“great dining in Casco Viejo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

we were lucky to be informed by the staff of our hotel about this place. We made reservations (needed) and dressed for the evening which was by al means great. The atmosphere and placing of the tables was great as was the lights it was just perfect. Our waiter was very knowledgeable about the wines and did some nice suggestions. The menu gave us a variety of choices of meat and fish and tailor made orders were not a problem at all. The climate is nice: not too cold and the pace of serving the food is excellent (no rushing at all) We really admired this restaurant and had a great time here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie888, Owner at Grapes Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind remarks and especially for taking time out to write a review. ! It's very encouraging for all of here at Grapes to learn you had an enjoyable visit. We are expanding further into the house to accomodate the demand . Given the property was built in 1672 this has proved quite a challenge . We have taken over one of the bedrooms to facilitate this . Should be manageable given this beautiful old property has 11!
Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    33
    22
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Really disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We had high hopes about Grapes when we made a reservation this week. It had come recommended by friends and colleagues here in Panama City, but a rare solo night out for my wife and I was overshadowed by that blight on restaurants here in Panama City; poor service.
Despite booking 3/4 days in advance we had a call on the afternoon of our reservation to say there had been a 'mistake' and could we sit an hour earlier? That put paid to our plans for pre-dinner drinks in Casco.
The restaurant is currently in a temporary, less attractive, location across the road while remodeling is being completed. This wasn't mentioned at time of booking.
Our order at the restaurant for an aperitif cocktail never appeared and once the starters arrived we told the waiter not to bother. The first THREE of our wine choices were not available necessitating a wait until after the starter had been served for the wine to arrive.
My Sea Bass entree was cold when it arrived as was one of our side dishes. When returned, they were obviously rapidly microwaved. They were still not much warmer when they were returned and we didn't eat them. I would have returned them a second time but our waiter, who was generally pretty attentive, had gone AWOL.
The upside was the food we did eat, particularly the starters, were delicious. The tuna tartar and ceviche we had, were two of the best plates of food we've eaten in Panama. The balance of flavors in the tartar were perfect. Good food overshadowed by poor service.
The waiter did deduct the cost of our cold entree and side dish from the meal, but at that stage the damage had been done. A real shame.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie888, Owner at Grapes Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We are truly sorry to hear of your experience. Firstly you should have been told of our restaurant remodeling which is now underway. We did think of just closing in this period but our customers asked if we could provide the Grapes menu at our Pips cafe (located in Casa Antigua hotel) some five minutes from Grapes restaurant and we agreed to try.
This has proved to be quite a challenge and we apologize for failing to provide the service level you were entitled to expect.
We would really like you to try the Grapes experience in the original restaurant (dating back to 1672) as soon as we reopen. This should be in a weeks time . This will give us a chance to make amends and your visit will be as our guest. Thank you for taking the time to post a review as we value every comment and hope to see you soon again at Grapes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freeport
2 reviews
“A great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Cosy and personalized service. The restaurant is located in the historic old section of Panama City and in walking distance to the Presidential Palace. The tuna tartare starter and the slow cooked lamb shank were both exquisite in quality and presentation. The main was hot and so were the vegetables which was Brussel spouts.
The service was efficient and yet relaxing, we never felt rushed. The wine list was extensive with a wide range of affordable wines suit every palate. Grapes is great for all entertaining for any occasion, it has a great ambiance which make one feel very comfortable. This restaurant will always be on my radar for gourmet dining whenever I am in Panama.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie888, Owner at Grapes Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Delighted that you enjoyed your visit. Please come to see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Food and Atmosphere EXCELLENT.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I had some ribs with a strawberry BBQ sauce that was spectacular. It wasn't just that the sauce was good it was that the ribs had been cooked perfectly. Tender falling off the bone and full of flavor. We also ate roasted lamb. It was also cooked in the same perfect way. It was the first time I have eaten lamb and while I didn't find the flavor of the meat to be my favorite it was cooked so nicely that it was hard not to want to eat it. The deserts were wonderful. The atmosphere was calm but it had a nice energy to it. This is not a "party" kind of place at all but the couples and large groups of people eating there were definately enjoying themselves! Highly recommended. Not an inexpensive place to eat. It is easy to drop some $ here but I enjoyed my food and my time there.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie888, Owner at Grapes Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments. It was good of you to take time out and respond. We are all very happy you enjoyed the experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Excellent experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had dinner in Grapes in The old city of Panama! The food was excellent and a great variety in their menu. The service was very friendly and accommodating. They have menus in English and Spanish. A nice bar and wonderful desert options!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie888, Owner at Grapes Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your support. It was great feedback and most encouraging
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grapes Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Grapes Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grapes Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.